Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Always check and follow usage rights for each image. Many of the images available via the links on this page are published under a free license such as Creative Commons, but there may be restrictions on how they can be used. Be sure to provide a citation for the image when reusing it for a publication or presentation, and seek permission if required.
Health-Specific Image Sources
Open Access Biomedical Image Search Engine
This service from the US National Library of Medicine provides access to images from PubMed Central articles, chest x-rays with radiology reports, images from NLM History of Medicine collection, and orthopedic illustrations.
Database of medical images associated with patient case scenarios, searchable by diagnosis or symptom as well as image description.
The Health Education Assets Library (HEAL) is a collection of digital materials for health sciences education. Includes images relevant to hematology, dermatology, ECG, neuroscience, and histology.
This resource includes diagnostic and imaging studies, anatomy and pathophysiology animations, and assessment and procedure videos. Access via the Multimedia tab in the navigation menu.
This database allows you to search images and graphics from Elsevier books and journals, or browse by specialty.
NIH Image Gallery
This Flickr stream includes promotional materials for health days/months as well as high-quality scanning electron microscope images.
WHO Photo Library
Searchable database of images from the World Health Organization.
Public Health Image Library
Portal for images from the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, with an emphasis on public health.
Visible Human Project
The NLM Visible Human Project has created publicly-available complete, anatomically detailed, three-dimensional representations of a human male body and a human female body. Specifically, the VHP provides a public-domain library of cross-sectional cryosection, CT, and MRI images obtained from one male cadaver and one female cadaver.
Bassett Collection of Stereoscopic Images of Human Anatomy
The drawings and photographs of human anatomy in this collection are available under a Creative Commons Non-Commercial license.
Internet Pathology Laboratory for Medical Education
Radiologic and pathology images relevant to human disease.
eMicrobes Digital Library
Includes cases and images relevant to infectious disease.
NIDDK Media Library
Searchable database of images produced by the US National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Disease.
ASH Image Bank
Images from the American Society of Hematology.
NCI Visuals Online
The National Cancer Institute's (NCI) Visuals Online provides a range of photographs and illustrations that may help communicators of medical and public health convey meaning, describe concepts, and tell stories. The collection spans everything from biomedical, science, and patient-care related illustrations and images to portraits of present and past directors and the staff of the National Cancer Institute.
Interactive Dermatology Atlas
This dermatology resource can be browsed via cases, a searchable atlas, or quizzes to test diagnostic knowledge.
Genomic Science Image Gallery
Images from the Genomic Science program of the U.S. Department of Energy's Office of Biological and Environmental Research (BER).
Cell Image Library
Database of images, animations, and videos of a variety of cells.