Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Click the links below to jump to sections:
Canadian Dictionary of Finance and Investment Terms by
Each of these very useful and up-to-date quick reference dictionaries lists and defines several thousand specialized terms alphabetically. Business students, business professionals, and savvy consumers will find a wealth of helpful information in these volumes.Approximately 3,500 terms are defined, especially as they relate to Canadian financial institutions, national and provincial regulations, and Canadian tax laws. This updated edition covers stocks, bonds, mutual funds, e-commerce, and much more.
Dictionary of Banking Terms by
One of Barron's all-time bestsellers has been updated to reflect current banking regulations and the latest innovations in banking services, this book defines approximately 3,000 key banking terms with extensive cross-references. It also defines important acronyms and abbreviations as they are used in the banking industry.
Publication Date: 2000-09-01
The AMA Dictionary of Business and Management by
Now students, instructors, and professionals everywhere can find clear, authoritative, explanations of more than 6,000 key business terms. Prepared by a noted encyclopedist, The AMA Dictionary of Business and Management covers a vast range of terminology from all areas of business including management, strategy, finance, human resources, economics, marketing, sales, insurance, and international business. The book explains accounting rules, legal terminology, slang and buzzwords, acronyms, management theories, historical figures, economic concepts, performance metrics, and more-all the crucial ideas that have transformed business practices and management science in the past 25 years. In addition to concise definitions, this indispensable reference includes longer entries for ideas needing more elaborate explanations, as well as a pronunciation guide for difficult words, special sections on usage, and a thesaurus of related words. While quick definitions abound online, The AMA Dictionary of Business and Management supplies the depth and clarity lacking in most "webinitions." And it includes thousands of technical terms omitted from even premier unabridged dictionaries. From Abilene paradox to zero-based budgeting, this is an essential resource for anyone serious about business.
Publication Date: 2013-04-23
Dictionary of Business Terms by
This new edition has been expanded to a total of more than 7,500 terms. It's an indispensable reference for business proprietors and managers, as well as for consumers who need to understand the terminology of investment, banking, taxes, law, real estate, management, computers, and other aspects of business.
Publication Date: 2000-05-01
The Advanced Dictionary of Marketing by
This advanced dictionary of marketing focuses on leading-edge terminology for use by individuals who are serious about the theory and practice of marketing: researchers, directors, managers, and anyone studying marketing for a professional and/or academic qualification. Covering 1,098 terms,the dictionary includes over 500 major entries. All terms are extensively cross-referenced and thematic indices allow the reader to locate terms by their applications and by keywords. All major and emerging marketing approaches, from ambient marketing and fusion marketing, to tribal marketing and word-of-mouth marketing, are included, as are hundreds of other advanced concepts such as brand community, disintermediation, dynamic capabilities, and share of voice. Further, entriesspanning 132 theories and 45 marketing-related laws and principles are presented, making this dictionary more theoretically complete than any other marketing dictionary available. Finally, an extensive collection of 107 marketing effects, such as the loyalty ripple effect and mere exposure effectare also included, where, in all cases, their marketing implications and applications are presented fully.Each term covered in this advanced dictionary includes six elements:Description -- how the term is definedKey insights -- important insights provided by an understanding of the termKeywords -- words to further understand the nature of the termImplications -- what knowledge of the term means to marketersApplication areas and further readings -- areas where the term's knowledge is being put to useBibliography -- articles and books referencedExample entries include: Agency Theory, Audience Effect, Blog Marketing, Boomerang Effect, Confirmation Bias, Country of Origin Effect, Customer Equity, Disruptive Technology, Double Jeopardy Effect, Eclectic Paradigm, E-marketing, First Law of Marketing, Foot-in-the Door Technique, Free Rider Effect, Game Theory, GlocalMarketing, Green Marketing, Halo Effect, Honeymoon Effect, Law of Comparative Advantage, Leapfrogging, Market Entry Timing, Megamarketing, Metcalfe's Law, Moore's Law, Network Effect, Not Invented Here Syndrome, Odd Price Effect, Permission Marketing, Psychic Distance, Recency Principle,Retro-Marketing, Rule of Ten Percent, Sagacity Segmentation, Salutary Products, Snob Effect, Social Marketing, Stealth Marketing, Substitute Awareness Effect, Sunk Cost Fallacy, Sustainable Competitive Advantage, Value-Based Marketing, Viral Marketing, Winner's Curse.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Simultaneous user limit: 5
Mergent Online provides data for U.S. and international public companies, both active and inactive. Features allow you to compare companies and export data. Financial statements are presented in "as-reported" form and in native currencies. Company coverage includes: history; mergers, acquisitions, disposals; joint ventures; business; property; subsidiaries; officers and directors; news reports; long-term debt; bond ratings; capital stock and more.
