Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This section contains instructions and tutorials for some of the economic data sources provided in the Data & Statistics tab.
Statistics Canada Socioeconomic Data (formerly CANSIM)
ODESI is a web-based data exploration, extraction, and analysis tool. Users can search for survey questions (variables) across thousands of datasets held in a growing number of collections, then tabulate and analyze results online.
The Beyond 20/20 Professional Browser is a desktop application that enables users to view, chart, map, analyze, export, print, and save data easily. Analyze multi-dimensional data and micro-data files using the Professional Browser, then disseminate the data in your choice of many standard formats.
SPSS, Stata & Microsoft Excel Books
Using Statistics in the Social and Health Sciences with SPSS and Excel by
Provides a step-by-step approach to statistical procedures to analyze data and conduct research, with detailed sections in each chapter explaining SPSS® and Excel® applications This book identifies connections between statistical applications and research design using cases, examples, and discussion of specific topics from the social and health sciences. Researched and class-tested to ensure an accessible presentation, the book combines clear, step-by-step explanations for both the novice and professional alike to understand the fundamental statistical practices for organizing, analyzing, and drawing conclusions from research data in their field. The book begins with an introduction to descriptive and inferential statistics and then acquaints readers with important features of statistical applications (SPSS and Excel) that support statistical analysis and decision making. Subsequent chapters treat the procedures commonly employed when working with data across various fields of social science research. Individual chapters are devoted to specific statistical procedures, each ending with lab application exercises that pose research questions, examine the questions through their application in SPSS and Excel, and conclude with a brief research report that outlines key findings drawn from the results. Real-world examples and data from social and health sciences research are used throughout the book, allowing readers to reinforce their comprehension of the material. Using Statistics in the Social and Health Sciences with SPSS® and Excel® includes: Use of straightforward procedures and examples that help students focus on understanding of analysis and interpretation of findings Inclusion of a data lab section in each chapter that provides relevant, clear examples Introduction to advanced statistical procedures in chapter sections (e.g., regression diagnostics) and separate chapters (e.g., multiple linear regression) for greater relevance to real-world research needs Emphasizing applied statistical analyses, this book can serve as the primary text in undergraduate and graduate university courses within departments of sociology, psychology, urban studies, health sciences, and public health, as well as other related departments. It will also be useful to statistics practitioners through extended sections using SPSS® and Excel® for analyzing data.
Publication Date: 2016-08-29
Handbook of Univariate and Multivariate Data Analysis with IBM SPSS by
Using the same accessible, hands-on approach as its best-selling predecessor, the Handbook of Univariate and Multivariate Data Analysis with IBM SPSS, Second Edition explains how to apply statistical tests to experimental findings, identify the assumptions underlying the tests, and interpret the findings. This second edition now covers more topics and has been updated with the SPSS statistical package for Windows. New to the Second Edition Three new chapters on multiple discriminant analysis, logistic regression, and canonical correlation New section on how to deal with missing data Coverage of tests of assumptions, such as linearity, outliers, normality, homogeneity of variance-covariance matrices, and multicollinearity Discussions of the calculation of Type I error and the procedure for testing statistical significance between two correlation coefficients obtained from two samples Expanded coverage of factor analysis, path analysis (test of the mediation hypothesis), and structural equation modeling Suitable for both newcomers and seasoned researchers in the social sciences, the handbook offers a clear guide to selecting the right statistical test, executing a wide range of univariate and multivariate statistical tests via the Windows and syntax methods, and interpreting the output results. The SPSS syntax files used for executing the statistical tests can be found in the appendix. Data sets employed in the examples are available on the book's CRC Press web page.
Publication Date: 2013-10-25
Excel 2016 Bible by
The complete guide to Excel 2016, from Mr. Spreadsheet himself Whether you are just starting out or an Excel novice, the Excel 2016 Bible is your comprehensive, go-to guide for all your Excel 2016 needs. Whether you use Excel at work or at home, you will be guided through the powerful new features and capabilities by expert author and Excel Guru John Walkenbach to take full advantage of what the updated version offers. Learn to incorporate templates, implement formulas, create pivot tables, analyze data, and much more. Navigate this powerful tool for business, home management, technical work, and much more with the only resource you need, Excel 2016 Bible. Create functional spreadsheets that work Master formulas, formatting, pivot tables, and more Get acquainted with Excel 2016's new features and tools Customize downloadable templates and worksheets Whether you need a walkthrough tutorial or an easy-to-navigate desk reference, the Excel 2016 Bible has you covered with complete coverage and clear expert guidance.
Publication Date: 2015-10-26
Data Analysis with Stata by
Explore the big data field and learn how to perform data analytics and predictive modelling in STATAAbout This Book* Visualize and analyse data in STATA to devise a business strategy* Learn STATA programming and predictive modeling* Discover how you can become a data scientist with the power of STATAWho This Book Is ForThis book is for all the professionals and students who want to learn STATA programming and apply predictive modelling concepts. This book is also very helpful for experienced STATA programmers as it provides advanced statistical modelling concepts and their application.What You Will Learn* Perform important statistical tests to become a STATA data scientist* Be guided through how to program in STATA* Implement logistic and linear regression models* Visualize and program the data in STATA* Analyse survey data, time series data, and survival data* Perform database management in STATAIn DetailSTATA is an integrated software package that provides you with everything you need for data analysis, data management, and graphics. STATA also provides you with a platform to efficiently perform simulation, regression analysis (linear and multiple) [and custom programming.This book covers data management, graphs visualization, and programming in STATA. Starting with an introduction to STATA and data analytics you'll move on to STATA programming and data management. Next, the book takes you through data visualization and all the important statistical tests in STATA. Linear and logistic regression in STATA is also covered.As you progress through the book, you will explore a few analyses, including the survey analysis, time series analysis, and survival analysis in STATA. You'll also discover different types of statistical modelling techniques and learn how to implement these techniques in STATA.Style and approachThis book is a hands-onguide to STATA programming and statistical modelling providing many STATA code examples and taking. You through the working of the code in detail.
Publication Date: 2015-10-28
Applied Statistics and Multivariate Data Analysis for Business and Economics by
This textbook will familiarize students in economics and business, as well as practitioners, with the basic principles, techniques, and applications of applied statistics, statistical testing, and multivariate data analysis. Drawing on practical examples from the business world, it demonstrates the methods of univariate, bivariate, and multivariate statistical analysis. The textbook covers a range of topics, from data collection and scaling to the presentation and simple univariate analysis of quantitative data, while also providing advanced analytical procedures for assessing multivariate relationships. Accordingly, it addresses all topics typically covered in university courses on statistics and advanced applied data analysis. In addition, it does not limit itself to presenting applied methods, but also discusses the related use of Excel, SPSS, and Stata.
Publication Date: 2019-07-19