Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This is your starting place for Business eResources. Please use the Directory or drop-down Resources menu for specific types of resources.
Directory of Resources
Click the links below to be redirected to specific resource pages.
Business eResources A-Z
This is a comprehensive list of the library's electronic business resources and databases that will be helpful for students, staff and faculty of the Asper School of Business. For cross discipline information, go to Subject Guides to find other related resources. For a full description of the resource, hover over the icon.
Statista (Trial: November 7 2022 - May 7 2023) This link opens in a new window
Statista provides statistical data on many topics including media, business, politics, society, technology and education. Sources include market reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. Charts can be downloaded in PNG, PowerPoint, Excel or PDF formats or embedded in web pages and can be great in papers or presentations.
A to Z WorldBusiness This link opens in a new window
AtoZ World Business provides a one-stop guide for international business, offering country-by-country information on business practises and business culture from around the world. Topics include business travel, advertising, communications, investment climate, country exports/imports, maps, and much more.
ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
ABI/INFORM Complete® is a comprehensive business database. The combination of products forms a business database package that offers numerous full-text titles covering business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information. Its international coverage provides researchers with insight into companies and business trends around the world.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive, scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. It includes numerous full-text periodicals, many of which are peer-reviewed. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for a number of journals and other publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in searchable PDF format.
Africa Development Indicators This link opens in a new window
ADI Online provides a comprehensive collection of data on Africa available. It provides all those interested in Africa with a focused and convenient set of data monitoring development programs and aid flows in the region.
Balance of Payments Statistics This link opens in a new window
Balance of Payments Statistics summarizes, for a specific period, the economic transactions of an economy with the rest of the world. It reports total goods, services, factor income, and current transfers an economy receives from or provides to the rest of the world as well as capital transfers and changes in each economy's external financial claims and liabilities.
Bank of Canada This link opens in a new window
The Bank publishes a variety of periodicals for general and specialist audiences. Bank of Canada Review- A quarterly publication featuring articles related to the Canadian economy and to central banking, with summary statistical tables. FinancialSystem Review- A detailed review of developments in the financial system and an analysis of policy directions in the financial sector. Published twice a year.
Bloomberg Businessweek Archive This link opens in a new window
Bloomberg Businessweek Archive contains indexing, abstracting and full text for an abundance of issues and years worth of content, with coverage starting from the magazine’s first issue. Bloomberg Businessweek Archive provides researchers with full-text content on business management, marketing, labor, finance, and economic policy.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier contains full text from the world's top management and marketing journals, including Harvard Business Review, California Management Review, Administrative Science Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Industrial & Labor Relations Review, Journal of Management Studies, Journal of Marketing Management, Journal of Marketing Research (JMR), Journal of Marketing, Journal of International Marketing, and many others.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (CBCA) This link opens in a new window
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database includes over 540 periodicals and daily news sources (over 480 of which are Canadian), plus indexing to an additional 1,100 other titles (over 95% Canadian).
Canadian Financial Markets Research Centre (CFMRC) This link opens in a new window
The Canadian Financial Markets Research Centre (CFMRC) Summary Information Database includes: daily and monthly Toronto Stock Exchange trading information about specific securities; information on price adjustments such as dividends, stock splits, recapitalizations, etc.; information on daily and monthly index levels; as well as selected other financial markets information. The database is divided into two parts: common equities and preferred equities.
Canadian Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Canadian Major Dailies offers access to the full text of articles, columns, editorials, and features from 20 major Canadian newspapers. Newspapers include the Winnipeg Free Press, Globe and Mail, Toronto Star, National Post, Ottawa Citizen, Calgary Herald, Montreal Gazette, and Edmonton Journal. Coverage varies, usually from the 1980's to the present, though not all are full text. Most newspapers have a two day delay, the Winnipeg Free Press and the Globe and Mail are updated daily.
Canadian tax research books, products, and services This link opens in a new window
Chartered Accountants of Canada (CICA) is pleased to provide students and professors with complimentary access to online tax research databases. Visit CICA’s store for more information on its Canadian tax research books, products, and services @ www.knotia.ca/info/taxsuiteprem
CANSIM is Statistics Canada's key socioeconomic database. Updated daily, CANSIM provides fast and easy access to a large range of the latest statistics available in Canada.
