LibGuides: Nursing Toolkit (College of Nursing): Clinical Information

Drug Resources

UpToDate LexiDrug This link opens in a new window
A full-text collection of drug information databases including Lexi-Drugs, with over 1600 drug monographs.
CPS This link opens in a new window
From the Canadian Pharmacists Association. Contains drug monographs, clinical tools, handouts, and calculators.
NatMed Pro This link opens in a new window

Clinical Laboratory Tests Normal Values
This table lists reference values for the most common laboratory tests and is intended for interpretation of the results as they are provided in the MCCQE examinations. All values are provided in SI units. All values apply to adults.
Shared Health Lab Information Manual
Lab information manual.

Lab Tests Online
A resource to help patients and caregivers understand lab tests, from the American Association of Clinical Chemistry.

The Made Incredibly Easy! series are books focused on various nursing clinical, skills, and procedures topics. Search for "Made Increadibly Easy" titles in the Library's One Stop Search or choose from samples listed below.

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
Select 'Quick Reference' for Quick Medical Dx & Tx and other resources.

ClinicalKey (including First Consult)
Includes First Consult resource for diagnosis and management.

Nursing Skills
Published by Chippewa Valley Technical College, covering nursing fundamentals and skills
Vital Sign Measurement Across the Lifespan - 1st Canadian Edition
Developed by Ryerson University.
The Complete Subjective Health Assessment
From Ryerson University. The textbook deconstructs the categories of the complete subjective health assessment, providing learners with explanations and examples of what constitutes relevant subjective data.

Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice
Online text-based resource covering nursing practice and nursing process.
Lippincott's Nursing Procedures
Online text-based resource covering nursing procedures.
Nursing Care Plans
Online text-based resource for care plans and documentation.
Professional Guide to Diseases
Guide to disease information that features full clinical coverage of more than 600 disorders.

Procedures Consult from Clinical Key
Online resource covers range of medical procedures. Includes text, videos (which are not captioned and not transcribed), and images (which do not include alt text).

Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination This link opens in a new window
Bates’ Visual Guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course. The site features more than 8 hours of video content. Students and faculty in medical, nursing, and related programs will appreciate the careful attention to clinical accuracy, as well as the range of patient types profiled in the series. It includes OSCE Clinical Skills videos designed to help students test clinical reasoning skills.
Nursing Video Collection (via Films on Demand) This link opens in a new window
Videos for nursing procedures, skills, and other topics. Include closed captions and transcriptions.Use search box at top of page to search for specific topics.

More Videos

Head to Toe Nursing Assessment
Video via YouTube. Captions and transcript available.
Videos in Clinical Medicine
Videos from the New England Journal of Medicine. Include closed captions and transcriptions.
Canadian Virtual Hospice
Videos supporting end-of-life care. Closed captions.
Biology and Medicine Videos (Armando Hasudungan)
Graphic explanations of physiology, immunology, and other topics.Closed captions.

Supporting Family Caregivers: No longer home alone
From American Journal of Nursing: videos and articles for nurses to support family caregiving.