The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More
Below are key resources to help you find information for your elevator pitch, project presentation, and tradeshow assignments. If you require assistance, please contact the Librarian on this course guide.
Determining an industry designation or classification code can be helpful to get a sense of your industry. Many business databases allow searching by classification codes. The codes also provide useful descriptions of industries and sub-industries as well as ideas for search terms.
The most commonly used industry classification system in Canada and the U.S. is the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS). The system is hierarchical, organized by broad industry categories, each divided into more specific industries.
The Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) , although replaced by the NAICS in 1997, is still useful for identifying companies within a specific industry and is also used by a number of licensed databases and print reference material. The SIC codes group companies based on their primary activity, whether a good or service.
Note: If you are researching a very specific or newer industry, it may not be included in these industry classification systems. Please consult the Business Librarian for assistance.
Key Databases for Industry Reports
Please Note: Effective June 30, 2025, this resource will be changing to Mergent Market Atlas. It will continue to be available to University of Manitoba Libraries.
Simultaneous user limit: 5
Mergent Online provides data for U.S. and international public companies, both active and inactive. Features allow you to compare companies and export data. Financial statements are presented in "as-reported" form and in native currencies. Company coverage includes: history; mergers, acquisitions, disposals; joint ventures; business; property; subsidiaries; officers and directors; news reports; long-term debt; bond ratings; capital stock and more.
Components include:
News, Trade, Scholarly Journals Providing Industry Info:
Useful Links
Please Note: Effective June 30, 2025, this resource will be changing to Mergent Market Atlas. It will continue to be available to University of Manitoba Libraries.
Simultaneous user limit: 5
Mergent Online provides data for U.S. and international public companies, both active and inactive. Features allow you to compare companies and export data. Financial statements are presented in "as-reported" form and in native currencies. Company coverage includes: history; mergers, acquisitions, disposals; joint ventures; business; property; subsidiaries; officers and directors; news reports; long-term debt; bond ratings; capital stock and more.
Components include:
News, Trade, Scholarly Journals Providing Company Info:
