Skip to main content
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the MĂ©tis Nation. More

Slavic Studies Unique Collections: Ukrainian Literary Avant-Garde

About the Ukrainian Literary Avant-Garde Collection

The titles comprising the Ukrainian Literary Avant-garde Periodical Collection include such titles as Nova heneratsiia, Chervonyi shliakh, Krytyka, Pluh and Hart. All were published in Ukraine between the mid-1910s to the 1930s. A significant number of literary journals appeared in print during the 1920s – a time of great excitement and experimentation in the Arts. Ukraine as well as the other Soviet republics at the time were undergoing a national re-awakening of their language, literature, and culture. The theatre, the fine arts, and the various literary movements looked westward in developing their crafts, – as a result, new publications expounding this new experimental era began to be published. Among the literary figures that were most closely associated with these publications, included: Ivan Dniprovs’kyi, Volodymyr Sosiura, Pavlo Tychyna, Mykola Kulish and Mykola Khvyl’ovyi.

This unique collection of journals in their original paper/print format is available to faculty, students and researchers in the Archives & Special Collections Rare Book Room.  Please contact the staff of the Slavic Collection for further assistance.  Below are the titles that comprise this very unique and important collection.

Ukrainian Literary Avant-Garde Periodical Collection

  • Bil'shovyk Ukrainy. Kyiv : Derzhavne  vydavnytstvo Ukrainy.
    Holdings: 1928: 17, 24;
    1929: 4-5, 7/8;
    1930: 4, 15-16
  • Buduchyna.  Literaturno-naukova chasopys’. L’viv, Vydavchytsia Khrystiia Alchevs’ka.
    Holdings: 1909: 1
  • Chervonyi shliakh. Kharkiv: Derzhavne Vydavnytstvo Ukrainy.
    Holdings: 1923: 1-7;
    1924: 1-12;
    1925: 1-5, 8;
    1926: 1-12;
    1927: 3-6, 7-10;
    1928: 1-12;
    1929: 4;
    1930: 7-8;
    1931: 1-2;
    1933: 2;
    1934: 6;
    1935: 6-11;
    1936: 2
  • Chervonyishliakh-chytanka. Kharkiv: Vydavnytstvo "Chervonyi shliakh”.
    Holdings:
    1925
  • Dzvin. Kyiv: [s.n.]
    Holdings:
    1913: 2
  • Dzvinok. L’viv: Ukrains’ke Pedagogichne Tovarystvo
    Holdings:
    1912-13: 1-23/24
  • Dzvony. L’viv: Z Drukarni “Bivl’os” u L’vovi.
    Holdings:
    v.1, 1931: 7-9;
    v.2, 1932: 1-12;
    v.3, 1933: 1-3
  • Hart. (Almanakh Kyivs’koi Filii Spilky Proletarys’kykh Pys’mennykiv “Hart”). Kyiv: Derzhavne Vydavnytstvo Ukrainy.
    Holdings:  1924: 1
  • Hart. (Almanakh). Kyiv: Derzhavne Vydavnytstvo Ukrainy.
    Holdings: 1924: 1
  • Hart. KHarkiv: Derzhavne Vydavnytstvo Ukrainy.
    Holdings:
    1927: 1-8;
    1928: 6-11;
    1929: 1, 12;
    1930: 5, 10-12;
    1931: 1-2
  • Iliustrovana Ukraina.  L’viv: Iliustrovana Ukraina
    Holdings:
    1927: 1-8;
    1928: 6-11;
    1929: 1, 12;
    1930: 5, 10-12;
    1931: 1-2
  • Krytyka. KHarkiv: Derzhavne Vydavnytstvo Ukrainy
    Holdings:
    1928: 1, 3-4, 6-122;
    1929: 2-10, 12;
    1930: 9, 12;
    1931: 11
  • Kul’tura. L’viv: Kul’tura
    Holdings:
    v.3, 1925: 2, 6-12;
    v.4, 1926: 1-12;
    v.5, 1927: 5/6 (41-42)
  • Kvartaly.  KHarkiv:  Vydavnytsvo Chervonyi Shliah.
    Holdings:  1924: 1
  • Literaturnyi IArmarok. KHarkiv: Derzhavne Vydavnytstvo Ukrainy imeny H.I. Petrovs’koho.
    Holdings:
    1928: 1;
    1929: 2-8
    1929: 9-12 (on MFilm)
  • Literaturnyi zhurnal. Kyiv; KHrakiv: Derzhavne Literaturne Vydavnytstvo
    Holdings:
    1936: 1, 4;
    1937: 2, 4-7, 9;
    1938: 1-12;
    1939: 1-3
  • Litopys revoliutsii. KHarkiv: Derzhavne Vydavnytstvo Ukrainy
    Holdings:
    1929: 5-6;
    1930: 1, 5-6;
    1931: 1-2, 4
  • Molodniak. KHarkiv: Proletaryi
    Holdings:
    1927: 1-11;
    1928: 1-8;
    1930: 1;
    1936: 11
  • Molodyi bil'shovyk. Kyiv: Vydavnytstvo TsK LKSMU
    Holdings:
    1938: 2, 6-7;
    1939: 1
  • Nasha Pravda.  L’viv:  Komunistychna Partiia Zakhidnoi Ukrainy
    Holdings:
    v.3, 1923: 1;
    v.4, 1924: 1-2/3;
    v.7, 1927: 1-3

