Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Click the links below to jump to sections:
Best Bet Databases for Marketing
This is a list of selected resources that fall under Marketing. For a full list of business-related resources, go to the Resources page. For a full description of the resource, hover over the icon.
Statista (Trial: November 7 2022 - May 7 2023) This link opens in a new window
Statista provides statistical data on many topics including media, business, politics, society, technology and education. Sources include market reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. Charts can be downloaded in PNG, PowerPoint, Excel or PDF formats or embedded in web pages and can be great in papers or presentations.
Market and consumer insights cover 170 industries and 150+ countries. Country, company (private and public), industry, and market data are available in report, outlook/forecast, and statistical infographic format.
ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
ABI/INFORM Complete® is a comprehensive business database. The combination of products forms a business database package that offers numerous full-text titles covering business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information. Its international coverage provides researchers with insight into companies and business trends around the world.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier contains full text from the world's top management and marketing journals, including Harvard Business Review, California Management Review, Administrative Science Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Industrial & Labor Relations Review, Journal of Management Studies, Journal of Marketing Management, Journal of Marketing Research (JMR), Journal of Marketing, Journal of International Marketing, and many others.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (CBCA) This link opens in a new window
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database includes over 540 periodicals and daily news sources (over 480 of which are Canadian), plus indexing to an additional 1,100 other titles (over 95% Canadian).
Canadian Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Canadian Major Dailies offers access to the full text of articles, columns, editorials, and features from 20 major Canadian newspapers. Newspapers include the Winnipeg Free Press, Globe and Mail, Toronto Star, National Post, Ottawa Citizen, Calgary Herald, Montreal Gazette, and Edmonton Journal. Coverage varies, usually from the 1980's to the present, though not all are full text. Most newspapers have a two day delay, the Winnipeg Free Press and the Globe and Mail are updated daily.
CPI.Q This link opens in a new window
The Canadian Periodical Index has been a core reference tool for accessing Canadian scholarly and popular periodicals since 1928. The electronic version available on the Articles and Databases menu is published by Gale Research and covers the years 1996, 1997 and 1998. About one third of the articles are full text.
EBSCOhost Full Text This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost provides indexing and abstracting for thousands of periodicals, in most cases back to 1984. It also contains full text for over a thousand periodicals, in many cases going back to 1990. Many of these periodicals are peer-reviewed journals. Different modules cover academic journals, popular magazines, Canadian magazines, high school magazines, and children's magazines. These can be searched separately or combined.
EIU - Economist Intelligence Unit Industry Briefing This link opens in a new window
Please Note: You will be prompted to read and accept the Terms & Conditions before accessing this resource.
Industry Briefing provides five-year forecasts and news analysis for six key industries, from telecommunications to consumer goods, along with relevant background information. Industry Briefing covers up to 69 economies that account for more than 95% of world output and trade. The forecasts are based on the latest data and in-depth analysis of sectoral trends.
Emerald Full Text This link opens in a new window
Emerald publishes an extensive range of management and library & information services journals.
Gartner Core IT Research This link opens in a new window Access Restrictions: Only UM faculty, staff, students and researchers with an active UMnetID and a University email address may access this service, for educational purposes only.
Please review the Gartner Usage Policy
before using the service.
for more information about Key Features and Benefits and using Gartner IT Research.
Jointly provided by University of Manitoba Libraries and Information Services & Technology (IST)
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld provides independent research on hundreds of industries in Canada and the U.S. Research reports include statistics, analysis and forecasts. Such industry reports can be used to evaluate market size, draft business plans, pitch books, forecasting and more.
Management & Organization Studies: A SAGE Full-Text Collection This link opens in a new window
The Management & Organization Studies Collection includes full text journals published by SAGE and participating societies. It covers such subjects as: Business & Management, Organizations Studies, Management, Strategic Management and Business Policy, Human Resource Management, Human Resource Development, , Marketing, Analytical Marketing, Sociology, Sociology of Work, Public Policy and Public Administration, Hospitality, Travel and Tourism Management, Labor Economics, etc.
Passport This link opens in a new window Access limited to:
UM Students, Faculty and Staff
For improved performance, clear browser history (cache, cookies) before accessing this resource.
Passport GMID is a global market information database and analysis tool containing data and reports across all industries, countries and consumers. The University of Manitoba's subscription includes:
- Articles from country and consumer analysts
- Consumer lifestyles reports
- Country and consumer statistics
- Country profiles
- Country briefings
- Dashboards (visualization enhancements that reflect the data contained in the database)
- Future demographic reports
- Passport Industrial (Canada only)
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Search interface for a variety of ProQuest databases
Plunkett Research Industry Almanacs This link opens in a new window
Plunkett Research's full list of 2013 almanacs, covering a wide range of industries.
Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1900 - present
A multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences, plus selected relevant items from many of the world's leading scientific and technical journals.
SpringerLink (E-Books and E-Journals) This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink provides access to a growing collection of scientific documents, including
journals, books, series, protocols, reference works and proceedings. University of Manitoba Libraries subscribes to select (but not all) SpringerLink content.
* By default, a search in SpringerLink includes Preview-Only content. If a yellow lock icon is next to the book, article, or chapter title, UML does not have access to the full text. You can preview the first two pages of any chapter using the Look Inside button, but you cannot download it
* Ebooks with full text available will not have the yellow lock icon and will have buttons to view online or download either the whole book or each chapter individually as a PDF
* To browse ebooks with full text available:
Connect to SpringerLink (E-Books and E-Journals)
Scroll to the bottom left and click on Books under Our Content.
Top Journals in Marketing
This is a selective list of key journals available through the UM Libraries. For additional titles, contact the subject librarian.
Canadian Census - Most recent
The Census Program provides a statistical portrait of the country every five years. The Census Program includes the Census of Population and the Census of Agriculture.
Canadian Census Analyser This link opens in a new window
The Canadian Census Analyser provides access to a variety of commonly requested Canadian Census data and documentation, produced by Statistics Canada. It includes Profile data at several levels of geography, and for several censuses, in some cases going back to 1961. It also provides access to the Census Individuals public use microdata files, and the Postal code conversion file. Users can create subsets and then output the results in a variety of formats.
CANSIM is Statistics Canada's key socioeconomic database. Updated daily, CANSIM provides fast and easy access to a large range of the latest statistics available in Canada.
CANSIM II This link opens in a new window
CANSIM stands for Canadian Socio-economic Information and Management System. It is a database of current and historic time series, produced by Statistics Canada. A CANSIM time series consists of a number of observations for a given concept or variable at regular time intervals. There are millions of time series in this database. CANSIM time series cover a broad spectrum of social and economic aspects of Canadian life, including: agriculture, construction, demography, education, and more.
Social Sciences Liaison Librarian