The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More
Below are books you can use to help demonstrate respect and support when reviewing other's contributions, to actively contribute to the team, and to share responsibility of the work.
Create a Winning Team by
You CAN make a tangible difference to the performance of your teams! Create a Winning Team is a commonsense guide to successful team working. It focuses on the skills that team leaders AND teams need to develop to work together effectively.
Effective Teamwork by
Effective Teamwork provides all the tools necessary to help teams become more effective, including case studies, discussion questions, exercises and questionnaires. This practical text provides all the tools necessary to help teams become more effective, including case studies, discussion questions, exercises and questionnaires Drawing on psychological research, the text examines those factors which prevent and promote team effectiveness. The second edition includes new chapters on creating teams and on conflicts in teams. Now includes more material on team leadership, on the sorts of tasks that are best done by teams, and on the relationship between working in teams and mental health. Contains new sections on introducing teamwork, on virtual team working and team working across national boundaries, on emotions in teams, and on trust within and between teams.
Help the Helper by
The real lessons of teamwork don't happen on camera. They happen behind the closed doors of locker rooms and team meetings and practice facilities. Kevin and John open those closed doors. All you need to do is get reading! -Larry BirdHelp the helper is a basketball motto preached by some of the sport's legendary coaches, including Dean Smith and Phil Jackson. All good players know they should support a teammate who's under pressure. But the true greats know how to take it one step further. They fill the gaps left behind when one teammate goes to help another-gaps that are often far from the basèket and out of the spotlight. The true greats step up in quiet ways to make sure no subtle holes develop on defense and no opportunities are missed on offense. Help the Helper will show you how to put this level of teamwork to work in your business, to build a culèture that recognizes and rewards those who help the helper-even when they don't have sexy statistics. In the process, it will teac
Person-Centred Teams by
Person-Centred Teams provides much-needed guidance on person-centred working following the roll out of personalisation and personal budgets across health and social care. In order to deliver personalisation you need to work with staff in person-centred ways. Straightforward and easy-to-read, this practical guide describes how to do this by developing a person-centred team using person-centred practices. The authors outline their model for developing a team, and how information is recorded in a person-centred team plan. They explain: Purpose - how to clarify a team's purpose People - what managers need to know about each team member, and how one-page profiles can help Performance - how to clarify service users' expectations of a team's services, and assess whether or not these are being met Process - how person-centred practices can aid teamwork and help your team deliver Progress - how to continuously improve teamwork and performance Each section features clear illustrations and examples from teams to enable you to develop a person-centred team plan and work together in person-centred ways. This guide is essential reading for service providers, managers, practitioners and students in the health and social care fields, as well as person-centred planning coordinators and user-led organisations.
Successful Teamwork! by
This lively, concise and to-the-point guide offers hints and practical sugestions to help you deal with the issues you face when working on a group project. It helps you to understand what goes on in project groups, to move forward in difficult situation, and to draw valuable lessons from the experience. · How to share out the work · How to transform your group into a team · How to take decision · How to deal with'free riders' · How to work constructively with someone you don't like · How to make good use of your experience when applying for jobs A must for every student working on a group project, and especially recommended if you have been put into a group, assigned a project and left alone to get on with it!
Corporate Culture/Team Culture by
This text provides a hands-on approach to creating or changing a company culture to accept and support a formal team structure. The authors provide their own practical, proven original model for culture change. The book also shows how to change the subculture of an individual department, even when the whole company is lagging. Subtsantial case studies of three companies (Mobil, IBM and Attorney's Title Insurance Fund) and other brief examples are interwoven throughout.
