The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More
Below are books you can use to develop your ability to ask and answer questions, summarize, provide clear explanations and directions, negotiate, mediate, and resolve issues.
Brilliant Presentation by
Packed full of anecdotes from the most accomplished presenters around, this book contains all the tools, tips and encouragement you need to make a sensational presentation. It covers every aspect of presenting, from preparation and planning right through to dealing with nerves and mastering the art of presentation performance. Brilliant outcomes: - Learn the top ten tips of presentation mastery - Discover how to make presentations powerful, colourful and memorable - Always feel confident and inspired to give it your very best shot - Deliver an inspiring presentation, even with no visual aids.
Getting to Yes by
The key text on problem-solving negotiation-updated and revised Getting to Yes has helped millions of people learn a better way to negotiate. One of the primary business texts of the modern era, it is based on the work of the Harvard Negotiation Project, a group that deals with all levels of negotiation and conflict resolution. Getting to Yes offers a proven, step-by-step strategy for coming to mutually acceptable agreements in every sort of conflict. Thoroughly updated and revised, it offers readers a straight- forward, universally applicable method for negotiating personal and professional disputes without getting angry-or getting taken.
How to Prepare, Stage, and Deliver Winning Presentations by
A guide to presenting before a group of people which aims to provide both professional visibility and success. The text looks at how to make preparing for presentations less tedious, less expensive and more satisfying and how to target the presentation to different audiences.
Presentation Skills for Scientists by
Scientists are rarely given formal training in presentation skills and yet are often called upon to present the results of their research. This book provides a practical guide to the creation and delivery of scientific presentations, whatever the topic. Its practical 'how-to' style leaves discussion of the background psychology of public speaking to others and focuses instead on the issues that are of immediate concern to the busy scientist. The text covers all of the important aspects of scientific presentations, ranging from audience awareness to handling questions. Links are included throughout the text to the accompanying DVD, which contains annotated video clips of speakers delivering a talk and demonstrates the common problems found with many presenters, as well as the exercises designed to overcome them. Image files of different slide layouts, colour schemes and font styles demonstrate the design issues that one must consider when creating visual material.
Smart Talk by
Have you ever lost out on a promotion? Struggled with a difficult conversation? Been put on the spot and blanked? Imagine if......you were better at persuading others and negotiating for what you want...you were more fluent at introducing yourself, making conversation, and following up...you were better at delivering feedback, receiving criticism, and using positive language...you were perceived as more diplomatic and charismatic.Smart Talk applies up-to-date communication research to everyday situations and gives smart, practical, step-by-step directions to achieve results. Smart Talk is no ordinary book - it's the Swiss Army Knife of communication - a comprehensive set of tools to build strong relationships and avoid communication breakdowns.With proven strategies and practical action plans, Smart Talk will help you resolve conflicts, strengthen your natural charisma, and master the art of persuasion. Never again will you dread a holiday party or be rendered speechless at a business meeting. Backed by solid research and written in an engaging narrative style with a warm sense of humor, communication expert Lisa B. Marshall translates her wealth of experience into practical, fresh advice to help you navigate any complex situation, and achieve professional success.
Tough Questions -- Good Answers by
What would you give to stand up at a press conference or go into any executive presentation, sales call, employee review, or media interview with confidence, knowing that whatever type of question is thrown at you, you'll be able to handle it? Now you can. Through Tough Questions-Good Answers you'll learn why there is no need to fear tough questions when you know how to identify them and craft your answer to reflect the message you want to deliver. To do that, this easy-to-read guide will show you how to create good messages first, and then deliver them effectively. Top media consultant Tom Calcagni presents his unshakeable What-Why-How technique proven time and again to be extremely effective for high-stakes public presentations. When you are faced with tough questions from determined board members, reporters, or members of the public--and in your every day communication with friends, family, and business associates--you'll learn how to control the interview, think before you speak, and deliver your message every time. You will develop the confidence and skills to craft results-driven answers to any type of question and be confident that the important ideas YOU want to express are heard--a system that can make the difference between success or failure for you and your company.
