Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Connecting from Off-Campus
The University of Manitoba Libraries use a proxy server to allow access to licenced electronic resources from off-campus. When you choose a resource that needs to be authenticated you'll be asked for your Library ID and PIN. Here's what they are:
Library ID and Password
Your Library ID is your UMNetID and UMNetID password. Contact the IST Help and Solutions Centre if you need assistance with your UMNetID.
Welcome to the Biochemistry Subject Guide
In this guide you will find access to a variety of resources that will be useful to you as you study and research the many facets of biochemistry .
The tabs at the top of the guide provide access to lists of books, ebooks, journal collections, article databases and online resources!
While every attempt is made to help you become a self-sufficient researcher, be sure to check out the Librarian Contact if you need any assistance.
PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to millions of citations from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
Scopus This link opens in a new window Please Note: Scopus has limited functionality with Safari.
Scopus is a multi-disciplinary abstract and citation database which also tracks cited references, allowing users to search for subsequently published papers that cite an original research paper.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window Web of Science™ Core Collection is a comprehensive interdisciplinary, bibliographic database with article references from journals, books, and proceedings from sciences and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences. Coverage dates back to 1900, and content is updated weekly.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)
- Book Citation Index-Science (2005-present)
- Book Citation Index-Social Sciences & Humanities (2005-present)
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Science (1990-present)
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Social Sciences & Humanities (1990-present)
- Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present)
- Emerging Sources Citation Index (2015-present)
- Index Chemicus (1993-present)
- Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present)
- Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present)
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window Please Note: As of August 15, 2022, the classic SciFinder database has become SciFinder-n. SciFinder accounts created before the change should still work.
Access limited to: UM Students, Faculty, and Staff
SciFinder-n provides online access to Chemical Abstracts, the CASREACT chemical reactions database, chemical suppliers, chemical property data, Chemical Abstracts Registry File, and Medline.
BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new window In addition to having all of Biological Abstracts back to 1926, BIOSIS Previews abstracts and indexes information from numerous sources from around the world. BIOSIS Previews indexes virtually every life sciences discipline including traditional biology (botany, ecology, zoology), interdisciplinary subjects (biochemisty, biomedicine, and biotechnology), agriculture, pharmacology, veterinary science, and related areas (instrumentation and methods).