PrivCo The Private Company Financial Database This link opens in a new window
PrivCo is a source for business and financial research on major privately-held companies as well as private M&A deals and funding rounds. Content includes private firm valuations, venture capital funding, private equity deals, private and family ownership breakdowns, bankruptcies, restructurings, and company research.
Encyclopedia of Finance by
The Encyclopedia of Finance, Second Edition, comprised of over 1000 individual definitions and chapters, is the most comprehensive and up-to-date resource in the field, integrating the most current terminology, research, theory, and practical applications. Showcasing contributions from an international array of experts, the revised edition of this major reference work is unparalleled in the breadth and depth of its coverage. Part I provides readers with a basic framework for getting up to speed quickly, and has been updated to include over 200 new terms and essays. Part II features 24 new chapters and offers a more in-depth look at the topic through key developments and findings. Part III has also been expanded through the addition of four new appendices. From "asset pricing models" to "risk management," the Encyclopedia of Finance, Second Edition, serves as an essential resource for academics, educators, and students.
Publication Date: 2013-02-11
The Blackwell encyclopedia of management. Entrepreneurship by
This new volume in the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management volume set: The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Entrepreneurship, especially commissioned for the second edition from editors Michael A. Hitt and R. Duane Ireland, charts the key concepts and frameworks in the expanding field of Entrepreneurship. A brand new, state-of-the-art volume in the growing field of Entrepreneurship; Features 90 important entrepreneurship concepts written by 110 international contributors; Charts the key concepts and frameworks of the field, covering: 'creative destruction'; competitive dynamics; real options; social capital; corporate entrepreneurship; risk management; franchising; succession planning; location effects; spinoffs; and product innovation.
Publication Date: 2006-06-30
The Capstone Encyclopedia of Business by
The business world has changed beyond all recognition in recent years. New skills, insights, tools, technologies and best practice have emerged. The Capstone Encyclopaedia of Business brings all of this progress together, distilling the facts and essential information into one single volume. It represents the most up-to-date, authoritative and accessible guide to the modern business world available, providing a gateway to the state of the art in marketing, finance, strategy, leadership, people management and beyond. The Capstone Encyclopaedia of Business is organized alphabetically into over 1,000 entries covering the whole spectrum of business and management including: * business terms - concepts - thinkers - practitioners * organizations - brands - companies. Each entry provides a sharp, incisive overview of the subject and, crucially, points to how the ideas can be put into practice. The Capstone Encyclopaedia of Business makes sense of the new world of business, embracing the best of the new and the most robust of the old. * The first one-volume, accessibly-priced reference book for business in years. * Kicks off this exciting new series and will anchor Capstone as the one stop shop for busy professionals. * Key title in large promotion including web site and extract mailings. * Internationally-recognized editorial board. * Annual updates will occur making this a classic key title to keep on the shelves.
Encyclopedia of Small Business by
This convenient and exhaustive print reference source is designed to provide entrepreneurs with how-to information that they can apply to their own business. The Small Business Encyclopedia contains detailed articles and overviews of all the key information needs of small business users, including financing; financial planning; business plan creation; market analysis; sales strategy; tax planning and more.
Publication Date: 2006-11-17
Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns by
"This completely new third volume of Encyclopedia Of Major Marketing Strategies (formerly Encyclopedia Of Major Marketing Campaigns) explores 100 major marketing strategies for some of the top global and emerging brands from 2011-2012. Entries will profile major product/service, mobile app, social media, brand development, packaging, and television strategies amongst other types. Each essay provides a situation analysis, information on the target market, marketing strategy & tactics, and the outcome. Essays are aligned to the strategic marketing framework ensuring that the marketing strategies can easily be utilized in an academic environment as case studies, or illustrative examples often times described as ""war stories"" by professors. "
Publication Date: 2013-06-14
Social Sciences Liaison Librarian