The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More
Classroom, 1920
PC 17, Box 9, 17-203-39
Agriculture and the University of Manitoba
The oldest college of its kind in Western Canada was started in Winnipeg in 1906. The Faculty of Agriculture and Home Economics originated in Tuxedo graduating the first agricultural diplomas in 1908 and the first degrees in 1911. In 1913, the Manitoba Agricultural College moved to Fort Garry into what is now the administration building of the University of Manitoba. The administration of the Agricultural College was transferred to the University of Manitoba in 1924 and instruction was taken over by the Faculty of Agriculture and Home Economics. Agriculture and Home Economics separated in 1970 and, in 199,1 the Faculty of Agriculture changed its name to the Faculty of Agricultural and Food Sciences. It remains a vital and vibrant faculty over 90 years after its inception.
The Archives contains over 2000 processed files covering all departments in the Faculty of Agriculture. The Collection spans from the turn of the century until 1990. The Faculty of Agriculture Students' Organization dates back to 1906, containing council minutes from 1932-1985. There are several university publications that pertain to Agriculture. Journals like the M.A.C. Gazette,Managra, Agra Vox and Agro-Echo, document the student life of an "Aggie." The Fred F. Parkinson collection contains the lecture notes of the former Manitoba agriculture student from 1913-1916. The Robson Family collection contain playbills and programs from various Manitoba Agricultural College activities between 1914-1916. Lists of agriculture graduates can be found in the University of Manitoba Convocation programs. The Faculty's photograph collection offers images from the original Agricultural College's Tuxedo site and the current Fort Garry campus. The University of Manitoba Faculty of Agriculture Women's Clubs records (1924-1954) contain minute books of meetings. UA 21 is augmented by the personal papers of retired professors, J.H. Ellis, Len Shebeski, and Sol Sinclair.
On-line finding aids are available for the Fred F. Parkinson Collection, Sol Sinclair Collection, Joseph Henry Ellis Collection, and Leonard H. Shebeski Collection.
Faculty of Agricultural and Food Sciences