The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More
|
This page has been updated to reflect information found in the 18th edition of the Chicago Manual of Style (2024). Note that the month or season is no longer needed before the year where the journal citation includes both a volume and issue number. Access Dates: Chicago does not require access dates in its citations of formally published electronic sources unless no date of publication can be determined from the source. However, students may be required by their instructors to include access dates in their papers. If so, the access date should come immediately before the URL or name of the database. [14.73] If accessed through a password-controlled library database, a URL based on a DOI is preferable to the URL that appears in the address bar. If there is no DOI available, choose the URL offered with the article, if any. If a suitable URL is not available, list the name of the commercial database rather than the URL. [14.72] |
|
Note: |
#. Author First-Name Last-Name, "Title of Article," Name of Journal Vol. #, Issue # (Year): page(s) consulted, DOI or URL or Database name. |
| Online only journal | |
| 2. James K. Palmer, "Humorous Script Oppositions in Classical Instrumental Music," Music Theory Online 23, no.1 (2017): 3, http://mtosmt.org/issues/mto.17.23.1/mto.17.23.1.palmer.html. | |
| Journal with DOI | |
| 3. Márta Grabócz, "The Two Faces of the 'mal du siècle' in Literature and in Liszt's Piano Works," Studia Musicologica 55, no. 1-2 (2014): 47, http://akademiai.com.uml.idm.oclc.org/doi/abs/10.1556/6.2014.55.1-2.4. | |
| Subsequent note: | |
| 4. Grabócz, "Two Faces," 51. | |
| Bib: |
Author Last-Name, First-Name. "Title of Article." Name of Journal Vol. #, Issue # (Year): first and last pages of article. Access date if required for assignment. DOI or URL or Database name. |
|
Grabócz, Márta. "The Two Faces of the 'man du siècle' in Literature and in Liszt's Piano Works." Studia Musicologica 55, nos. 1-2 (2014): 43-64. https://search.lib.umanitoba.ca/permalink/01UMB_INST/1f1g7b3/cdi_proquest_journals_1760209902. Jansen, Lisa and Michael Westphal. "Rihanna Works her Multivocal Pop Persona: A Morpho-syntactic and Access Analysis of Rihanna's Singing Style." English Today 33, no. 2 (2017): 46-55. Accessed February 1, 2023. https://doi.org/10.1017/S026607841000651. |
| Note: | #. Author First-Name Last-Name, "Title of Article," Name of Journal Vol. #, Issue(s) # (Month Year): page(s) consulted. |
| 1. Leon Botstein, "Reinventing Life and Career: The Perils of Emigration," Musical Quarterly 90, nos. 3-4 (2007): 317. | |
| Bib: |
Author Last-Name, First-Name. "Title of Article." Name of Journal Vol. #, Issue # (Month Year): first and last pages of article. |
|
Botstein, Leon. "Reinventing Life and Career: The perils of Emigration." Musical Quarterly 90, nos. 3-4 (2007): 309-318. |
|
Articles from newspapers and magazines are cited similarly. Magazines, even if numbered by volume and issue, are usually cited by date only. Magazine page numbers may be cited in a note but are omitted from the bibliography entry. For a newspaper, page numbers are usually omitted. If you consulted the article online, include a URL or the name of the database. (see note above under 'Accessed Online') |
| Note: | #. Author First-Name Last-Name, "Title of Article," Name of Magazine or Newspaper, Month Day, Year published, page # if magazine. URL if online. |
| 5. John Lanchester, "How Civilization Started," New Yorker, September 18, 2017, 23. | |
| Bib |
Author Last-Name, First-Name. "Title of Article." Name of Magazine or Newspaper, Month Day, Year published. URL if online. |
|
Lanchester, John. "How Civilization Started." New Yorker, September 18, 2017. |
The first The in journal, magazine, and newspaper titles is dropped when citing.