Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Click the links below to jump to sections:
Country Profiles and Reports
Statista (Trial: November 7 2022 - May 7 2023) This link opens in a new window
Statista provides statistical data on many topics including media, business, politics, society, technology and education. Sources include market reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. Charts can be downloaded in PNG, PowerPoint, Excel or PDF formats or embedded in web pages and can be great in papers or presentations.
Countries and Regions reports cover crucial information regarding the status quo and development of countries and regions including key economic indicators like GDP, national finance, demographics and trade figures as well as major industry players.
A to Z WorldBusiness This link opens in a new window
AtoZ World Business provides a one-stop guide for international business, offering country-by-country information on business practises and business culture from around the world. Topics include business travel, advertising, communications, investment climate, country exports/imports, maps, and much more.
CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
EIU - Economist Intelligence Unit Industry Briefing This link opens in a new window
Please Note: You will be prompted to read and accept the Terms & Conditions before accessing this resource.
Industry Briefing provides five-year forecasts and news analysis for six key industries, from telecommunications to consumer goods, along with relevant background information. Industry Briefing covers up to 69 economies that account for more than 95% of world output and trade. The forecasts are based on the latest data and in-depth analysis of sectoral trends.
Mergent Archives This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to a collection of reports focusing on country-specific information as well as industry-level analysis.
D&B Manuals: Country Reports (Coverage: 2003-)
Mergent Manuals: Bond Record Collection (Coverage: 2004-)
Mergent Industry Report Collection (Coverage: 2003-)
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Simultaneous user limit: 5
Mergent Online provides data for U.S. and international public companies, both active and inactive. Features allow you to compare companies and export data. Financial statements are presented in "as-reported" form and in native currencies. Company coverage includes: history; mergers, acquisitions, disposals; joint ventures; business; property; subsidiaries; officers and directors; news reports; long-term debt; bond ratings; capital stock and more.
Passport This link opens in a new window Access limited to:
UM Students, Faculty and Staff
For improved performance, clear browser history (cache, cookies) before accessing this resource.
Passport GMID is a global market information database and analysis tool containing data and reports across all industries, countries and consumers. The University of Manitoba's subscription includes:
- Articles from country and consumer analysts
- Consumer lifestyles reports
- Country and consumer statistics
- Country profiles
- Country briefings
- Dashboards (visualization enhancements that reflect the data contained in the database)
- Future demographic reports
- Passport Industrial (Canada only)
Additional Country information - forecasts, macro indicators
ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
ABI/INFORM Complete® is a comprehensive business database. The combination of products forms a business database package that offers numerous full-text titles covering business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information. Its international coverage provides researchers with insight into companies and business trends around the world.
Africa Development Indicators This link opens in a new window
ADI Online provides a comprehensive collection of data on Africa available. It provides all those interested in Africa with a focused and convenient set of data monitoring development programs and aid flows in the region.
Balance of Payments Statistics This link opens in a new window
Balance of Payments Statistics summarizes, for a specific period, the economic transactions of an economy with the rest of the world. It reports total goods, services, factor income, and current transfers an economy receives from or provides to the rest of the world as well as capital transfers and changes in each economy's external financial claims and liabilities.
Bank of Canada This link opens in a new window
The Bank publishes a variety of periodicals for general and specialist audiences. Bank of Canada Review- A quarterly publication featuring articles related to the Canadian economy and to central banking, with summary statistical tables. FinancialSystem Review- A detailed review of developments in the financial system and an analysis of policy directions in the financial sector. Published twice a year.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier contains full text from the world's top management and marketing journals, including Harvard Business Review, California Management Review, Administrative Science Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Industrial & Labor Relations Review, Journal of Management Studies, Journal of Marketing Management, Journal of Marketing Research (JMR), Journal of Marketing, Journal of International Marketing, and many others.
Canadian Census - Most recent
The Census Program provides a statistical portrait of the country every five years. The Census Program includes the Census of Population and the Census of Agriculture.
China Data Online This link opens in a new window
China Data provides comprehensive and updated information on China's economic development at national, provincial, city, county, and industrial levels and includes the following databases:
Monthly Industrial Data
Yearly Industrial Data
Statistics on Map
Global Economic Monitor (World Bank - DataBank)
Provides daily updates of global economic developments for high income and developing countries - covers exchange rates, equity markets, interest rates, stripped bond spreads, and emerging market bond indices. Monthly data coverage (updated daily and populated upon availability) is provided for consumer prices, high-tech market indicators, industrial production and merchandise trade.
IMF eLibrary Complete This link opens in a new window
The International Monetary Fund's (IMF) eLibrary provides access to the IMF’s periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools. You will find information and perspective on macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, poverty reduction, and more.
IMF eLibrary Data This link opens in a new window
Time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators
International Debt Statistics This link opens in a new window
Produced by the World Bank, IDS focuses on financial flows, trends in external debt, and other major financial indicators for developing and advanced economies. Includes time series indicators from 1970 - 2016 and pipeline data for scheduled debt service payments on existing commitments to 2024.
World Competitiveness Online This link opens in a new window
IMD World Competitiveness Online is a comprehensive database on the competitiveness of nations. It includes time series from the IMD World Competitiveness Yearbook, IMD World Talent Ranking, and the IMD World Digital Competitiveness Ranking.
Social Sciences Liaison Librarian