CANSIM II This link opens in a new window
CANSIM stands for Canadian Socio-economic Information and Management System. It is a database of current and historic time series, produced by Statistics Canada. A CANSIM time series consists of a number of observations for a given concept or variable at regular time intervals. There are millions of time series in this database. CANSIM time series cover a broad spectrum of social and economic aspects of Canadian life, including: agriculture, construction, demography, education, and more.
CCH Tax This link opens in a new window
Please Note: October 28, 2022 - This resource is currently unavailable. We are working with the publisher to have access restored as soon as possible.
Simultaneous users: 5
Provides access to information resources related to Canadian taxes.
China Data Online This link opens in a new window
China Data provides comprehensive and updated information on China's economic development at national, provincial, city, county, and industrial levels and includes the following databases:
Monthly Industrial Data
Yearly Industrial Data
Statistics on Map
Conference Board of Canada e-Library This link opens in a new window
Please Note: There is a 60-day viewing embargo on webinars.
Conference Board of Canada e-Library contains research documents produced by the Conference Board of Canada and Conference Board Inc. (New York). These documents include research reports that provide insights into key areas of economic trends, organizational performance and public policy. To access: You may see an option to access this document without creating an account or create a new account. Please choose the "without creating an account" option to access the item.
CPA Canada Standards and Guidance Collection This link opens in a new window
CPA Canada Standards and Guidance Collection is the online version of the full CPA Canada Handbook (Chartered Professional Accountants Canada).
CPI.Q This link opens in a new window
The Canadian Periodical Index has been a core reference tool for accessing Canadian scholarly and popular periodicals since 1928. The electronic version available on the Articles and Databases menu is published by Gale Research and covers the years 1996, 1997 and 1998. About one third of the articles are full text.
Derwent Innovations Index This link opens in a new window
Coverage: to 1963 (patents)
Coverage: to 1973 (citations)
Value-added patent information from Derwent World Patent Index® as well as patent citation information from Patents Citation Index. Use patent data to protect your ongoing work, discover the latest technological advances, monitor competitors’ progress, and formulate fresh ideas for research.
Get a comprehensive overview of inventions in the global marketplace in all categories: chemical, electrical, electronic, and mechanical engineering.
The University of Manitoba's users have access to the following editions:
Chemical Section (1963-present)
Electrical and Electronic Section (1963-present)
Engineering Section (1963-present)
Direction of Trade Statistics This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1947-1959 (annual), 1960-present (monthly/quarterly)
The Direction of Trade Statistics (DOTS) presents, for most member countries of the International Monetary Fund, current figures on the value of merchandise exports and imports disaggregated according to their most important trading partners. Area and world aggregates showing trade flows between major areas of the world are presented as well.
EBSCOhost Full Text This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost provides indexing and abstracting for thousands of periodicals, in most cases back to 1984. It also contains full text for over a thousand periodicals, in many cases going back to 1990. Many of these periodicals are peer-reviewed journals. Different modules cover academic journals, popular magazines, Canadian magazines, high school magazines, and children's magazines. These can be searched separately or combined.
EconLIT This link opens in a new window
EconLIT is a comprehensive, indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world's economic literature, produced by the American Economic Association. It includes journal articles, books, collective volume articles, dissertations, and working papers licensed from the Cambridge University Press Abstracts of Working Papers in Economics.
EDGAR provides access to submissions from public companies required by law to file with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC).
EIU - Economist Intelligence Unit Industry Briefing This link opens in a new window
Please Note: You will be prompted to read and accept the Terms & Conditions before accessing this resource.
Industry Briefing provides five-year forecasts and news analysis for six key industries, from telecommunications to consumer goods, along with relevant background information. Industry Briefing covers up to 69 economies that account for more than 95% of world output and trade. The forecasts are based on the latest data and in-depth analysis of sectoral trends.
Electronic Municipal Market Access (EMMA)
Service of the Municipal Securities Rulemaking Board. EMMA provides key information about U.S. municipal securities, free of charge. Portions of EMMA data provided by Standard & Poor’s Securities Evaluations, Inc., CUSIP Service Bureau & American Bankers Association.
Emerald Full Text This link opens in a new window
Emerald publishes an extensive range of management and library & information services journals.
Forbes Archive This link opens in a new window
This searchable full-text archive provides analysis on business leaders, politics, entertainment, technology, communication, culture, and style.
Gartner Core IT Research This link opens in a new window Access Restrictions: Only UM faculty, staff, students and researchers with an active UMnetID and a University email address may access this service, for educational purposes only.
Please review the Gartner Usage Policy
before using the service.
for more information about Key Features and Benefits and using Gartner IT Research.
