Skip to main content

Slavic Studies Unique Collections: Russian and Ukrainian Art

History of Modern Russian and Ukrainian Art, 1907-1930 Microfiche Collection

Art by A. H. Petryts’kyi

Petryts’kyi. A.H.
Teatral’noi stroi.
Kharkiv, 1929  

The History of Modern Russian and Ukrainian Art, 1907-1930, is a collection of 106 rare books and serials spanning the years 1907-1930, -- reproduced on microfiche by IDC Publishers in the Netherlands. The collection consists of monographs, critical literature, and art periodicals.  Included in the collection are early twentieth century art journals such as Tvorchestvo (Creation), Radians’ke mystestvo (Soviet Art), and Rabis (Art Workers). The collection contains written articles of such notable artists as, Wassily Kadinsky, Pavel Filonov, Kazimir Malevich and Anatolii Petrytsky, -- as well as books by well-known art critics such as Iakov Tugendkhol’d, Erikh Gollerback and Nikolai Punin.

Ukraine, Russia and the other republics of the former USSR underwent a national re-awakening of their languages, literatures, and cultures during the 1920s.  The theatre, the fine arts, and the various literary movements looked westward to developing their crafts, -- as a result new publications expounding this new experimental era began being published. Many of the publications produced were often of short print runs, making them scarce from the moment they become available to its readers. With the introduction of Socialist Realism as the only acceptable form of art beginning in the early 1930s, those publications focusing on modernism and the avant-garde were banned, and removed from museums and libraries.

This collection is available to faculty, students and researchers on the main floor of the Elizabeth Dafoe Library’s Microforms area (Call number: N 6988 H57 2000 MFiche Box 1-4). For further assistance, please contact the staff of the Slavic Collection.