The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More
Below are books you can use to help produce notes, letters, and reports concisely and with correct grammar, punctuation, and spelling for a variety of audiences.
Effective Writing Skills for Public Relations by
'John Foster's book is a 'How To' guide that gives a solid grounding in the writing requirements of the PR business. It covers a lot of ground in a complex but rewarding subject.'Writing MagazineEffective Writing Skills for Public Relations is a valuable reference source on the basis of style and presentation with helpful hints on making the best use of written communication. It advises on how to write concisely using jargon-free language whilst avoiding overused words and phrases. There is guidance on policing house style with emphasis on consistency and advice on punctuation, headlines and captions. As well as this there are tips on what makes a good press release and how to use effective design and layout to produce easy to read text. Readers will also find help on public speaking, pronunciation and the standard writing skills needed in the office.This third edition includes five new chapters covering editing skills, the importance of written tone of voice, what makes a good annual report, the legal issues facing writers and the use of Americanisms. Standard proof correction marks are included together with a glossary of terms.This is an essential hands-on practical guide for anyone earning a living through the written or spoken word.
HBR Guide to Better Business Writing (HBR Guide Series) by
DON'T LET YOUR WRITING HOLD YOU BACK. When you're fumbling for words and pressed for time, you might be tempted to dismiss good business writing as a luxury. But it's a skill you must cultivate to succeed: You'll lose time, money, and influence if your e-mails, proposals, and other important documents fail to win people over. The HBR Guide to Better Business Writing, by writing expert Bryan A. Garner, gives you the tools you need to express your ideas clearly and persuasively so clients, colleagues, stakeholders, and partners will get behind them. This book will help you: * Push past writer's block * Grab--and keep--readers' attention * Earn credibility with tough audiences * Trim the fat from your writing * Strike the right tone * Brush up on grammar, punctuation, and usage
Proposal Planning and Writing by
Now newly revised and expanded, this excellent self-help book is designed for first-time proposal writers and planners. The authors use a concise, straightforward approach, offering specific examples of how to find grants and how to plan, write, and submit proposals that get results. They also share their streamlining techniques for submitting more proposals in less time. Each of the techniques presented in the book has been extensively field tested. The authors offer greatly expanded coverage of computerized grants seeking, covering such topics as sources of public and private funding information on the World Wide Web, search engines, award information, online editorial advice, and access to forms and policy manuals. Also updated is the chapter on the basics of effective technical writing that includes helpful tips on document design, computer editing, and improving proposal readability.
Reflective Practice by
Lecturers, why waste time waiting for the post to arrive? Request your e-inspection copy today! In the new third edition of this popular and highly readable book, the author draws on her considerable experience and extensive research to demonstrate a creative dynamic mode of reflection and reflexivity. Using expressive and explorative writing combined with in-depth group work/mentoring alongside appropriate focussed research, it enables critical yet sensitive examinations of practice. Gillie offers a searching and thorough approach which increases student and professional motivation, satisfaction, and deep levels of learning. She clearly explains reflection; reflexivity; narrative; metaphor, and complexity, and grounds the literary and artistic methods in educational theory and values. Clear step-by-step practical methods are given for every aspect of the process. New to this edition are: A chapter presenting different ways of undertaking and facilitating reflective practice Further international coverage, including material from Australia, New Zealand and the United States. The Third Edition also includes: An annotated glossary explaining key terms End-of-chapter activities and exercises Suggested further reading, and clear guides on chapter contents and how to use the book. Companion website www.uk.sagepub.com/boltonAn accompanying companion website includes a range of free additional materials for lecturers and students to use in tutorials and for independent study, including discussion, workshop exercises, glossary and online readings. The methods are appropriate to, and used worldwide by, students and professionals across education; medicine and healthcare; clinical psychology; therapy; social work; pastoral care; counselling; police; business management; organisational consultancy; leadership training.
Scientific Writing and Communication by
Scientific Writing and Communication: Papers, Proposals, and Presentations covers all the areas of scientific communication that a scientist needs to know and to master to successfully promote his or her research and career. This unique "all-in-one" handbook begins with a discussion of thebasics of scientific writing style and composition and then applies these principles to writing research papers, review articles, grant proposals, research statements, and resumes as well as to preparing academic presentations and posters.
Technical Writing by
Technical Writing: Principles, Strategies and Readings offers a flexible combination of instructional chapters and readings that reflect today's technical writing classroom. The fifteen instructional chapters offer a comprehensive introduction to technical communication, while articles from professional journals and Web sites-which comprise about one-fourth of the text-offer insight and advice on specific communication topics, including writing for the Web. Each concise, self-contained instructional unit includes extended models and exercises which can be used in class or for collaborative or homework assignments. Students who study technical writing as part of their career preparation in science, business, engineering, social services and technical fields will find this text particularly useful.
