The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More
[This book] helps students focus on the most important aspects of biochemistry-- the principles! Dave Nelson, Michael Cox, and new co-author Aaron Hoskins identify the most important principles of biochemistry and direct student attention to these with icons and resources targeted to each principle."-- Provided by publisher.
Gain a thorough understanding of the principles of biochemistry as they relate to clinical medicine The Thirty-Second Edition of Harper's Illustrated Biochemistry combines top-quality full-color illustrations with authoritative integrated coverage of biochemical disease and clinical information. Featuring numerous medically relevant examples, this respected text presents a clear, succinct review of the fundamentals that every student must understand in order to succeed in medical school.
This valuable guide takes organic chemists through the basic techniques of the organic chemistry lab.
This book connects a retrosynthetic or disconnection approach with synthetic methods in the preparation of target molecules from simple, achiral ones to complex, chiral structures in the optically pure form. Retrosynthetic considerations and asymmetric syntheses are presented as closely related topics, often in the same chapter, underlining the importance of retrosynthetic consideration of target molecules neglecting stereochemistry and equipping readers to overcome the difficulties they may encounter in the planning and experimental implementation of asymmetric syntheses. This approach prepares students in advanced organic chemistry courses, and in particular young scientists working at academic and industrial laboratories, for independently solving synthetic problems and creating proposals for the synthesis of complex structures.
The book's experiments, all designed to utilize microscale glassware and equipment, cover traditional organic reactions and syntheses, the isolation of natural products, and molecular modeling and include project-based experiments and experiments that have a biological or health science focus.
The first handbook on this emerging field provides a comprehensive overview of transition metal-catalyzed coupling reactions in the presence of an oxidant.
"The story is told by THE inventor-pioneer-master in the field and is accompanied by amazing illustrations... [it] will become an absolute reference and a best seller in chemistry!" Alberto Credi "... the great opus on the mechanical bond. A most impressive undertaking!" Jean-Marie Lehn Congratulations to co-author J. Fraser Stoddart, a 2016 Nobel Laureate in Chemistry. In molecules, the mechanical bond is not shared between atoms--it is a bond that arises when molecular entities become entangled in space. Just as supermolecules are held together by supramolecular interactions, mechanomolecules, such as catenanes and rotaxanes, are maintained by mechanical bonds. This emergent bond endows mechanomolecules with a whole suite of novel properties relating to both form and function. They hold unlimited promise for countless applications, ranging from their presence in molecular devices and electronics to their involvement in remarkably advanced functional materials. The Nature of the Mechanical Bond is a comprehensive review of much of the contemporary literature on the mechanical bond, accessible to newcomers and veterans alike. Topics covered include: Supramolecular, covalent, and statistical approaches to the formation of entanglements that underpin mechanical bonds in molecules and macromolecules Kinetically and thermodynamically controlled strategies for synthesizing mechanomolecules Chemical topology, molecular architectures, polymers, crystals, and materials with mechanical bonds The stereochemistry of the mechanical bond (mechanostereochemistry), including the novel types of dynamic and static isomerism and chirality that emerge in mechanomolecules Artificial molecular switches and machines based on the large-amplitude translational and rotational motions expressed by suitably designed catenanes and rotaxanes. This contemporary and highly interdisciplinary field is summarized in a visually appealing, image-driven format, with more than 800 illustrations covering both fundamental and applied research. The Nature of the Mechanical Bond is a must-read for everyone, from students to experienced researchers, with an interest in chemistry's latest and most non-canonical bond. Read the Preface
Analytical methods are the essential enabling tools of the modern biosciences. This book presents a comprehensive introduction into these analytical methods, including their physical and chemical backgrounds, as well as a discussion of the strengths and weakness of each method. It covers all major techniques for the determination and experimental analysis of biological macromolecules, including proteins, carbohydrates, lipids and nucleic acids. The presentation includes frequent cross-references in order to highlight the many connections between different techniques. The book provides a bird's eye view of the entire subject and enables the reader to select the most appropriate method for any given bioanalytical challenge. This makes the book a handy resource for students and researchers in setting up and evaluating experimental research. The depth of the analysis and the comprehensive nature of the coverage mean that there is also a great deal of new material, even for experienced experimentalists.
The University of Manitoba Library Catalogue can be used to search for any item that the library has access to, such as books or journal titles (not individual journal articles), and to determine which items are available online.
You can place a request for any book, except for books on Reserve, and have the book delivered to any library at the University of Manitoba.
WorldCat - search through collections of thousands of libraries from around the world.
Do you need an article or book that is not available at the University of Manitoba Libraries?
You can place a document delivery request and the Libraries will obtain it from another library for you. This is a free service for students and faculty at the U of M.
For more information see the Libraries' Access Materials website (under Request from another institution).