Advanced Negotiation Techniques by
Advanced Negotiation Techniques provides a wealth of material in a winning combination of practical experience and good research to give you a series of tools, techniques, and real-life examples to help you achieve your negotiation objectives. For 25 years and across 40 countries, the Resource Development Centre (RDC), run by negotiation experts Alan McCarthy and Steve Hay, has helped thousands of people to conduct successful negotiations of every type. Many RDC clients have been business professionals who have learned how to sell more successfully. Others have improved their buying skills. A few clients have applied the RDC techniques outside the business environment altogether--for instance, in such areas as international diplomatic services, including hostage and kidnap situations. As you'll discover, the RDC philosophy is centered on business ethics and a principled approach to negotiation that maximizes the value of the outcomes for both parties. It can even create additional value that neither party could find in isolation. In this book, you will learn: The ten golden rules for successful negotiations How to handle conflicts with your negotiating partners What hostage and kidnapping negotiations can teach managers negotiating in business settings How to ensure both sides perceive any agreement as a "win" Achieve higher-profit deals in difficult circumstances In the business world, negotiating with other companies, government officials, and even your colleagues is a fact of life. Advanced Negotiation Techniques takes you through a system for planning and conducting negotiations that will enable you and your team to achieve your negotiation objectives. This is an internationally tried and tested process, with many current Blue Chip organizations applying it daily for a simple reason: the techniques are easy to implement and they work. That makes this book essential reading for those who want to achieve their goals in any area of life.
Communicate to Win by
Richard Denny is famous for his powers of communication, whether he's training hundreds of salespeople, getting his message across in his best-selling books or delivering charismatic speeches.Communicate to Win is full of sound, practical advice on every aspect of business and personal communication, such as how to: help people to like you, understand what motivates people, use the telephone effectively; excel at one-to-one conversation, develop your emotional intelligence, master a good writing style and give a great public presentation.Whatever your professional or personal goals in life, Communicate to Win will help you to get your message across or make a first-rate presentation - and the better you can communicate, the more you will achieve.
The Complete Presentation Skills Handbook by
Presentations are required in a hugely diverse range of situations, and the ability to get your message across clearly, succinctly and without boring your audience, is vital. Most of us find speaking in public a daunting task, but The Complete Presentation Skills Handbook will ensure you are prepared for and confident about giving presentations.Covering all the questions you need to ask yourself, and giving you a checklist that enables you to tailor presentations to your particular circumstances, this book is an authoritative and straightforward guide to giving the right presentation to your audience. Making sure your presentation fits your audience means you can render your presentations short and effective, saving you and your audience both time and money.
Develop Your Presentation Skills by
An excellent presentation has never been more important. At work we are constantly aware of the need to keep customers on board, persuade staff or influence peers.Develop Your Presentation Skills takes a step-at-a-time approach to developing a belting presentation, from unpicking the original brief, understanding just what an audience wants and constructing compelling content that will keep them rapt with attention. With anecdotes and expert input, Develop Your Presentation Skills covers all the essentials necessary to make a good presentation, including advice on how to build confidence; increase personal competence; use body language; maximise effectiveness of room layout; use technology and implement disaster recovery methods.Together with key learning points, case studies and top tips, Develop Your Presentation Skills is essential reading for anyone who wants to exude confidence and nail that presentation.
How to Prepare, Stage, and Deliver Winning Presentations by
"Business growth is becoming increasingly dependent on partnerships, joint ventures, and other strategic alliances. Consequently, the ability of professionals to articulate their ideas well to others has become increasingly essential. How to Prepare, Stage, and Deliver Winning Presentations, now in a thoroughly updated edition, gives readers a proven and practical approach to increase their knowledge, capabilities, confidence, and success. The book provides proven, practical advice on communicating essential information when it matters most. Readers will learn how to: * Make their case using persuasive supporting materials that illuminate and inspire * Win over audiences with sound strategy, organization, and persuasive evidence * Use visual aids using current technologies such as computer graphics, LCD projectors, and Web-interactive methods * Create a positive impression through voice, language, and nonverbal impressions This is an essential book for all professionals seeking to influence decision makers, win contracts, and enhance their careers."
Lend Me Your Ears: All You Need to Know about Making Speeches and Presentations by
The room darkens and grows hushed, all eyes to the front as the screen comes to life. Eagerly the audience starts to thumb the pages of their handouts, following along breathlessly as the slides go by one after the other... We're not sure what the expected outcome was when PowerPoint first emerged as the industry standard model of presentation, but reality has shown few positive results. Research reveals that there is much about this format that audiences positively dislike, and that the old school rules of classical rhetoric are still as effective as they ever were for maximizing impact. Renowned communications researcher, consultant, and speech coach Max Atkinson presents these findings and more in a groundbreaking and refreshing approach that highlights the secrets of successful communication, and shows how anyone can put these into practice and become an effective speaker or presenter. Topics Include: . How to win and hold the attention of audiences; . Using visual aids and PowerPoint more effectively; . Getting your message across and winning applause; . Inspiring audiences; . How to prepare quickly; . Fact and fiction about body language and non-verbal communication."
