Nurse Practitioner Toolkit

Please Note: Database formerly called Lexi-Comp online with AHFS.

Please Note: Users may experience issues accessing certain modules, such as Lexi-Interact. If this happens, users are encouraged to clear their cache, try accessing via a different browser, or access using the LexiComp App. If the problem persists, contact the library at healthlibrary@umanitoba.ca We are working with the publisher to have this access issue fixed as soon as possible.

Access Restrictions: On-site access is restricted to the Fort Garry and Bannatyne campuses (excluding HSC). Off-campus access is restricted to UM students and faculty.

Please Note: The mobile version is only available to select categories of Health Sciences students and faculty due to a limited number of accounts. To register, see the instructions here.

LexiComp Online with AHFS is a collection of clinical databases and clinical decision support tools, providing clear, concise and actionable drug and clinical information from a variety of resources. All content is unbiased, pharma-free, and updated daily.

Please Note: Effective December 31, 2023, UpToDate is ending support for the Internet Explorer (IE) browser. Please use the latest version of Edge, Chrome, Firefox, or Safari.

Please Note: An app is available on the Apple App Store and Google Play - see the Installation Instructions.
App users will be prompted to renew their account every 6 months. See the Renewal Instructions.

UpToDate only supports the latest browser versions (Edge, Chrome, Firefox, Opera, Safari).

UpToDate is a full-text resource supporting clinical decision-making in the field of internal medicine and its subspecialties. It provides options for diagnosis and management, including the efficacy, doses, and interactions of individual drugs, and includes a section for patients. Content is peer-reviewed and updated every four months.

The use of images from UpToDate is permitted in presentations for the purpose of teaching. List UpToDate as the source and use the “Export to PowerPoint” feature to ensure all of the appropriate copyright information is included with the slide. Explicit permission is required to use images for the purpose of publication or in any commercial endeavor.

The Cochrane Library is a quarterly updated electronic database containing systematic reviews and other information that will assist in making diagnostic, treatment and other health care decisions. It is the most comprehensive source of references for those with an interest in evidence-based health care. The Cochrane Library consists of four main databases.

VisualDx is a visual clinical support tool and educational resource. It allows you to build a differential diagnosis based on patient findings, sort diagnoses based on likelihood or emergency, compare images side by side, and use clinical pearls to increase confidence in your diagnosis. The images represent multiple ages and skin types and various stages of diseases.

Please Note: Exit from the account at the end of your session.

Please Note: An app is available on the Apple App Store and Google Play. To register, see the instructions here.

Compiled by the Canadian Pharmacists Association, CPS integrates content from CPA's drug and therapeutic publications. It is an authoritative source for prescribing and managing drug therapy at the point of care, providing access to evidence-based, reliable Canadian drug and therapeutic information.

Please Note: Database formerly called Lexi-Comp online with AHFS.

Please Note: Users may experience issues accessing certain modules, such as Lexi-Interact. If this happens, users are encouraged to clear their cache, try accessing via a different browser, or access using the LexiComp App. If the problem persists, contact the library at healthlibrary@umanitoba.ca We are working with the publisher to have this access issue fixed as soon as possible.

Access Restrictions: On-site access is restricted to the Fort Garry and Bannatyne campuses (excluding HSC). Off-campus access is restricted to UM students and faculty.

Please Note: The mobile version is only available to select categories of Health Sciences students and faculty due to a limited number of accounts. To register, see the instructions here.

LexiComp Online with AHFS is a collection of clinical databases and clinical decision support tools, providing clear, concise and actionable drug and clinical information from a variety of resources. All content is unbiased, pharma-free, and updated daily.

Please Note: Database formerly called Natural Medicines.

Natural Medicines is an international research collaboration that aggregates and synthesizes data on complementary and alternative therapies. Using a comprehensive methodology and reproducible grading scales, information is created that is evidence-based, consensus-based, and peer-reviewed. The mission of this collaboration is to provide objective, reliable information that aids clinicians, patients, and others.

Please Note: To view ebook PDFs, users must create a personal account or use a Scopus ID.

Please Note: Per publisher policy, ClinicalKey doesn't provide PDFs for all ebook titles.

ClinicalKey delivers all of Elsevier's medical and surgical content in one dynamic resource, giving physicians access to over 900 top books, over 500 top journals, thousands of videos and millions of images.

Image use: You may pull figures, images, and tables from ClinicalKey into the ClinicalKey Presentation Maker for use in the creation of internal or external presentations and for training purposes, provided that:

• all such uses are non-commercial
• you obtain third-party permission for using content credited to them
• each copy of the presentation carries appropriate credit to the content owner (ClinicalKey Presentation Maker inserts the required citation and copyright statement – do not remove).

Please Note: Effective July 26, 2024, this resource has made changes and upgrades to their website. It will continue to be available to the University of Manitoba Libraries.

Ovid MEDLINE ® covers the international journal literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care.

Medline Search Help

A single search interface provides a gateway to the University of Manitoba Libraries scholarly content, including print, electronic and digital collections.

Library Search Help