LibGuides: Economics: Data & Statistics

City of Winnipeg - Data on Crime Statistics The Winnipeg Police Service offers two interactive self-serve maps that enable you to see statistical data on crimes, as well as police activity, in your city, community and neighbourhood. These interactive self-serve maps lets you select and filter crime and safety events by various categories and locations.
Census Profile: 2011 Census of Population (Statistics Canada) The Census Profile provides 2011 Census data for various levels of geography. These geographic levels have been narrowed to include results for Winnipeg, Manitoba. Data are from the 2011 Census of Population and include characteristics for: population, age, sex, dwellings, marital status and language as examples.
more...less...
How to Cite: Statistics Canada. 2012. Winnipeg, Manitoba (Code 4611040) and Manitoba (Code 46) (table). Census Profile. 2011 Census. Statistics Canada Catalogue no. 98-316-XWE. Ottawa. Released October 24, 2012.
http://www12.statcan.gc.ca/census-recensement/2011/dp-pd/prof/index.cfm?Lang=E (accessed August 26, 2022)
Census Profile: 2016 Census of Population (Statistics Canada) The Census Profile provides 2016 Census data for various levels of geography. These results have been narrowed to the Winnipeg, Manitoba census division. Data are from the 2016 Census of Population and include characteristics for: population, age, sex, dwellings, marital status and language as examples.
more...less...
How to Cite: Statistics Canada. 2017. Winnipeg, CY [Census subdivision], Manitoba and Division No. 11, CDR [Census division], Manitoba (table). Census Profile. 2016 Census. Statistics Canada Catalogue no. 98-316-X2016001. Ottawa. Released November 29, 2017.
https://www12.statcan.gc.ca/census-recensement/2016/dp-pd/prof/index.cfm?Lang=E
Economic and Demographic Information - City of Winnipeg
Winnipeg Neighbourhood Profiles
+ More data sources on Winnipeg

Manitoba

Labour Market and Demographic Data Sources - Government of Manitoba Collection of links curated by the Government of Manitoba on Economic and Labour Market Intelligence.
Manitoba Collaborative Data Portal The local data portals provide access to a wide range of social, health and civic information for Winnipeg and Manitoba. Depending on the portal, data can be visualized and downloaded in a variety of formats so that it can be used to undertake custom analyses or build new data products.
DataMB As part of its commitment to greater transparency and accountability, the Manitoba government is sharing data sets online.
+ More data sources on Manitoba

Bank of Canada The Bank publishes a variety of periodicals for general and specialist audiences. Bank of Canada Review: A quarterly publication featuring articles related to the Canadian economy and to central banking, with summary statistical tables. Financial System Review: A detailed review of developments in the financial system and an analysis of policy directions in the financial sector. Published twice a year.
Canadian Census Analyser The Canadian Census Analyser provides access to a variety of commonly requested Canadian Census data and documentation, produced by Statistics Canada. It includes Profile data at several levels of geography, and for several censuses, in some cases going back to 1961. It also provides access to the Census Individuals public use microdata files, and the Postal code conversion file. Users can create subsets and then output the results in a variety of formats.
Canadian Financial Markets Research Centre (CFMRC) The Canadian Financial Markets Research Centre (CFMRC) Summary Information Database includes: daily and monthly Toronto Stock Exchange trading information about specific securities; information on price adjustments such as dividends, stock splits, recapitalizations, etc.; information on daily and monthly index levels; as well as selected other financial markets information. The database is divided into two parts: common equities and preferred equities.
CANSIM Multidimensional @ CHASS CANSIM (Canadian Socio-Economic Information Management System), provided by the University of Toronto's Computing in the Humanities and Social Sciences Facility (CHASS), is Statistics Canada's computerized database of time series covering a wide variety of social and economic aspects of Canadian life.
Conference Board of Canada e-Library Conference Board of Canada e-Library contains research documents produced by the Conference Board of Canada and Conference Board Inc. (New York). These documents include research reports that provide insights into key areas of economic trends, organizational performance and public policy. To access: You may see an option to access this document without creating an account or create a new account. Please choose the "without creating an account" option to access the item.
Data (formerly CANSIM) CANSIM, now Data, is Statistics Canada's key socioeconomic database. Updated daily, CANSIM provides fast and easy access to a large range of the latest statistics available in Canada.
more...less...
In June 2018 Statistics Canada revised its web site, replacing CANSIM tables with Data tables. You can find a former CANSIM table by using the "Filter results by keyword(s)" option to type the number of the corresponding data table (e.g. 107-0001 and not CANSIM 107-0001). Redirects have also been implemented from former content to the equivalent new content.