Jointly provided by University of Manitoba Libraries and Information Services & Technology (IST)
Global Economic Monitor This link opens in a new window
Global Economic Monitor is a portal for analysis of current economic trends and for economic and financial indicators. It provides daily updates of global economic developments, with coverage of high income- as well as developing countries. Exchange rates, equity markets, emerging market bond indices, consumer prices, high-tech market indicators, industrial production and merchandise trade are updated daily.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Click here to learn how to connect Google Scholar with UM Library resources
Google Scholar searches for scholarly literature such as journal articles, theses, and reports from a subset of publishers, universities, and societies. Google Scholar does not permit unrestricted access to licensed, copyrighted material. You can find citations, but you can't necessarily read the articles.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld provides independent research on hundreds of industries in Canada and the U.S. Research reports include statistics, analysis and forecasts. Such industry reports can be used to evaluate market size, draft business plans, pitch books, forecasting and more.
IMF eLibrary Complete This link opens in a new window
The International Monetary Fund's (IMF) eLibrary provides access to the IMF’s periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools. You will find information and perspective on macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, poverty reduction, and more.
IMF eLibrary Data This link opens in a new window
Time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators
Government portal that contains industry reports and statistics, as well as data on a wide variety of topics: e.g. Economic and Market Research Statistics, Company Directories, Corporate Social Responsibility, Business Start-up Assistant, Trade and Investment, and much more.
International Debt Statistics This link opens in a new window
Produced by the World Bank, IDS focuses on financial flows, trends in external debt, and other major financial indicators for developing and advanced economies. Includes time series indicators from 1970 - 2016 and pipeline data for scheduled debt service payments on existing commitments to 2024.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a database of back issues of academic journals, books, and primary sources. With content extending over a century, subject areas include area studies, the arts, business & economics, history, the humanities, law, medicine, science & mathematics, and social sciences.
Management & Organization Studies: A SAGE Full-Text Collection This link opens in a new window
The Management & Organization Studies Collection includes full text journals published by SAGE and participating societies. It covers such subjects as: Business & Management, Organizations Studies, Management, Strategic Management and Business Policy, Human Resource Management, Human Resource Development, , Marketing, Analytical Marketing, Sociology, Sociology of Work, Public Policy and Public Administration, Hospitality, Travel and Tourism Management, Labor Economics, etc.
Mergent Archives This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to a collection of reports focusing on country-specific information as well as industry-level analysis.
D&B Manuals: Country Reports (Coverage: 2003-)
Mergent Manuals: Bond Record Collection (Coverage: 2004-)
Mergent Industry Report Collection (Coverage: 2003-)
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Simultaneous user limit: 5
Mergent Online provides data for U.S. and international public companies, both active and inactive. Features allow you to compare companies and export data. Financial statements are presented in "as-reported" form and in native currencies. Company coverage includes: history; mergers, acquisitions, disposals; joint ventures; business; property; subsidiaries; officers and directors; news reports; long-term debt; bond ratings; capital stock and more.
ODESI This link opens in a new window Please Note:
Best viewed with Chrome or Firefox.
If you require PUMFs, please contact the Data Librarian Cody Fullerton
ODESI is a web-based data exploration, extraction, and analysis tool. Users can search for survey questions (variables) across thousands of datasets held in a growing number of collections, then tabulate and analyze results online.
Passport This link opens in a new window Access limited to:
UM Students, Faculty and Staff
For improved performance, clear browser history (cache, cookies) before accessing this resource.
Passport GMID is a global market information database and analysis tool containing data and reports across all industries, countries and consumers. The University of Manitoba's subscription includes:
- Articles from country and consumer analysts
- Consumer lifestyles reports
- Country and consumer statistics
- Country profiles
- Country briefings
- Dashboards (visualization enhancements that reflect the data contained in the database)
- Future demographic reports
- Passport Industrial (Canada only)
Penn World Tables
"PWT is a database with information on relative levels of income, output, inputs and productivity, with country and period coverage depending on the release. On these pages you find access to several releases of this data set, as well as documentation."
Plunkett's Research Industry Almanacs
Plunkett Research's full list of 2013 almanacs, covering a wide range of industries.
