The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More
Below are books you can use to help identify personal culture and patterns of difference and commonality with other cultures in order to shift perspectives and behaviours in authentic and culturally-appropriate ways.
Developing Intercultural Competence in Practice by
It is now widely recognised that learning a language should not just involve linguistic competence but also intercultural competence. It is also clear that intercultural competence can be developed through related subjects such as geography, history, mother tongue teaching. This book takes this as a given and provides practical help for teachers who wish to help their learners acquire intercultural competence in the ordinary classroom. It contains descriptions of lessons and materials from a wide range of classrooms in several countries and for beginners to advanced learners.
Intercultural Competence by
This book explores the idea of 'intercultural competence', which, despite its current popularity across various discourses, has remained a vague and oscillating concept. Interculture lacks a universal definition and 'competence' is not only a cognitive construct but also includes psychological traits such as attitudes, affective aspects and constructions of identity. The essays in this volume approach the complexity of the concept from a number of different angles. These include theoretical models for defining the concept of 'intercultural competence', outlining paths for future research; application of the concept in the teaching and learning of foreign languages, cultures and literatures; exploration of institutional and sociocultural influences on mediating intercultural competence; and analysis of the concept's impact on such diverse contexts as international business, religious constructs and notions of selfhood and identity. The volume develops a broad range of perspectives on intercultural competence, providing stimulating new ideas, reflections and models around this important concept.
Intercultural Competence by
Striking a unique balance between skills and theory, Intercultural Competence provides readers with the background and confidence to succeed in today's multicultural environment. Blending both the practical and theoretical, the concrete and abstract, this book is both enjoyable to read and thoroughly researched. By clearly explaining different theories and the significance of cultural patterns and having readers practice what they learn via examples in the book, Intercultural Competence better prepares readers to interact in intercultural relationships. The book also provides a discussion of important ethical and social issues relating to intercultural communication. The authors cover U.S. cultures as well as global cultural issues.
Intercultural Competence for All by
1. Towards a framework for intercultural education. The dimensions of intercultural education / Gerhard Neuner ; Towards indicators for intercultural understanding / Katazyna Karwacka-Vögele -- 2. Exchanges, partnerships and recognition. Intercultural education and pupil exchanges / Roberto Ruffino ; Intercultural education and school partnerships / Rüdiger Teutsch ; Intercultural education and the recognition of achievement / Francesca Brotto.
"Education which helps citizens live together in our diverse societies is a matter of urgency. We all need to develop the ability to understand each other across all types of cultural barriers; this is a fundamental prerequisite for making our diverse democratic societies work. This publication looks at the development of intercultural competence as a key element of mainstream education. It stresses the need firstly for an appropriate education policy which puts intercultural competence at the heart of all education and, above all, for the development, on an everyday basis, of the necessary attributes, skills and knowledge needed for mutual understanding. Without these, no sustainable societal change is possible"--Publisher's description, back cover.
Intercultural Competence in Higher Education by
Intercultural Competence in Higher Education features the work of scholars and international education practitioners in understanding the learning outcomes of internationalization, moving beyond rhetoric to concrete practice around the world. Devoted exclusively to exploring the central learning outcomes of internationalization efforts, this edited volume contains a refreshing combination of chapters and case studies from interdisciplinary and cross-cultural contributors, including: cutting-edge issues within intercultural competence development, such as intersectionality, mapping intercultural competence, and assessment; the role of higher education in developing intercultural competence for peacebuilding in the aftermath of violent conflict; facilitating intercultural competence through international student internships; interdisciplinary and cross-cultural contributions from over 19 countries including Japan, Russia, Serbia, South Africa, and Vietnam; the latest research and thinking on global, intercultural, and international learning outcomes, with a unique emphasis on newer voices.　 Intercultural competence has become an essential element in international as well as domestic education. This text provides the latest thinking and research within the context of internationalization, presents practical case studies on how to integrate this into the preparation of global-ready students and will be of interest to postgraduate students, international education administrators, and practitioners, as well as scholars and researchers in a variety of disciplines who have an interest in intercultural and global competence.
Intercultural Horizons 2011 by
This volume features a collection of papers from the first annual Intercultural Horizons conference held in May 2011 in Siena, Italy. The 2011 conference was entitled Best Practices in Intercultural Competence Development and featured speakers and participants from over 15 countries, including leaders in the field such as Janet Bennett of the Intercultural Communication Institute, Alvino Fantini of the School for International Training, Andrew Furco of the University of Minnesota, and Carol Ma of the Center for Service-Learning at Lingnan University, Hong Kong. The authors of these papers provide perspectives on intercultural communication and related issues from viewpoints as varied as the traditional researcher, the teacher in fields as diverse as second-language acquisition, music and the culinary arts, and the administrator of a specific program or at the senior level of a college or university. Together they form a representative sample of the themes discussed during the 2011 conference. The editors consider this first meeting to be the dawn, so to speak, of Intercultural Horizons, which aspires to become a respected venue for scholars and practitioners to exchange ideas, techniques and pedagogies on intercultural communication in years to come.