Hill Times Publishing This link opens in a new window The Hill Times is an independently owned newsweekly based in Ottawa that covers the Canadian federal government and politics. The publication offers relevant news items and public policy briefings, lists, surveys, feature stories, profiles, opinion columns and analysis. The Embassy focuses on Canadian foreign policy issues.
Trade Analyser This link opens in a new window Trade Analyser provides access to time-series data on imports and exports in the Canadian International Merchandise Trade (CIMT) and World trade databases produced by Statistics Canada, International Trade Division. CIMT coverage is from 1988 - present. World trade coverage is from 1980 - 2005.
TSX eReview This link opens in a new window Coverage: 2016 - present TSX eReview provides coverage of market, trading and corporate events for Toronto Stock Exchange listed companies: (1) Market highlights and statistics; (2) Securities highlights; (3) Stock list changes; (4) Corporate actions; (5) Terms and conditions; (6) Trading information; (7) Index information.
TSX Venture Exchange eReview This link opens in a new window Coverage: 2016 - present TSX Venture eReview is a monthly digest of trading activity and corporate information for companies listed on the TSX Venture Exchange (including NEX). Each issue covers market and corporate data, including: (1) Trading data; (2) Market movers; (3) Listings changes; (4) Financings; (5) Index information.

+ Statistics Canada
Find specific Stats Canada resources in the table below.

Foreign Relations of the United States Coverage : 1861-1988 This series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. Produced by the State Department's Office of the Historian, it begins with Abraham Lincoln's administration in 1861 and concludes with Ronald Regan in 1988. Also included are related books and Code of Federal Regulations title 22 (Foreign Relations) in its entirety.

National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) This link opens in a new window Contains the full-text of working papers from the National Bureau of Economic Research. The NBER covers four areas of empirical research: developing new statistical measurements, estimating quantitative models of economic behavior, assessing the effects of public policies on the U.S. economy, and projecting the effects of alternative policy proposals. Many of its publications, including its working papers, NBER reporter, and NBER digest, are available for download.

US National Bureau of Economic Research Public Use Archives The NBER data collection is a mix of public use economic, demographic, and enterprise data obtained over the years to satisfy the specific requests of NBER affiliated researchers for particular projects. Files here are often in more convenient formats than at the original data source and may remain here while no longer available from that source. However, files that receive periodic updates at the source may not be updated here.

Asia

China Data Online China Data Online provides comprehensive and updates information on China's economic development at national, provincial, city, county and industrial levels and includes the following databases: Monthly StatisticsNational StatisticsProvincial StatisticsCity StatisticsCounty StatisticsMonthly Industrial DataYearly Industrial DataStatistics on MapProvincial YearbookCity Yearbook
more...less...
Helpful Tutorials:
- University of Washington: China Data Online User Guide
- An Introduction to China Data Online and China Data Lab

Africa

Africa Development Indicators ADI Online provides a comprehensive collection of data on Africa available. It provides all those interested in Africa with a focused and convenient set of data monitoring development programs and aid flows in the region.

Europe

Eurostat Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union. They produce European statistics in partnership with National Statistical Institutes and other national authorities in the EU Member States.

