Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the M├ętis Nation. More

Education: Canadian Children's Books

Guide to help you find information on education-based research and teaching materials.

Education
Collections

 

New Books
Canadian
Children's
Books

Canadian Children's Book Centre Reference Collection

Elizabeth Dafoe Library is host to one of five Canadian Children's Book Centre regional collections. The CCBC collection includes nearly every Canadian children’s book published since 1976. It is a non-circulating collection but students are welcome to use the materials in the library. Additional copies of many of the CCBC books are also available to be withdrawn from the Teaching Materials collection. Faculty of Education professors and instructors may borrow CCBC materials with permission from the Education Librarian. 

Searching within Collections

The Young Adult Literature collection consists of fiction and non-fiction novels for adolescent readers. Reading levels range from approximately grades 5-12, however many of the more challenging high school readers are available in the main stacks. 

To find these materials in the library catalogue: 

  1. Run a search using proper keywords for what you're looking for
  2. Limit the search to the proper location, which can be found on the left-hand side of the search results. Simply select the collection or collections you want to search and click "Apply Filters."

Search within a specific collection