Citing Alternate Formats - Chicago Style

One author

Note: 

     #. Author First-name Last-name, Title of book (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), page numbers.

     1. Katelijne Schiltz, Music and Riddle Culture in the Renaissance (Cambridge, U.K.: Cambridge University Press, 2015), 65-68.
____

Subsequent notes for the same title:
     #. Author Last-name, Shortened title of book, pg number.

     2. Schiltz, Music and Riddle Culture, 66.
____

Bibliography:

Author Last-name, First-name. Title of book. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year. 

Schiltz, Katelijne. Music and Riddle Culture in the Renaissance. Cambridge, UK: Cambridge University Press, 2016.

_____

Two authors

Note: 
     #. Author1 First-Name Last-Name and Author2 First-Name Last-Name, Title of book (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), page numbers.

     1. Kate Bowan and Paul A. Pickering, Sounds of Liberty: Music, Radicalism and Reform in the Anglophone world, 1790-1914  (Manchester: Manchester University Press, 2017), 230-31.
____
Subsequent Note:
     2. Bowan and Pickering, Sounds of Liberty, 255.
____
Bibliography: 

Author1 Last-Name, First-Name and Author2 First-Name Last-Name. Title of book. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year.

Brooks, Daniel R., and Deborah A. McLennan. The Nature of Diversity: An Evolutionary Voyage of Discovery. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2002.

____

Naming more than two authors

When citing more than two authors, use commas between each name, with and preceding the final name. List all authors up to 10. When more than 10: list 7 authors separated by commas, followed by et al. then proceed citation as applicable. 

Note: 
     #. Author1 First-Name Last-Name, Author2 First-Name Last-Name, Author3 First-Name Last-Name and Author4 First-Name Last-Name...
_____
Bibliography:

Author1 Last-Name, First-Name, Author2 First-Name Last-Name, Author3 First-Name Last-Name and Author4 First-Name Last-Name...

_____

Chapter or essay in a book

Note:
     #. Chapter Author First-Name Last-Name, "Chapter Title," in Title of Book, ed. Editor First-Name Last-Name (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), page numbers.
     1. Charlie Gillet, "Five Styles of Rock & Roll," in The Penguin Book of Rock & Roll Writing, ed. Clinton Heylin (London: Viking, 1992), 6-22.
_____
Bibliography: 

Chapter Author Last-Name, First-Name. "Chapter Title." In Title of Book, edited by Editor First-Name Last-Name, page numbers. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year.

Gillet, Charlie. "Five Styles of Rock & Roll." In The Penguin Book of Rock & Roll Writing, edited by Clinton Heylin, 6-22. London: Viking, 1992.

_____

E-books

Books consulted online:
Include URL or DOI. If a DOI is not available, include the name of the database. [14.11, 14.161]

Access Dates: Chicago does not require access dates in its citations of electronic sources unless no date of publication can be determined from the source. However, students may be required by their instructors to include access dates in their papers. If so, the access date should immediately precede the URL or name of the database. [14.12]

Page numbers: In e-books these may vary depending on the application or device used and will only be helpful to those who consult the same e-book format. In such cases, it is best to cite a chapter number or section heading in lieu of a page number. (see first Note example below) [14.160]

Note: 
     #. Author First-name Last-name, Title of work (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), page/chapter/section, date of access if required (see note above), URL/DOI or name of database.

     1. Paul R. Laird, Leonard Bernstein: A Guide to Research (New York: Routledge, 2002), chap. 5, General Biographies, EbscoHost Music Index.

     2. Sandra Garrido, Why are we Attracted to Sad Music? (Milperra, Australia: Palgrave Macmillan, 2017), chap. 4, accessed May 3, 2024, https://doi-org.uml.idm.oclc.org/10.1007/978-3-319-39666-8.
_____

Subsequent note: 

     3. Garrido, Why are we Attracted to Sad Music?, chap. 4. 
_____

Bibliography: 

Author Last-Name, First-name. Title of work. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year. Database name or DOI.

Garrido, Sandra. Why are we attracted to sad music? Milperra, Australia: Palgrave Macmillan, 2017. Chapter 4. Accessed May 3, 2024. https://doi-org.uml.idm.oclc.org/10.1007/978-3-319-39666-8.

Laird, Paul R. Leonard Bernstein: A Guide to Research. New York: Routledge, 2002. EbscoHost Music Index.