Communication and the Globalization of Culture by
Shaheed Nick Mohammed's Communication and the Globalization of Culture: Beyond Tradition and Borders provides a unique perspective on the concept of culture and its fate in the globalized, mediated environment. Acknowledging widespread fears of cultural erosion at the hands of dominant global forces, Mohammed argues that what we understand as culture has always been the product of global forces, including those of trade and exchange. Our very conceptions of culture are questioned. The sanctity of tradition, religion, and heritage, the book suggests, should give way to an appreciation of the quite mundane origins of cultural artifacts, invented often as matters of political or social expedience, adopted sometimes in accidents of history and canonized by time into the catechisms of cultural belief. Communication and the Globalization of Culture also suggests several mechanisms by which pragmatic social practices and fictional discourses make their way into the cultural beliefs and traditions of societies. Shaheed Nick Mohammed examines how the modern globalized environment gives rise to cultural practices that demonstrate cultural inventions, imagined communities, and manufactured cultural products, suggesting that such inventions and imaginations are not uniquely modern but rather a continuation of cultural inventions that long pre-date our media-globalized environment.
Intercultural Communications by
Intercultural communications encompasses social or human sciences (including political science, psychology, sociology, discourse analysis, linguistics, literary and cultural studies, education, etc.) which deal with discourse within and across different cultures. This significant book presents important analyses from around the globe.
Intercultural Competence in Organizations by
Preface -- Part I: Intercultural Competence: Key Concepts -- Chapter 1 Describing Intercultural Competence -- Chapter 2 Theoretical Foundations of Intercultural Competence -- Chapter 3 Intercultural Competence Models -- Part II: Intercultural Competence in Organizations -- Chapter 4 Intercultural Competence in Multicultural Teams -- Part III: Practicing Intercultural Competence -- Chapter 5 Intercultural Competence Assessment -- Chapter 6 Acquiring Intercultural Competence -- Afterword. .
This book addresses one of the most critical issues facing global business leaders and the multicultural workforce – how to work and relate effectively in the intercultural contexts. It is a map for navigation and a guide for behavior in many critical intercultural contexts that global business leaders and multicultural team players face. The author describes the complex nature of intercultural competence in a straightforward format helping professionals, practitioners and students to envision a variety of intercultural situations in which they may behave competently. What makes an “interculturally competent” communicator? Do we even know what the term really means? Intercultural Competence in Organizations expands the traditional presentation of existing knowledge by providing a unified discussion of intercultural communication and its conceptual foundations from both communication and organizational behavior perspectives. The author unveils the Collaborative Intercultural Competence Model that helps professionals work more effectively across and within cultures. Featuring examples and skill development exercises, this book will be appealing to professionals, academics and policy makers in the field of international business, global management and intercultural communication. “Dr. Matveev challenges his readers to develop their intercultural competence so as to make themselves more effective, more humane and more socially skilled in a world that increasingly involves extensive contact across various groups of people.” --from the Foreword by Richard W. Brislin, University of Hawaii “Dr. Matveev creates an awareness of intercultural competence by exposing the reader to the theoretical concepts and practical tools. Business people and academics will use this book to recognize and leverage the benefits of cultural diversity.” --Berthold Mukuahima, Director of Human Capital, Ohlthaver & List Group, Namibia.
Intercultural Horizons by
This volume features a collection of papers from the first annual Intercultural Horizons conference held in May 2011 in Siena, Italy. The 2011 conference was entitled Best Practices in Intercultural Competence Development and featured speakers and participants from over 15 countries, including leaders in the field such as Janet Bennett of the Intercultural Communication Institute, Alvino Fantini of the School for International Training, Andrew Furco of the University of Minnesota, and Carol...
Optimization of Leadership Style by
Reinhold Kohler shows and explains ten selected and powerful leadership enablers to motivate, develop, and manage international teams, clustered in roles, skills and abilities (ROSKAB). The ROSKAB leadership model demonstrates in a simplified direct and indirect method how to perform this task.
Professional Communication Across Languages and Cultures by
Professional Communication across Languages and Cultures aims at developing an integrative linguistic perspective on talk at work. Professional communication allows multi- and interdisciplinary explorations on how workplace relationships and mechanisms are influenced by the use of certain linguistic patterns. The book approaches the topic of professional communication from multiple levels, providing critical, valuable insights into the dynamics of creating and maintaining professional relationships at work. After outlining the theoretical and analytical frameworks, the eleven chapters uncover and develop integrative themes that emerge within the three parts of the book: Dialogue and identity in professional settings, Functions and strategies in professional communication and Specific issues in professional communication. Scholars and students who are interested in research based on authentic data and case studies of efficient communication at work, as well as those teaching courses on interpersonal communication, discourse analysis, pragmatics and sociolinguistics will find useful insights in this volume.
Working in a Multicultural World by
Measureable, data driven outcomes are not the only indicators of success in today's multicultural and globalized workforce. How employees interact with their colleagues and customers is also a significant factor in their career development. Luciara Nardon draws on her extensive research and international experience to guide employees and managers through the ambiguous and uncertain waters of today's multicultural workplace. Each intercultural encounter is unique, involving different people, contexts, dynamics, and actions which general cultural protocols are unable to address. In Working in a Multicultural World, Nardon offers a comprehensive framework for understanding intercultural interactions and developing skills for successful intercultural situations. Numerous examples and exercises, including how to reconcile personal beliefs of equality with a hierarchical workplace and how to respond to perceived aggressiveness in business negotiations, enable employees and managers to embark on reflective processes that will springboard their intercultural competence. Working in a Multicultural World is an accessibly written and valuable resource for all professionals in today's workplace as well as students and travelers interested in intercultural relations.