The Workplace Writing Workbook by
The book assumes that you already know the basics of writing, but could use instruction and exercises to bring you to the next level. It does not emphasize technical terms for grammar, but then again, the book is not about rules of grammar, but principles of writing. It provides explanations, examples, and exercises that will stick with you, that you can use while you're writing without reaching for the book. Its approach includes humor and, when necessary, ridicule of pretentious writing.
Writing Grant Proposals That Win by
Writing Grant Proposals That Win, Fourth Edition offers step-by-step instructions and clear examples of how to write winning grant proposals. It offers practical guidance on how to: ? Express the need for the project.? Describe objectives and activities.? Outline an evaluation plan.? Create a workable project budget.The Fourth Edition is a thorough update with all new charts, graphs, tables, and figures; as well as new examples and coverage of current topics. Students will come away with a clear understanding of how reviewers function and what they are looking for in proposal sections, in addition to what is needed to maximize every aspect of the proposal.The text is loaded with useful tips that will enable your students to hit the ground running, including how to assess a program announcement and ensure each requirement is addressed; condense your entire proposal into a brief but compelling abstract; determine what appendices to include (and in what form) for maximum impact; adequately describe project dissemination and continuation plans; use technology -- including desktop publishing, graphics, color, and spreadsheets for budget development -- to enhance your proposals; and structure your proposal to increase your chance of winning.
Writing Scientific Research Articles by
This book shows scientists how to apply their analysis and synthesis skills to overcoming the challenge of how to write, as well as what to write, to maximise their chances of publishing in international scientific journals. The book uses analysis of the scientific article genre to provide clear processes for writing each section of a manuscript, starting with clear 'story' construction and packaging of results. Each learning step uses practical exercises to develop writing and data presentation skills based on reader analysis of well-written example papers. Strategies are presented for responding to referee comments, and for developing discipline-specific English language skills for manuscript writing and polishing. The book is designed for scientists who use English as a first or an additional language, and for individual scientists or mentors or a class setting. In response to reader requests, the new edition includes review articles and the full range of research article formats, as well as applying the book's principles to writing funding applications. Web support for this book is available at www.writeresearch.com.au
Better Writing by
Using casual language and a straightforward approach, Better Writing: Beyond Periods and Commas provides students with an easy-to-read and effective guide for developing their writing skills. Rather than intimidate and overwhelm novice writers with vast sets of rules, Travis Koll utilizes simple and relatable explanations and examples to demystify the writing process. Armed with this better understanding, one that reaches far beyond the mere mechanics of punctuation and grammar, students can begin to recognize the true nature and significance of writing, its potential impact on their readers, and the importance of their voices in their communities and the world.
Grant Writing Handbook for Nurses and Health Professionals by
This accessible, hands-on text, for new grant writers and seasoned health researchers, educators, and clinicians alike, illuminates the process of writing a persuasive request for funding from start to finish. Packed with practical tips for dealing with common pitfalls besieging grant seekers, the text progresses step by step from establishing the need for the grant through disseminating grant findings. This third edition is distinguished by key information about newer grant mechanisms and a fresh focus for foundation and corporate grants. It also includes updates on electronic submissions and web resources. Useful supporting features include examples and underlying principles for each guideline, examples of grants and specific elements that lend themselves to the development of PowerPoint slides for traditional or online classroom use, real-life examples from actual grant applications, and links to online resources to support searches for grant funders and websites supporting grant applications. Armed with savvy tips and advice from the authors--an experienced grant writer, grant reviewer, and grant consultant--readers will be able to write a persuasive grant with ease. NEW TO THE THIRD EDITION: Top-notch grant writing guidance for all health professionals Information about newer grant mechanisms emphasizing community-based and patient-centered outcomes research grants Foundation and corporate grants focusing on population health, personalized health, and interprofessional team grants that include community collaborations and corporate partnerships Important information on the Patient-Centered Research Institute Guidance on how to involve stakeholders and communities in study design and implementation Updates on electronic submissions and web resources New coauthor who is a successful PCORI awardee Instructor's PowerPoint slides KEY FEATURES: Describes the process of writing a persuasive request for funding from start to finish Delivers practical tips from experienced authors for dealing with common pitfalls and difficulties Includes examples and underlying principles for each guideline Provides real-life examples from actual grant applications Helps readers to apply principles for selling and justifying the grant to their own proposals
Mastering Business Letter Writing Skills by
Writing business letters is one of the few most frequently performed administrative (managerial) duties at our workplaces, as almost every business activity involves letter writings and/or memos. This makes it an important administrative task. Yet, in many English speaking countries, there is not much emphasis on this important subject in business studies curricula. The book is divided into seven sections. Section One considers stationery: the types and sizes of the paper and other stationery items needed to produce various business documents with special emphasis on business letters. This section also considers the appropriate methods of storage, preservation and issues of stationery items. Section Two tackles parts of a letter: the rules regarding their formation and appropriate positioning on paper, while Section Three deals with some writing rules that need to be observed to create professional and effective letters (and other business documents). Section Four takes readers through the formation of the letter, or what goes into the letter to render it effective. It also includes some letter writing habits to avoid. Section Five covers how letters are written with the help of others (subordinates), and considers manuscript writing and dictation management. Sections Six and Seven consider some specimen letters: Section Six deals with specimen letters in the areas of enquiries; orders; complaints; accounts; shipping and forwarding; packaging; and banking. Section Seven considers personnel letters (forming a bulk of the letters), covering job inquiries; advertising jobs; applications; seeking and providing references; making job offers; probation and confirmation; transfers and promotions; grievance and discipline; redundancy management; meetings; separation; request for assistance; reservation and appointment. This section also focuses on some social letters including hospitality, condolences, apology, congratulations, gratitude, and get-well messages. Together, there are 174 specimen letters. The letters come with comments on formation, content, layout, and pitfalls to avoid. The aim of providing the sample letters is for readers to receive some guidance to suit their own purposes, or to use the sample letters as guides to write their own letters.
