Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ask us

WRHA Virtual Library: Using the Library

The WRHA Virtual Library provides access to subscription resources and library services for professional staff of the Winnipeg Regional Health Authority, eligible Community Health Agencies, and eligible personal care homes.

Navigating our Site

The top menu provides links to many of our site's main features, including:

  • Collection: a list of our subscription and open-access resources, such as PubMed, Medline, CINAHL, and many more
  • Toolkits: guides to key resources in particular professional areas or topics
  • Order Sources: a service allowing you to obtain full text of resources to which we don't subscribe, free of charge
  • Literature Searches: a service whereby librarians will provide you with a list of sources on a particular topic
  • Webinars: live and recorded videos outlining features of our databases, approaches to searching in a particular topic area, and more

In addition to these and other resources on our site, you also have access to the library search. This feature indexes many of our subscription databases in one place for easy access.

Accessing Full Text

While searching the library catalogue, you can check if the WRHA Virtual Library has access to an item by verifying that a link displayed while you are signed in says "WRHA", as shown in this screenshot:

screenshot showing one resource without the WRHA notation (not permitted) and one with (permitted)

It may also have an orange "Open Access" icon. If it has neither, you may need to fill out a request to borrow the item from another institution. You can click on the "WRHA - Order Sources" option (seen at the bottom of the screenshot) to autocomplete the request form with the information about the item you're looking at.

Link Generator

Want to create a link to a WRHA Virtual Library licensed resource?



Create multiple links

Source