Global

EIU - Economist Intelligence Unit Industry Briefing Industry Briefing provides five-year forecasts and news analysis for six key industries, from telecommunications to consumer goods, along with relevant background information. Industry Briefing covers up to 69 economies that account for more than 95% of world output and trade. The forecasts are based on the latest data and in-depth analysis of sectoral trends.
World Bank Open Data
OECD "The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD; French: Organisation de Coopération et de Développement Économiques, OCDE) is an intergovernmental economic organisation with 37 member countries, founded in 1961 to stimulate economic progress and world trade. It is a forum of countries describing themselves as committed to democracy and the market economy, providing a platform to compare policy experiences, seek answers to common problems, identify good practices and coordinate domestic and international policies of its members. Generally, OECD members are high-income economies with a very high Human Development Index (HDI) and are regarded as developed countries." (Source)

OECD Health Data This link opens in a new window OECD Health Data is a comprehensive source of comparable statistics on health and health systems across OECD countries, allowing users to build tables, extract and download large volumes of data, and view detailed metadata on methodology and sources.

One World in Data

IMF eLibrary Data This link opens in a new window Time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators
International Financial Statistics This link opens in a new window International Financial Statistics is produced by the International Monetary Fund. It includes country tables, world tables, commodity prices and an "economic concept view." Topics covered include: exchange rates, government finance, interest rates, international transactions, money & banking, national accounts, prices and production. Data can be viewed or exported into a variety of formats.
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) This link opens in a new window Please Note: Users must create their own MyData account in order to access this database. The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is an international consortium of academic institutions and research organizations. Their data archive contains hundreds of thousands of files of research in the social and behavioral sciences, including specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
International Debt Statistics This link opens in a new window Produced by the World Bank, IDS focuses on financial flows, trends in external debt, and other major financial indicators for developing and advanced economies. Includes time series indicators from 1970 - 2016 and pipeline data for scheduled debt service payments on existing commitments to 2024.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window Simultaneous user limit: 5 Mergent Online provides data for U.S. and international public companies, both active and inactive. Features allow you to compare companies and export data. Financial statements are presented in "as-reported" form and in native currencies. Company coverage includes: history; mergers, acquisitions, disposals; joint ventures; business; property; subsidiaries; officers and directors; news reports; long-term debt; bond ratings; capital stock and more. Components include:USA Company DatabaseInternational Company Database
Global Economic Monitor This link opens in a new window Global Economic Monitor is a portal for analysis of current economic trends and for economic and financial indicators. It provides daily updates of global economic developments, with coverage of high income- as well as developing countries. Exchange rates, equity markets, emerging market bond indices, consumer prices, high-tech market indicators, industrial production and merchandise trade are updated daily.
UNdata This link opens in a new window A portal to major United Nations databases and those of several international organizations. Includes statistics compiled by the United Nations statistical system and other international agencies, as well as estimates and projections. Databases cover Agriculture, Education, Employment, Energy, Industry, etc. Replaces UNstats.
WDI Online (World Development Indicators) This link opens in a new window World Development Indicators (WDI) is the primary World Bank collection of development indicators compiled from officially recognized international sources. It presents current and accurate global development data and includes national, regional and global estimates. Data can be viewed or exported in a variety of formats.

Economic Indicators

Key indicators for Canada can be viewed on this Statistics Canada Daily page.

Below are some links to indicators by geographic region:

Manitoba (Census Canada)
Canada
U.S.A. (Census Bureau)
European Commission

For background information on economic indicators, including definitions, click here.

General Data Sources

You can use some general databases to identify relevant datasets or statistical information.

Palgrave Dictionary of Economics This link opens in a new window The online edition of The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics contains the full text of the eight-volume print edition. Updated quarterly.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window Search interface for a variety of ProQuest databases
SAGE Research Methods Datasets This link opens in a new window Coverage: 2015 - present SAGE Research Methods Datasets is a collection of practice datasets to assist in learning qualitative and quantitative data analysis. The datasets use data from real research in a variety of social science disciplines, with data in various forms: numeric, surveys, time-series, interview transcripts, and others. The University of Manitoba Libraries has access to Dataset 1.
SAGE Research Methods Online This link opens in a new window Sage Research Methods Online provides access to books, reference works, and journal articles by academics from across the social sciences, including a large collection of qualitative methods books. Intended to help researchers design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct research, and write up their findings.