PrivCo The Private Company Financial Database This link opens in a new window
PrivCo is a source for business and financial research on major privately-held companies as well as private M&A deals and funding rounds. Content includes private firm valuations, venture capital funding, private equity deals, private and family ownership breakdowns, bankruptcies, restructurings, and company research.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Search interface for a variety of ProQuest databases
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
This database is published by the American Psychological Association and provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Documents indexed include journals, articles, books, dissertations and more.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Regional Business News provides full text of regional business publications for Canada and the United States, with coverage back to 1990. Updated daily.
SEDAR provides access to public securities documents and information filed by public companies and investment funds with the thirteen provincial and territorial securities regulatory authorities ("Canadian Securities Administrators" or "CSA") in the SEDAR filing system.
Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1900 - present
A multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences, plus selected relevant items from many of the world's leading scientific and technical journals.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1952 - present
Sociological Abstracts, and its companion file Social Services Abstracts, cover the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews drawn from serial publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers.
Statistics Canada – The DLI Collection This link opens in a new window Please Note: The Nesstar database is no longer available. If you require PUMFs, please contact the Data Librarian Cody Fullerton
Survey data can be accessed at Odesi
The Data Liberation Initiative Collection is composed of data produced by Statistics Canada, including microdata files, cd-rom products, spreadsheets and databases. It also includes a link to the DLI Beyond 20/20 Web Data Server, a web based multidimensional table viewer providing access to a variety of aggregate data, including both time series and Census data. Data can be manipulated, subset, and saved into a variety of other formats.
Taylor & Francis Online Journals This link opens in a new window Please Note:
For open access publishing consideration: UML may have an institutional discount with this publisher for article processing charges (APCs). Consult the following library webpage
for more information.
For improved performance, clear browser history (cache, cookies) before accessing this resource.
Access to all of Taylor & Francis' social sciences, humanities, scientific, technical and medical journals.
Directory of products and manufacturers in the U.S. and Canada. Search by product, company and brand and by state or province.
Trade Analyser This link opens in a new window
Trade Analyser provides access to time-series data on imports and exports in the Canadian International Merchandise Trade (CIMT) and World trade databases produced by Statistics Canada, International Trade Division. CIMT coverage is from 1988 - present. World trade coverage is from 1980 - 2005.
TSX eReview This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 2016 - present
TSX eReview provides coverage of market, trading and corporate events for Toronto Stock Exchange listed companies: (1) Market highlights and statistics; (2) Securities highlights; (3) Stock list changes; (4) Corporate actions; (5) Terms and conditions; (6) Trading information; (7) Index information.
TSX Venture Exchange eReview This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 2016 - present
TSX Venture eReview is a monthly digest of trading activity and corporate information for companies listed on the TSX Venture Exchange (including NEX). Each issue covers market and corporate data, including: (1) Trading data; (2) Market movers; (3) Listings changes; (4) Financings; (5) Index information.
United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics Database (UN Comtrade) This link opens in a new window
UN Comtrade is the United Nations International Trade Statistics Database. This database provides free access to detailed global trade data; it's a repository of official international trade statistics and analytical tables. Coverage dates back to 1962.
The United Nations Statistics Division holds the copyright to COMTRADE data. All rights reserved.
Web of Science (all databases) This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a a comprehensive interdisciplinary, bibliographic database with article references from journals, books, and proceedings from sciences and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences, brought together under a unified search interface.
- BIOSIS Citation Index (2010-present)
- BIOSIS Previews (1926-present)
- Current Contents Connect (1998-present)
- Data Citation Index (1900-present)
- Derwent Innovations Index (1963-present)
- KCI-Korean Journal Database (1980-present)
- MEDLINE® (1950-present)
- Russian Science Citation Index (2005-present)
- SciELO Citation Index (1997-present)
- Web of Science Core Collection (1900-present)
- Zoological Record (1864-present)
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Please Note: For viewing ebook pdfs, please use the latest version of Firefox or a different browser.
Wiley Online Library hosts a multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It indexes journal articles, books, reference works, laboratory protocols and databases.
University of Manitoba authorized users have the ability to share some full-text articles with non-subscribers. This feature is available for only some journals across the Wiley portfolio. From the HTML view of the full article, click on the "Share" icon in the top right-hand corner. If the journal is part of the content sharing program, you will see an option to 'Get Link'.
World Competitiveness Online This link opens in a new window
IMD World Competitiveness Online is a comprehensive database on the competitiveness of nations. It includes time series from the IMD World Competitiveness Yearbook, IMD World Talent Ranking, and the IMD World Digital Competitiveness Ranking.
Information provided by the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency on countries of the world, including country profiles, rankings by selected data, and reference maps.