Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the M├ętis Nation. More

Education: Curriculum Documents

Guide to help you find information on education-based research and teaching materials.

Education
Collections

 

Curriculum Documents

Print copies of Manitoba Education curriculum documents can be found on the Mezzanine Level of Dafoe Library. Recent curriculum documents are available in pdf format from Manitoba Education. Additional curriculum documents are available through the Manitoba Textbook Bureau

The Education Collection

Where can I find it?
Read the pdf handout.


Canadian Children's Book Collection 

The Canadian Children's Books Collection at the Elizabeth Dafoe Library is a depository gift collection from the Canadian Children’s Book Centre, an organization that promotes and encourages reading, writing and illustrating of Canadian books for children and teens. The collection includes all children’s and young adult literature written or illustrated by Canadians, as well as some books that are about Canada but written by non-Canadians, dating back to 1992.

 

Curriculum Documents
Print copies of Manitoba Education curriculum documents can be found on the Mezzanine Level of Dafoe Library. Recent curriculum documents can be found at the Manitoba Education Website (see below). All recommended Manitoba curriculum documents can be searched using the Manitoba Textbook Bureau website. 

 

Instructional Materials 
The Instructional Materials Collection includes teaching resources for K-12 and adult education.  The collection includes children’s literature, student textbooks, teacher guides, and other learning resources. Multiple copies of recommended textbooks are available for circulation. 

 

Multimedia Kits
The Multimedia Collection consists of educational videos, DVDs, and instructional CD-ROM kits for K-12 classrooms. To search for multimedia resources in the library catalogue use the Advanced Search option and select "Audio Visual" as your Material Type. The loan period for these items is 14 days. The Multimedia collection is located on the Mezzanine level.

 

Young Adult Literature
The YA collection consists of novels for adolescent readers (readings levels are approximately grade 5 and up). The collection can be browsed alphabetically by author. When searching in the library catalogue it is best to search by title or author name. 

 

Searching within Collections

The Young Adult Literature collection consists of fiction and non-fiction novels for adolescent readers. Reading levels range from approximately grades 5-12, however many of the more challenging high school readers are available in the main stacks. 

To find these materials in the library catalogue: 

  1. Run a search using proper keywords for what you're looking for
  2. Limit the search to the proper location, which can be found on the left-hand side of the search results. Simply select the collection or collections you want to search and click "Apply Filters."

Search within a specific collection