Statistics Canada

Website: Statistics Canada

Statistics Canada offers a variety of useful economics-related resources and datasets, some of which are archived. From the Statistics Canada homepage you can browse by topic and explore news items and indicators for the Canadian economy. Some helpful links and pages are highlighted in the table below:

Labour Force Data Products
Labour Force Historical Review, 2001
more...less...
This is a link to the Labour Force Survey (LFS), a household survey carried out monthly by Statistics Canada. This dataset is designed to provide the user with historical information from the Labour Force Survey.

Statistics Canada, 2016, "Labour Force Historical Review, 2001 [Canada] [B2020]", https://hdl.handle.net/10864/11200, Borealis, V1
Income Trends in Canada
more...less...
This product contains 43 cross-classified income tables, covering the period 1976 to 2007. Most tables include estimates for Canada, the 10 provinces and 15 census metropolitan areas (CMAs). Major topics included in the tables are income distributions and inequality, earnings of men and women, income tax, government transfers, low income and sources of income.
Income Trends in Canada, 1976-2006
more...less...
Income Trends in Canada, is an extensive collection of income statistics, covering topics such as income distributions, income tax, government transfers, and low income. The data are drawn from two household surveys: the Survey of Consumer Finances(SCF) and the Survey of Labour and Income Dynamics (SLID).

2006 Census of Population The census is designed to provide information about people and housing units in Canada by their demographic, social and economic characteristics. Canada's 2006 Census held on May 16th counted 31,612,897 Canadians.
2016 Census: Commuting within Canada’s Largest Cities Using data from the 1996 and 2016 Census of Population, this study examines the geographic location of jobs, people’s commute and how they have changed over time. The commuting patterns for Canada’s eight largest census metropolitan areas (CMAs)—Toronto, Montréal, Vancouver, Calgary, Ottawa–Gatineau, Edmonton, Québec and Winnipeg—are compared.
Canadian Census Analyser Provides access to Canadian Census data, including census profile tables and microdata files. Subscription via the University of Toronto, provides access to census data covering 1961 to 2016.
Statistics Canada: Census Publications Provides access to 2,725 digitized Census publications, via the Internet Archive. Covers 1851-1996. Click on All items to browse from more recent to older, or browse by subject, or search.
1996 Census Publications Lengthy list of digitized copies of the 1996 Census publications.
1991 Census Publications
1986 Census Publications
Census of Canada 1665-1871 Historical census tables
Library and Archives Canada, Census of Canada Nominal Rolls Library and Archives Canada holds an extensive collection of Canadian census records from 1640 to 1926. The actual Census returns are widely used for ancestry research.
Statistics Canada, History of the Census I Textual history of the Census from before Confederation up to 2001.
Statistics Canada, History of the Census II Textual history of the Census from pre-confederation to 2006.

Canadian Social Trends
A semi-annual journal from Stats Canada that publishes analytical articles regarding the current social, economic, and demographic changes in Canada. The journal is indexed in CBCA Complete (ProQuest).
Perspectives on Labour and Income
A monthly publication from Stats Canada that includes analyses of a wide range of labour and income data. Each winter print issue contains an index of all published articles. indexes the journal from 1998 issues. Indexed in CBCA Complete (ProQuest).
2016 Census Program release schedule

Related LibGuides: Data and Statistics

The Data and Statistics guide can help you find data and statistics produced by Canadian governments and agencies, as well as some international databases. Use this guide to help you find and access various datasets.

Data and Statistics Guide

Economics: Data & Statistics

Table
of Contents

Regional & Country Specific Data Sources

Economic Indicators

General Data Sources

Statistics Canada

Related LibGuides: Data and Statistics

Economics: Data & Statistics

Table of Contents

Regional & Country Specific Data Sources

Economic Indicators

General Data Sources

Statistics Canada

Related LibGuides: Data and Statistics

Table
of Contents