How to search using Ovid

Subject headings are specific terms or phrases that describe the content of each item in a database. These headings are used to find relevant articles on the same topic.  Searching by subject headings is the most precise way to search article databases.

It is not easy to guess which subject headings are used in a given database. You might have to find what term is used for a subject first before using it.

To find and search a subject heading:

1. From the database's main search page.
2. Click in the search box and type in your term (e.g. cell phone).
3. Click the box next to Map Term to Subject Heading (to turn on this setting).
4. Click Search (button).
5. Your search term is mapped to the most relevant subject heading (if available) and the box next to the term is checked by default. In Embase, the most appropriate subject heading for "cell phone" is "mobile phone". Optional: To learn how that term is defined click the Information (icon) under Scope.
6. Click in the box next to Include all Subheadings (to check the box).
7. Click Continue (button).

Note:

• In the Search History you can differentiate between keyword and subject heading searches by looking for the /.  In Embase, for example this looks like:
  mobile phone/

Each subject heading may be further refined using Subheadings.  These terms help the researcher to quickly narrow in on a specific aspect of the subject heading. 

When searching on the topic of "What is the risk of mortality due to cell phone use in distracted teen drivers?"  One of our subject headings would be "mobile phone".  We might be specifically interested in Adverse Device Effect for mobile phones. 

To use subheading(s) in your subject search:

1. From the database's main search page.
2. Click in the search box and type in your term (e.g. mobile phone).
3. Click the box next to Map Term to Subject Heading (to turn on this setting; some databases might have this on as default).
4. Click Search (button).
5. Your search term is mapped to the most relevant subject heading (if available) and the box next to the term is checked by default. 
6. Click Continue (button).
7. The subheadings available for that subject are displayed and one or more can be selected (by clicking in the associated box) as appropriate to the search. (e.g. Adverse Device Effect). Note: the number of results associated with that particular subject heading / subheading combination are displayed next to the subheading in round brackets.
8. Click Continue (button).

In some Ovid databases subject headings can be further classified as minor and major subject headings.  These reflect the focus of the paper they are assigned to. This classification can be used to further refine searches with a large number of results.

Using the example "What is the risk of mortality due to cell phone use in distracted teen drivers?".  We might decide that we want the concept of "distracted driving" to be the focus of the papers we are interested in.

Searching for major subject headings in Ovid databases:

1. From the database's main search page.
2. Click in the search box and type in your term (e.g. distracted driving).
3. Click the box next to Map Term to Subject Heading (to turn on this setting; some databases might have this on as default).
4. Click Search (button).
5. Your search term is mapped to the most relevant subject heading (if available) and the box next to the term is checked by default. 
6. Click box next to Include All Subheadings (if appropriate).
7. Click the box under Focus (column) which corresponds to the subject heading.
8. Click Continue (button).

Note: in the search history, subjects which have the focus setting are represented by an asterisk (*) in front of the subject heading. In Embase, this looks like:
*distracted driving/

Subject headings may be part of a larger hierarchy of terms in Ovid databases. You can use this to help expand your search without having to type in a lot of terms by using the explode feature (if available).

To see what terms are included with a Subject Heading:

Searching for major subject headings in Ovid databases:

1. From the database's main search page.
2. Click in the search box and type in your term (e.g. car driving).
3. Click the box next to Map Term to Subject Heading (to turn on this setting; some databases might have this on as default).
4. Click Search (button).
5. Your search term is mapped to the most relevant subject heading (if available) and the box next to the term is checked by default. 
6. Click on the title of the subject (link) to see a list of broader and narrower terms.
7. If the narrower terms are appropriate to your search, click the box under Explode (column) which corresponds to the subject heading.
8. Click Continue (button).

Note: in the search history, subjects which have been exploded have exp in front of the subject heading. In Embase, this looks like:
exp car driving/

If your search has too many results consider using one or more of these methods to refine your subject heading searches:

• use subheadings
• use focus to identify major concept

If your search has too few results consider the following for your subject heading searches:

• select all subheadings (default)
• do not use focus
• use explode where it's available

Librarians often start a subject heading search by using the default setting of applying all subheadings.  This is to be as inclusive as possible of results.  It is often better to allow searches to be refined by using other concepts (with boolean operators) rather than focusing on specific subheadings or major concepts.  If the final set of results is too large they will go back and do further refinement.

1. Start with a keyword search, using words/phrases that describe your topic.
2. Browse the results; choose 2 or 3 that are relevant.
3. Click on the title of the article of interest.
4. Look at the subject headings and note the terms used (write them down).
5. Redo your search using those terms.
6. Your results will be more precise than your initial keyword search.