LibGuides: Marketing: Industry & Market Research

Go To

Click the links below to jump to sections:

Industry and Market research databases and websites

ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
ABI/INFORM Complete® is a comprehensive business database. The combination of products forms a business database package that offers numerous full-text titles covering business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information. Its international coverage provides researchers with insight into companies and business trends around the world.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier contains full text from the world's top management and marketing journals, including Harvard Business Review, California Management Review, Administrative Science Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Industrial & Labor Relations Review, Journal of Management Studies, Journal of Marketing Management, Journal of Marketing Research (JMR), Journal of Marketing, Journal of International Marketing, and many others.

Canadian Census - Most recent The Census Program provides a statistical portrait of the country every five years. The Census Program includes the Census of Population and the Census of Agriculture.
Canadian industry statistics: Industry Canada
CANSIM
CANSIM is Statistics Canada's key socioeconomic database. Updated daily, CANSIM provides fast and easy access to a large range of the latest statisticsCANSIM is Statistics Canada's key socioeconomic database. Updated daily, CANSIM provides fast and easy access to a large range of the latest statistics
CANSIM II (via Statistics Canada)

Derwent Innovations Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Coverage: to 1963 (patents)
Coverage: to 1973 (citations)

Value-added patent information from Derwent World Patent Index® as well as patent citation information from Patents Citation Index. Use patent data to protect your ongoing work, discover the latest technological advances, monitor competitors’ progress, and formulate fresh ideas for research.
Get a comprehensive overview of inventions in the global marketplace in all categories: chemical, electrical, electronic, and mechanical engineering.

The University of Manitoba's users have access to the following editions:
Chemical Section (1963-present)
Electrical and Electronic Section (1963-present)
Engineering Section (1963-present)

Web of Science Search Help
EIU - Viewpoint Country Analysis Advanced This link opens in a new window
Viewpoint Country Analysis Advanced provides five-year forecasts and news analysis for six key industries, from telecommunications to consumer goods, along with relevant background information. Industry Briefing covers up to 69 economies that account for more than 95% of world output and trade. The forecasts are based on the latest data and in-depth analysis of sectoral trends.

Financial Performance Data: Industry Canada Industry Canada's performance benchmark data for financial planning of start-up and established small and medium sized businesses.
more...less...
Formerly called SME Benchmarking Tool

Gartner Core IT Research This link opens in a new window
Access Restrictions: Only UM faculty, staff, students and researchers with an active UMnetID and a University email address may access this service, for educational purposes only.

Please review the Gartner Usage Policy before using the service.

Click Here for more information about Key Features and Benefits and using Gartner IT Research.

Jointly provided by University of Manitoba Libraries and Information Services & Technology (IST)

globalEdge

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld provides independent research on hundreds of industries in Canada and the U.S. Research reports include statistics, analysis and forecasts. Such industry reports can be used to evaluate market size, draft business plans, pitch books, forecasting and more.

Industry Canada (now called Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada)
This website contains Canadian industry sector data, financial benchmarks, labour trends and business statistics.

Mergent Archives This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to a collection of reports focusing on country-specific information as well as industry-level analysis.

Includes:
D&B Manuals: Country Reports (Coverage: 2003-)
Mergent Manuals: Bond Record Collection (Coverage: 2004-)
Mergent Industry Report Collection (Coverage: 2003-)
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Simultaneous user limit: 5
Provides ICB Industry and Supersector Reports which display characteristics of a given Industry based on Russell 1000 index membership. Also features propriety Industry Reports and Environmental, Social and Governance report measuring an Industry's exposure to ESG issues through charts and tables.
Passport This link opens in a new window
Access limited to: UM Students, Faculty and Staff

Please Note: There are terms that the publisher requires you to agree to before accessing Passport database, please read carefully any terms of use statements.

Please Note: For improved performance, clear browser history (cache, cookies) before accessing this resource.

Passport GMID is a global market information database and analysis tool containing data and reports across all industries, countries and consumers. The University of Manitoba's subscription includes:
- Articles from country and consumer analysts
- Consumer lifestyles reports
- Country and consumer statistics
- Country profiles
- Country briefings
- Dashboards (visualization enhancements that reflect the data contained in the database)
- Future demographic reports
- Passport Industrial (Canada only)
Plunkett Research Industry Almanacs This link opens in a new window
Plunkett Research's full list of 2013 almanacs, covering a wide range of industries.

ThomasNet Directory of products and manufacturers in the U.S. and Canada. Search by product, company and brand and by state or province.

Industry Classification Codes

Determining an industry designation or classification code can be helpful to get a sense of your industry. Many business databases allow searching by classification codes. The codes also provide useful descriptions of industries and sub-industries as well as ideas for search terms.

The most commonly used industry classification system in Canada and the U.S. is the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS). The system is hierarchical, organized by broad industry categories, each divided into more specific industries.

NAICS 2022 (North American Industry Classification System) (Canada)
NAICS (U.S.)

The Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) , although replaced by the NAICS in 1997, is still useful for identifying companies within a specific industry and is also used by a number of licensed databases and print reference material. The SIC codes group companies based on their primary activity, whether a good or service.

SIC (Standard Industrial Classification) (Canada)
SIC (U.S.)

Note: If you are researching a very specific or newer industry, it may not be included in these industry classification systems. Please consult the Business Librarian for assistance.

Industry & Trade periodicals

Trade journals and newspapers can be found in the following database aggregators:

ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
ABI/INFORM Complete® is a comprehensive business database. The combination of products forms a business database package that offers numerous full-text titles covering business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information. Its international coverage provides researchers with insight into companies and business trends around the world.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier contains full text from the world's top management and marketing journals, including Harvard Business Review, California Management Review, Administrative Science Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Industrial & Labor Relations Review, Journal of Management Studies, Journal of Marketing Management, Journal of Marketing Research (JMR), Journal of Marketing, Journal of International Marketing, and many others.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (CBCA) This link opens in a new window
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database includes over 540 periodicals and daily news sources (over 480 of which are Canadian), plus indexing to an additional 1,100 other titles (over 95% Canadian).
Canadian Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Canadian Major Dailies offers access to the full text of articles, columns, editorials, and features from 20 major Canadian newspapers. Newspapers include the Winnipeg Free Press, Globe and Mail, Toronto Star, National Post, Ottawa Citizen, Calgary Herald, Montreal Gazette, and Edmonton Journal. Coverage varies, usually from the 1980's to the present, though not all are full text. Most newspapers have a two day delay, the Winnipeg Free Press and the Globe and Mail are updated daily.
CPI.Q This link opens in a new window
The Canadian Periodical Index has been a core reference tool for accessing Canadian scholarly and popular periodicals since 1928. The electronic version available on the Articles and Databases menu is published by Gale Research and covers the years 1996, 1997 and 1998. About one third of the articles are full text.

Ask a Librarian

Social Sciences Liaison Librarian

Ruby Warren