LibGuides: Nursing Toolkit (College of Nursing): Publishing

Publishing Ethics

Committee on Publication Ethics
COPE provides advice to editors and publishers on all aspects of publication ethics
Recommendations - International Committee of Medical Journal Editors
Recommendations for the Conduct, Reporting, Editing, and Publication of Scholarly work in Medical Journals
Albert T and Wager E. How to handle authorship disputes: a guide for new researchers. The COPE Report. 2003. https://doi.org/10.24318/cope.2018.1.1

Journal Selection

Thirty one things to consider when choosing which journal to submit your paper to
Think. Check. Submit.
How to choose a trusted journal.
Understanding Predatory Publishers
Guide to recognizing and avoiding predatory publishers.
Effective Query Letters

Journal Lists and Directories

Directory of Nursing Journals
From the International Academy of Nursing Editors (INANE), a screened list of reputable journals.

ulrichsweb.com (Ulrich's Periodicals Directory) This link opens in a new window
Provides key information on published journals and other serials, including description of subject matter and abstracting and indexing sources.
Journal Citation Reports (InCites) This link opens in a new window
Journal Citation Reports provides citation data for journals in science, technology and the social sciences. JCR can be used to identify the most frequently cited journals or those with the highest impact (Journal Impact Factor).

Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

Journal Suggestion Tools

JANE: Journal/Author Name Estimator
Enter title/abstract for journal recommendations.
JournalGuide
Find a journal for publishing.
Springer Journal Suggester
Manuscript Matcher via Web of Science

Peer Reviewing

Reviewing Journal Manuscripts: an easy to follow guide for any nurse reviewing journal manuscripts for publication (PDF)
Statcheck
statcheck is a free program that checks for errors in statistical reporting in APA-formatted documents.

Copyright & Creative Commons Lisences

Open Access

Open Access & Scholarly Communication - what you need to know
Open Scholarship (from the UM Libraries)
A guide to information on Open Access publishing and scholarly communication.
"HowOpenIsIt? Open Access Spectrum", (c) 2012 SPARC and PLOS, licensed under CC BY-NC-ND 3.0.
Tri-Agency Open Access Policy on Publications: Quick Answers!

MSpace

MSpace is the University of Manitoba's digital repository for student theses and dissertations as well as any UM-authored scholarly or creative products. MSpace can be used to satisfy open access requirements for article publication (within publisher's limits).

How to use MSpace

Nursing Toolkit (College of Nursing)