Writing at Work by
Many employers complain about the poor communication skills of many young people seeking employment; and many people in employment are handicapped by the poor quality of their written work. While bad spelling, ineffective punctuation and faults in grammar create barriers between the writer and the reader, good English makes the reader feel at ease. The benefits of being a good writer at work are: Managers need to be able to communicate in order to get ideas across. If they cannot, they will be unable to make their viewpoint heard and they will be unable to influence customers, suppliers and colleagues as desired If you can write well, you will find that your views are given prominence over those of others. Effective communication, and that includes writing, is the key to career success and advancement This book is for those who have difficulty in getting thoughts into words or their ideas across, as well as those who are satisfied with their writing but are ready to consider the possibility of improving it. It is all about the ways in which writing at work is important - helping the reader to observe, remember, think, plan, organise and communicate.
Writing at Work by
Writing at Work covers everything professionals need to know about writing on the job today. The workshop is only 3.5 hours long. HR and L&D managers can use this new course to train experienced employees who already know the basics of business writing but could use a refresher.
Writing for Publication in Nursing and Healthcare by
Writing for Publication in Nursing and Healthcare is an invaluable guide to 'getting it right', focusing on all aspects of writing for publication. It will help the reader to develop skills in writing articles, book reviews and other forms of publications, and can also be used as an aide-mémoire for editors and journal or book reviewers. It explores: How to get started How to write various forms of publication including abstracts, papers, book reviews, journal articles and books Good practice in reviewing The editorial process Ethical and legal aspects of publishing Offering guidance, tips, examples and activities, this practical how-to book written by experts in the field is essential reading for all nurses and healthcare professionals.
Writing Online by
Online writing plays a complex and increasingly prominent role in the life of organizations. From newsletters to press releases, social media marketing and advertising, to virtual presentations and interactions via e-mail and instant messaging, digital writing intertwines and affects the day-to-day running of the company - yet we rarely pay enough attention to it. Typing on the screen can become particularly problematic because digital text-based communication increases the opportunities for misunderstanding: it lacks the direct audio-visual contact and the norms and conventions that would normally help people to understand each other. Providing a clear, convincing and approachable discussion, this book addresses arenas of online writing: virtual teamwork, instant messaging, emails, corporate communication channels, and social media. Instead of offering do and don't lists, however, it teaches the reader to develop a practice that is observant, reflective, and grounded in the understanding of the basic principles of language and communication. Through real-life examples and case studies, it helps the reader to notice previously unnoticed small details, question previously unchallenged assumptions and practices, and become a competent digital communicator in a wide range of professional contexts.
Writing Scientific Research Articles by
"Margaret Cargill's background as a linguist and research communications educator and Patrick O'Connor's experience as both research scientist and educator synergize to improve both the science and art of scientific writing. If the authors' goal is to give scientists the tools to write and publish compelling, well documented, clear narratives that convey their work honestly and in proper context, they have succeeded admirably." Veterinary Pathology, July 2009 "[The book is] clearly written, has a logical step-by-step structure, is easy to read and contains a lot of sensible advice about how to get scientific work published in international journals. The book is a most useful addition to the literature covering scientific writing." Aquaculture International, April 2009 Writing Scientific Research Articles: Strategy and Steps guides authors in how to write, as well as what to write, to improve their chances of having their articles accepted for publication in international, peer reviewed journals. The book is designed for scientists who use English as a first or an additional langua≥ for research students and those who teach them paper writing skills; and for early-career researchers wanting to hone their skills as authors and mentors. It provides clear processes for selecting target journals and writing each section of a manuscript, starting with the results. The stepwise learning process uses practical exercises to develop writing and data presentation skills through analysis of well-written example papers. Strategies are presented for responding to referee comments, as well as ideas for developing discipline-specific English language skills for manuscript writing. The book is designed for use by individuals or in a class setting. Visit the companion site at www.writeresearch.com.au for more information.
Writing Successful Grant Proposals by
Writing Successful Grant Proposals highlights key things savvy proposal writers do to attract and secure prospective funders. With clear, concise instructions, this book demystifies grant proposal writing, from the initial development phase, to the writing and submissions phase, to the grant award phase, to the final delivery of project results phase.