Effective Teamwork by
Updated to reflect the latest research evidence, the third edition of Effective Teamwork provides business managers with the necessary guidance and tools to build and maintain effective teamwork strategies. A new edition of a bestselling book on teamwork from an acknowledged leader in the field Offers a unique integration of rigorous research with practical guidance to develop effective leadership teams Features new chapters on virtual teams and top management teams, plus contemporary themes of ethics and values Utilizes research based on positive psychology techniques
Group Problem Solving by
Experimental research by social and cognitive psychologists has established that cooperative groups solve a wide range of problems better than individuals. Cooperative problem solving groups of scientific researchers, auditors, financial analysts, air crash investigators, and forensic art experts are increasingly important in our complex and interdependent society. This comprehensive textbook--the first of its kind in decades--presents important theories and experimental research about group problem solving. The book focuses on tasks that have demonstrably correct solutions within mathematical, logical, scientific, or verbal systems, including algebra problems, analogies, vocabulary, and logical reasoning problems. The book explores basic concepts in group problem solving, social combination models, group memory, group ability and world knowledge tasks, rule induction problems, letters-to-numbers problems, evidence for positive group-to-individual transfer, and social choice theory. The conclusion proposes ten generalizations that are supported by the theory and research on group problem solving. Group Problem Solving is an essential resource for decision-making research in social and cognitive psychology, but also extremely relevant to multidisciplinary and multicultural problem-solving teams in organizational behavior, business administration, management, and behavioral economics.
Human Factors in Project Management by
In Human Factors in Project Management, author Zachary Wong--a noted trainer and acclaimed leader of more than 250 project teams--provides a summary of "people-based" management skills and techniques that can be applied when working in a team environment. This comprehensive resource brings together in one book new and current models in team motivation and integrates the most significant concepts in team motivation and behaviors into a single set of principles called "Human Factors." Wong shows how these factors can be applied to the most challenging issues facing project managers today including Motivating a diverse workforce Facilitating team decisions Resolving interpersonal conflicts Managing difficult people Strengthening team accountability Communications Leadership
Leading Self-Directed Work Teams by
A new edition of the book that lead the self-directed work teams revolution. Leading Self-Directed Work Teams is one of the best-selling books on teams ever published. Now, the perfect guide for any team leader has been revised and expanded to reflect the new realities of team-based organizations. By explaining how team leaders differ from conventional supervisors, this informative volume which is based on the author's successful seminars and workshops is especially useful for those managers who move from hierarchical to participatory structures. This edition feature more practical examples and techniques than in the previous edition, new research, dozens of tips and checklists, case studies, and valuable training exercises. It has been used and praised by experts at Motorola, M.I.T., AT&T and many other organizations.
The Rational Project Manager by
This comprehensive exploration of the project management process presents the tools, steps, and processes of project management and uncovers the critical thinking -- the why -- vital to project management excellence. Incorporating Kepner-Tregoe?s renowned and effective problem-solving and decision-making processes, the book guides you through the core activities of project management?planning, solving problems, making decisions, and assessing risk. It positions projects within an organization?s "performance environment," an understanding of which is essential for effective team performance and alignment. Offering a combination of overarching insights into organizational dynamics, as well as specific processes and practices for effective management, this is a resource no project leader -- and no project team member -- should be without.
Team Communications by
In Volume I of The Parker Team Series, Teamwork:20 Steps to Success, acclaimed author Glenn Parker states that OC Successful teamwork requires doing lots of OCyunspectacular little things, OCO such as having a clear purpose, building effective relationships, honoring your commitments, and an obsessive concern for communicating information.OCO This quick, easy-to-read title is full of the information required to conduct teams in a more effective manner, including job aids and assessments. Teamwork:20 Steps to Success is the perfect primer for any type of team, from on-site, existing teams to brand-new, cross-functional teams."
Team Players and Teamwork by
Praise for Team Players and Teamwork "In the new edition of Team Players and Teamwork Glenn Parker updates his landmark compendium on the essential effect of cross-functional teamwork to encompass the added complexities of globalization facing team leaders and team members in the twenty-first century. Anyone participating on or managing members of a cross-functional team will benefit from reading this essential guide to successful teamwork." -Jeffrey W. Warmke, vice president, global project management and leadership, Daiichi Sankyo Pharma Development "Glenn Parker has the unique combination of sound thinking and clear writing. In his recent version of Team Players and Teamwork he succeeds in taking this combination of skills to a higher level." -Sivasilam "Thiagi" Thiagarajan, president, Workshops by Thiagi, Inc. "Glenn's book is a must-read for team leaders and team members who are looking for a comprehensive set of tools and ideas to help teams perform more effectively. Glenn offers practical wisdom-based on years of first-hand experience-that is unparalleled in the field of team dynamics." -Robert Hoffman, executive director, organization development and talent management, oncology business unit, Norvartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation