- An Elsevier database.
- Available by subscription.
|
- Web of Science is the Clarivate search platform for multiple databases one of which is Web of Science (core collection)
- Available by subscription
|
| Coverage of Scopus |
Coverage of Web of Science (core collection) |
- Back to 1970 and selectively back to 1788.
- Contain's over 90 million records from 27,000+ journals and 292,000+ book series and conference abstracts
- Includes all of Medline and most of Embase.
- Full text access via UM 'Check Access' button.
- Subject coverage = muliti-disciplinary
|
- Contains over 92 million records from 22,000+ journals, 151,000+ books, and 308,000+ conference abstracts.
- Includes:
- Science Citation Index Expanded (1900 - present)
- Social Sciences Citation Index (1900 - present)
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 - present)
- Conference proceedings indexes (for Sciences and Social Sciences and Humanities) (1990 - present)
- Book citation index (for Sciences and Social Sciences and Humanities) (2005 - present)
- Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005 - present)
- Current Chemical Reactions (1985 - present)
- Index Chemicus (1983 - present)
- Full text access via UM 'Check Access' button.
- Subject coverage = muliti-disciplinary
|
| Searching Scopus |
Searching Web of Science (core collection) |
|
|
|
| Other features of Scopus |
Other features of Web of Science (core collection) |
- Find citing articles and article references
- Register to save searches, and create email alerts.
- Citations may be exported to citation managers.
|
- Find citing articles and article references
- Register to save searches, and create email alerts.
- Citations may be exported to citation managers.
|
| When to use Scopus |
When to use Web of Science (core collection) |
- For easy keyword searching.
- For citation tracking
- When a topic is "rare" or spans many disciplines.
|
- For easy keyword searching.
- For citation tracking
- When a topic is "rare" or spans many disciplines.
|
| Knowledge Synthesis and Scopus |
Knowledge Synthesis and Web of Science (core collection) |
- Depending on question, search Scopus in combination with Web of Science (core collection)
|
- Depending on question, search Web of Science (core collection) in combination with Scopus.
|