Loud and Clear by
"Whether you're training a junior account executive in presentation skills or media training a CEO in the middle of a PR crisis, Karen Berg delivers, helping find a winning bottom line message no matter the need." --John Frazier, executive vice president, Quinn & Co. Loud & Clear is essential for everyone who needs to know how to get what he or she wants from anyone. Whether you need to get a message through to an employer, team, committee, your staff, your neighbor, teacher, student, or spouse, this book will show you how to get their attention by: -- Using your head. Before you even think about opening your mouth, you need to think long and hard about the person you want to influence and how to say what you want. -- Connecting with your listener(s). Berg will show you how to establish chemistry and intimacy with your listeners--from an individual to a stadium-sized audience--to make them want to listen to you. -- Keeping their interest. Why "soft" communication, such as story-telling and picture-painting, are important devices and how to use them effectively. Plus, how to avoid the dreaded "drone factor." -- Saying it right. Speech and body language techniques make a lasting impression. -- Anticipating and overcoming the negatives. How to recognize disaster before it strikes, and handle it when it does. Each chapter also features a topic-specific "plan of attack," plus plenty of client stories, checklists, worksheets, and quizzes. For an employee trying to get a raise, a committee leader who needs to motivate a team, a traveler trying to book a better flight, or a student trying to clinch a better grade, Berg's proven methods will help you say what you mean to get what you want.
Messages by
Many people assume that good communicators possess an intrinsic talent for speaking and listening to others, a gift that can't be learned or improved. The reality is that communication skills are developed with deliberate effort and practice, and learning to understand others and communicate your ideas more clearly will improve every facet of your life. Messages has already helped thousands of people build communication skills and cultivate better relationships with friends, family members, coworkers, and partners. With this fully revised and updated fourth edition, you'll discover new skills to help you communicate your ideas more effectively and become a better listener. Learn how to: Read body language Develop skills for couples communication Negotiate and resolve conflicts Communicate with family members Handle group interactions Talk to children Master public speaking Prepare for job interviews This new edition features a much-needed chapter on digital communication. Effective communication can easily be compromised when you're not able to read your conversation partner's body language, facial expression, or vocal tone. This chapter teaches you how to express yourself well via phone, email, texting, and video--all the skills you need to thrive in the digital age.
Negotiation Basics by
It is a very practical book aiming to describe various ways of negotiating. . . . The author′s use of a conversational style makes for easy reading. . . . A useful and light book which serves as an introduction to the area. --Counselling at Work "Although the book′s format makes it of particular interest to teachers thinking about a possible text to assign for a semester-length general course in negotiation, the average reader may also enjoy this blend of theoretical and practical perspectives." --Negotiation Journal How does negotiation work? What are the options and procedures for a thorough negotiation? What problems and deficiencies does one encounter in negotiation? How can skill-building be integrated for a successful negotiation? To answer these and other questions, Negotiation Basics presents both theoretical and practical perspectives that enable readers to develop the skills necessary for individual and group negotiating situations. Utilizing a unique theory-into-practice technique, each chapter introduces and discusses an essential negotiating concept--concepts that connect to a related skill, and integrates exercises throughout the chapters. Thus, each chapter provides readers with the opportunity to practice the newly acquired skills. Topics examined include steps necessary for goal building, role of information in negotiations, hidden and incidental "costs," popular strategies, role of the agent, and reasons why negotiations fail. This unique and illuminating volume is a welcome addition for business and management courses, service organizations, labor studies programs, education and communication departments, and conflict resolution programs.
Presentation Secrets by
Plan, create, and deliver amazing presentations! Alexei Kapterev's online presentation on presentations has seen more than one million views, all with no advertising or promotion. Building on this hit, he now brings us Presentation Secrets outlining his successful tactics for planning, producing, and presenting memorable and unique presentations. The author shares his insight, wisdom, and advice with impressive clarity and detail, covering the three main components required to a presentation: storyline design, slide design, and delivery. Presentation Secrets lets you get to work immediately, fully prepared, armed with confidence, and ready to inspire. Teaches everything that goes into a successful and memorable presentation Helps create a storyline, from planning the beginning, middle, and end, to establishing key points, to making a presentation scalable Discusses how to design a slide template that meets your goals, ensure consistency, and find focal points Dissects the delivery of a presentation, including how to create "a character", integrate mistakes, listening to yourself, talking to the audience, and avoiding monotony Includes non-presentation metaphor to drive home your understanding of storytelling, improvisation, and delivery Also featuring real-world examples of presentations from the worlds of business, science, and politics, such as Steve Jobs, Hans Rosling, and Al Gore, this unique book delivers tried and tested secrets and inside tips for making a sensational presentation!
Sell Your Research by
Public speaking is an essential component in the life of a scientist, whatever your level of career. For scientists these days, the work is not done until it is communicated. Sell Your Research is a goldmine of useful advice; whether you are brimming with confidence or just setting out, this gem of a guidebook will improve every presentation and nurture every budding science communicator. This book provides a welcoming, clear, step-by-step guide to improving your presentations at every level. Reading it and following its advice will make your science talks less frightening and more enjoyable.