Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. More

Archives of the Agricultural Experience: Manitoba Cattle Producers Association

 

Manitoba Cattle Producers Association

Administrative History

The Manitoba Cattle Producers Association (M.C.P.A.) was established by government legislation in 1978. It replaced the Manitoba Beef Growers Association which had operated for seven years as a unified voice for beef producers. At the time of its inception, the M.C.P.A. represented 15,000 beef and dairy cattle producers who marketed cattle in Manitoba. The association was formed to direct a new program of educational advertising and promotion, to conduct research into improvement of cattle production efficiency, and to provide market information to its members.

Scope and Content

The collection contains the Association's records, in its many different incarnations, from its beginnings in 1955 to 1998, and other related material dating as far back as 1924. The records consist of the following: correspondence, memorandums, news releases, committee minutes and agendas, reports, directories and membership lists, journals and articles, surveys and results, handbooks, pamphlets, regulations, symposium proceedings, resolutions, by-laws, commissions and acts, newsletters, speeches, financial records, taxation records, promotional correspondence, and policies and records of affiliated associations and government agencies. In addition to these textual records, the collection also contains photographs, videotapes, a filmstrip, and computer diskettes.

 

Collection Reference: Unprocessed collection
Inclusive Dates: 1924-1998
Collection Contents: 32.8 m. of textual records and other material
Access Conditions: None

 

Manitoba Cattle Producers Association fonds   

 

Finding aids are available for the following accessions:

A.91-17 

A.93-75 

A.95-35 

A.99-66