LibGuides: Business Administration: SGMT 2200

Go To

Click the links below to jump to sections:

Competitor & firm analysis

Financials & filings

Mergent Online
Please Note: Effective June 30, 2025, this resource will be changing to Mergent Market Atlas. It will continue to be available to University of Manitoba Libraries.
Simultaneous user limit: 5

Mergent Online provides data for U.S. and international public companies, both active and inactive. Features allow you to compare companies and export data. Financial statements are presented in "as-reported" form and in native currencies. Company coverage includes: history; mergers, acquisitions, disposals; joint ventures; business; property; subsidiaries; officers and directors; news reports; long-term debt; bond ratings; capital stock and more.

Components include:
- USA Company Database
- International Company Database
PrivCo The Private Company Financial Database
PrivCo is a source for business and financial research on major privately-held companies as well as private M&A deals and funding rounds. Content includes private firm valuations, venture capital funding, private equity deals, private and family ownership breakdowns, bankruptcies, restructurings, and company research.

News, trade, & scholarly articles providing industry info:

ABI/INFORM Complete
ABI/INFORM Complete® is a comprehensive business database. The combination of products forms a business database package that offers numerous full-text titles covering business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information. Its international coverage provides researchers with insight into companies and business trends around the world.
Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier contains full text from the world's top management and marketing journals, including Harvard Business Review, Journal of Management Studies, Journal of International Marketing, and many others.
Get access to MarketLine Company Profiles Authority database by selecting "Company Profiles", search by company name. The database contains reports for private and public companies.

SEDAR
SEDAR provides access to public securities documents and information filed by public companies and investment funds with the thirteen provincial and territorial securities regulatory authorities ("Canadian Securities Administrators" or "CSA") in the SEDAR filing system.

Industry information

Industry reports:

IBISWorld
IBISWorld provides independent research on hundreds of industries in Canada and the U.S. Research reports include statistics, analysis and forecasts. Such industry reports can be used to evaluate market size, draft business plans, pitch books, forecasting and more.
Mergent Online
Simultaneous user limit: 5 Mergent Online provides data for U.S. and international public companies, both active and inactive. Features allow you to compare companies and export data. Financial statements are presented in "as-reported" form and in native currencies. Company coverage includes: history; mergers, acquisitions, disposals; joint ventures; business; property; subsidiaries; officers and directors; news reports; long-term debt; bond ratings; capital stock and more.
Global reports on the 25 largest industries are available and includes ESG ratings.
Passport
Access limited to: UM Students, Faculty and Staff

Please Note: There are terms that the publisher requires you to agree to before accessing Passport database, please read carefully any terms of use statements.

Please Note: For improved performance, clear browser history (cache, cookies) before accessing this resource.

Passport GMID is a global market information database and analysis tool containing data and reports across all industries, countries and consumers. The University of Manitoba's subscription includes:
- Articles from country and consumer analysts
- Consumer lifestyles reports
- Country and consumer statistics
- Country profiles
- Country briefings
- Dashboards (visualization enhancements that reflect the data contained in the database)
- Future demographic reports
- Passport Industrial (Canada only)

News, trade, & scholarly articles providing company info:

ABI/INFORM Complete
ABI/INFORM Complete® is a comprehensive business database. The combination of products forms a business database package that offers numerous full-text titles covering business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information.
Sample search: [industry name] AND (trends OR forecast*) AND [country or region] AND [company name]
Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier contains full text from the world's top management and marketing journals, including Harvard Business Review, Journal of Management Studies, Journal of International Marketing, and many others.
Sample search: [industry name] AND (trends OR forecast*) AND [company name]

Country (macro level) environment

Country analysis & political risk

EIU - Viewpoint Country Analysis Advanced
Viewpoint Country Analysis Advanced provides five-year forecasts and news analysis for six key industries, from telecommunications to consumer goods, along with relevant background information. Industry Briefing covers up to 69 economies that account for more than 95% of world output and trade. The forecasts are based on the latest data and in-depth analysis of sectoral trends.

globalEdge
Offers quantitative and qualitative data on a country's economy, risk, culture, etc.

Business Source Premier
Database provides access to all 100 Political Risk Yearbook Country Reports from PRS Group. Reports covers economic, political, and regulatory trends including 18-month and 5-year risk factors.

International competitiveness

World Competitiveness Online
IMD World Competitiveness Online is a comprehensive database on the competitiveness of nations. It includes time series from the IMD World Competitiveness Yearbook, IMD World Talent Ranking, and the IMD World Digital Competitiveness Ranking.

Ask a Librarian

Database E-learning Modules

ABI/INFORM E-learning Modules
Access E-learning Modules on:
- Finding Company Information
- Finding News Content
- Finding Market Research Information

more... less...

ABI/INFORM Collection features:

- Business and economics full-text journals and periodicals
- Dissertations, conference and working papers
- Country-and industry-focused reports and downloadable data
- Newspapers and news content

Librarian

Elliot Hanowski

He/Him

Email Me

Contact:

Elizabeth Dafoe Library, Room 208

204-583-7809

Subjects: Business Administration, Criminology, Data, Government Publications, Sociology, Supply Chain Management