LibGuides: Business Administration: ENTR 2020

Go To

Click the links below to jump to sections:

Performance benchmark data

Need help financially planning your start-up?

Consider using Financial Performance Data

Before using this tool, be sure to know your primary industry classifications
Not sure? Look it up in NAICS (North American Industry Classification System).
- Click “display definitions” for further information

Key resources for industry information

Canadian industry statistics: Industry Canada

IBISWorld
IBISWorld provides independent research on hundreds of industries in Canada and the U.S. Research reports include statistics, analysis and forecasts. Such industry reports can be used to evaluate market size, draft business plans, pitch books, forecasting and more.
Mergent Online
Please Note: Effective June 30, 2025, this resource will be changing to Mergent Market Atlas. It will continue to be available to University of Manitoba Libraries.
Simultaneous user limit: 5

Mergent Online provides data for U.S. and international public companies, both active and inactive. Features allow you to compare companies and export data. Financial statements are presented in "as-reported" form and in native currencies. Company coverage includes: history; mergers, acquisitions, disposals; joint ventures; business; property; subsidiaries; officers and directors; news reports; long-term debt; bond ratings; capital stock and more.

Components include:
- USA Company Database
- International Company Database
Mergent Archives
This database provides access to a collection of reports focusing on country-specific information as well as industry-level analysis.

Includes:
D&B Manuals: Country Reports (Coverage: 2003-)
Mergent Manuals: Bond Record Collection (Coverage: 2004-)
Mergent Industry Report Collection (Coverage: 2003-)
Passport
Access limited to: UM Students, Faculty and Staff

Please Note: There are terms that the publisher requires you to agree to before accessing Passport database, please read carefully any terms of use statements.

Please Note: For improved performance, clear browser history (cache, cookies) before accessing this resource.

Passport GMID is a global market information database and analysis tool containing data and reports across all industries, countries and consumers. The University of Manitoba's subscription includes:
- Articles from country and consumer analysts
- Consumer lifestyles reports
- Country and consumer statistics
- Country profiles
- Country briefings
- Dashboards (visualization enhancements that reflect the data contained in the database)
- Future demographic reports
- Passport Industrial (Canada only)

Industry Classifications (SIC, NAICS, Etc.)

Key resources for consumer demographics and analysis

2021 Canadian Census
The Census Program provides a statistical portrait of the country every five years.
Under "Find data", type location name, i.e. “Manitoba” then click search to get the Census Profile. Use drop-down to focus on a specific topic.
Statistics Canada Data
Statistics Canada makes a great deal of socioeconomic and demographic data available online.
City of Winnipeg 2021 Census
Profiles are available for:
-The City of Winnipeg, Downtown Winnipeg Zoning By-Law, Inner City, Non-Inner City and Winnipeg Census Metropolitan Area (CMA)
-City Council Wards
-Community Areas
-Neighbourhoods (click on the map to get information on the community and neighbourhoods in the area)

Passport
Access limited to: UM Students, Faculty and Staff

Please Note: There are terms that the publisher requires you to agree to before accessing Passport database, please read carefully any terms of use statements.

Please Note: For improved performance, clear browser history (cache, cookies) before accessing this resource.

Passport GMID is a global market information database and analysis tool containing data and reports across all industries, countries and consumers. The University of Manitoba's subscription includes:
- Articles from country and consumer analysts
- Consumer lifestyles reports
- Country and consumer statistics
- Country profiles
- Country briefings
- Dashboards (visualization enhancements that reflect the data contained in the database)
- Future demographic reports
- Passport Industrial (Canada only)

Finding articles in trade journals and newspapers on market research

Trade journals and newspapers can be found in the following database aggregators.

TIP: You can get a good idea of consumer attitudes by reviewing consumer polls or surveys on a particular known product or service:

Select a database title, such as Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database.
Search using keywords such as: (survey OR poll) AND “product name”/“brand name”/“product type”

ABI/INFORM Complete
ABI/INFORM Complete® is a comprehensive business database. The combination of products forms a business database package that offers numerous full-text titles covering business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information. Its international coverage provides researchers with insight into companies and business trends around the world.
Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier contains full text from the world's top management and marketing journals, including Harvard Business Review, California Management Review, Administrative Science Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Industrial & Labor Relations Review, Journal of Management Studies, Journal of Marketing Management, Journal of Marketing Research (JMR), Journal of Marketing, Journal of International Marketing, and many others.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (CBCA)
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database includes over 540 periodicals and daily news sources (over 480 of which are Canadian), plus indexing to an additional 1,100 other titles (over 95% Canadian).
Canadian Major Dailies
Canadian Major Dailies offers access to the full text of articles, columns, editorials, and features from 20 major Canadian newspapers. Newspapers include the Winnipeg Free Press, Globe and Mail, Toronto Star, National Post, Ottawa Citizen, Calgary Herald, Montreal Gazette, and Edmonton Journal. Coverage varies, usually from the 1980's to the present, though not all are full text. Most newspapers have a two day delay, the Winnipeg Free Press and the Globe and Mail are updated daily.

Finding competitor information and market share

Mergent Online
Please Note: Effective June 30, 2025, this resource will be changing to Mergent Market Atlas. It will continue to be available to University of Manitoba Libraries.
Simultaneous user limit: 5

Mergent Online provides data for U.S. and international public companies, both active and inactive. Features allow you to compare companies and export data. Financial statements are presented in "as-reported" form and in native currencies. Company coverage includes: history; mergers, acquisitions, disposals; joint ventures; business; property; subsidiaries; officers and directors; news reports; long-term debt; bond ratings; capital stock and more.

Components include:
- USA Company Database
- International Company Database
PrivCo The Private Company Financial Database
PrivCo is a source for business and financial research on major privately-held companies as well as private M&A deals and funding rounds. Content includes private firm valuations, venture capital funding, private equity deals, private and family ownership breakdowns, bankruptcies, restructurings, and company research.
Passport
Access limited to: UM Students, Faculty and Staff

Please Note: There are terms that the publisher requires you to agree to before accessing Passport database, please read carefully any terms of use statements.

Please Note: For improved performance, clear browser history (cache, cookies) before accessing this resource.

Passport GMID is a global market information database and analysis tool containing data and reports across all industries, countries and consumers. The University of Manitoba's subscription includes:
- Articles from country and consumer analysts
- Consumer lifestyles reports
- Country and consumer statistics
- Country profiles
- Country briefings
- Dashboards (visualization enhancements that reflect the data contained in the database)
- Future demographic reports
- Passport Industrial (Canada only)
IBISWorld
IBISWorld provides independent research on hundreds of industries in Canada and the U.S. Research reports include statistics, analysis and forecasts. Such industry reports can be used to evaluate market size, draft business plans, pitch books, forecasting and more.

Ask a Librarian

Database E-learning Modules

ABI/INFORM E-learning Modules
Access E-learning Modules on:
- Finding Company Information
- Finding News Content
- Finding Market Research Information

more... less...

ABI/INFORM Collection features:

- Business and economics full-text journals and periodicals
- Dissertations, conference and working papers
- Country-and industry-focused reports and downloadable data
- Newspapers and news content

Librarian

Elliot Hanowski

He/Him

Email Me

Contact:

Elizabeth Dafoe Library, Room 208

204-583-7809

Subjects: Business Administration, Criminology, Data, Government Publications, Sociology, Supply Chain Management