The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More
The mission of the Archives of the Ukrainian Canadian Experience is the identification, acquisition, preservation, and interpretation of the Ukrainian Canadian community’s records. These individual collections will complement the efforts of other local and national institutions in preserving the Ukrainian culture in Canada.
A Long Tradition
The University of Manitoba has had a long tradition and relationship with the Ukrainian community in Manitoba. In 1949, the Department of Slavic Studies was established. This subsequently led to the creation of a separate Slavic Collection within the Elizabeth Dafoe Library. The Ukrainian portion of the collection forms a significant segment of the overall collection. In 1964, St. Andrew’s College, the theological seminary for the Ukrainian Greek Orthodox Church in Canada, moved to its current building on the University of Manitoba Fort Garry Campus. Since 1981, the college has been the home of the Centre for Ukrainian Canadian Studies, offering courses in language, literature, history, geography, and folklore.
The Archives of the Ukrainian Canadian Experience enriches the Slavic Collection, one that is renowned and familiar to the community. The University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections also houses many rare Ukrainian and other Slavic language books and manuscripts in its Rare Book Room. Most of the collection was acquired by the founder of the university’s Slavic Studies program, Dr. Jaroslav B. Rudnyckyj. The Archives of the Ukrainian Canadian Experience, and the Slavic books and manuscripts held in the Rare Book Room, support courses and research in the Department of German & Slavic Studies, and the Centre for Ukrainian Canadian Studies.
What kinds of materials are collected?
The types of records that are most useful include:
Archival Collections
Ukrainian Literary Avant-Garde Periodical Collection