    v.8, 1928: 1-10;
    v.9, 1929: 1-3; 
    v.15, 1934: 2
  • Nova heneratsiia. KHarkiv : Derzhavne Vydavnytstvo Ukrainy
    Holdings:
    1927: 1-3;
    1928: 1-12;
    1929: 1-2;
    1930: 5, 8-9
  • Nova hromada. Viden’: Nova hromada.
    Holdings:
    1923: 1-4;
    1924: 1-6
  • Nova Ukraina. Praha: [s.n.]
    Holdings:
    v.1, 1922: 1-18;
    v.2, 1923: 1-12;
    v.4, 1925: 7-8; 11-12;
    v.5, 1926: 1/2, 5/6;
    v.6, 1927: 1-12;
    v.7, 1928: 1-6
  • Novi shliakhy. L’viv: Vydavnychna Spilka “Novi shliakhy”.
    Holdings: 
    1929: 1-2, 4-8;
    1930: 1-10, 12;
    1931: 1
  • Pluh (Al’manakh). KHarkiv: Derzhavne Vydavnytstvo Ukrainy.
    Holdings:
    1924: 1;
    1926, zbirnyk 2-i
  • Pluh. Kharkiv : Derzhavne Vydavnytstvo Ukrainy.
    Holdings:
    1928: 1-12;
    1929: 1-3;
    1930: 1-3, 8-9;
    1931: 3-4, 7
  • Pluzhanyn. Kharkiv : Derzhavne Vydavnytstvo Ukrainy
    Holdings:
    1925: 1, 4-6;
    1926: 1-12;
    1927: 1-16
  • Radians'ka literature. Kyiv: Derzhavne Literaturne Vydavnytstvo
    Holdings:
    1937: 3-6, 10;
    1938: 1-3, 5, 7-8;
    1939: 2-6
  • Sterni. Praha: Ukrains’ka Akademychna Hromada v Ch.S.R.
    Holdings: 1922: 1
  • Suspil'stvo. Praha:  Ukrains’kyi Instytut Hromadoznavstva v Prazi
    Holdings: 1925: kn.1-6
  • Universal'nyi zhurnal. KHarkiv:  Universal’nyi zhurnal
    Holdings:
    1928: 1-2;
    1929: 1-7
  • Vaplite. Kharkiv: Vil’na akademiia proletars’koi literatury
    Holdings:
    1927: 1-3, 5;
    1926: 1
  • Zakhidnia Ukraina. KHarkiv: Spilka revoliutsiinykh pys’mennykiv “Zakhidnia Ukraina”
    Holdings:
    1928: 2-3;
    1930: 1-5, 7-9, 11-12;
    1931: 1-12
    1932: 1
  • Zhyttia i revoliutsiia.  Kyiv: Derzhavne Vydavnytstvo Ukrainy
    Holdings:
    1925: 3-8, 10-12;
    1926: 1-3, 6, 8;
    1927: 4-9;
    1928: 1-9, 12; 
    1929: 1-8, 10, 12;
    1930: 2-6, 8-9;
    1931: 1-2
  • Zoria. Dnipropetrovs'ke: [s.n.]
    Holdings:
    v.1, 1925: 1-12;
    v.2, 1926: 13-17, 19-20;
    v.3, 1927: 1-12;
    v.4, 1928: 1-11