WRHA Virtual Library: Special Topics Toolkit

Genetics

• Gene (NCBI)
• GeneCards Human Gene Database
• Familial Cancer Database
• Emery and Rimoin’s Principles and Practice of Medical Genetics and Genomics (2021,7e)
• Harper's Practice Genetic Counselling (2020,8e)
• European Journal of Medical Genetics
• Genetics in Medicine journal
• Trends in Genetics journal
• GeneReviews
• Genetics and Metabolism Guide (U of M)

Health Administration

• HealthSTAR database
• Effective Management of Long-Term Care Facilities (2021,4e)
• Health Systems in Transition : Canada (2021,3e)
• Management Principles for Health Professionals (2021,8e)
• Basic Concepts of Health Care Human Resource Management (2020,2e)
• Evidence-Based Leadership, Innovation and Entrepreneurship in Nursing and Healthcare (2021)
• Practical Implementation Science: Moving Evidence into Action (2023)
• Health Care Management Review journal
• Journal for Healthcare Quality journal
• The Health Care Manager journal
• Canadian Foundation for Healthcare Improvement

Health Economics

• Emcare database
• NHS Economic Evaluation Database
• The Quadruple Aim in Nursing and Healthcare: Improving Care, Lowering Costs, Serving Populations, Elevating Work Life (2020)
• Canadian Public-Sector Financial Management (2019,3e)
• The Nurse Manager's Guide to Budgeting & Finance (2022)
• Health Economics Review journal
• Medical Economics journal
• Institute of Health Economics

Health Equity

• Understanding Gender-Based Violence: An Essential Textbook for Nurses, Healthcare Professionals and Social Workers (2021)
• Delivering Quality Healthcare for People with Disability (2021)
• Health Equity and Nursing: Achieving Equity through Policy, Population Health and Interprofessional Collaboration (2021)
• Culture, Heritage, and Diversity in Older Adult Mental Health Care (2021)
• Health Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion (2021,2e)
• The Massachusetts General Hospital Textbook on Diversity and Cultural Sensitivity in Mental Health (2019,2e)
• Health Equity journal
• Racial Inequity in Health and Gender Equity in Health collections in eClinicalMedicine
• National Collaborating Centre for Determinants of Health
• EQUIP Health Care
• WRHA Health Equity Position Statement
• Chief Provincial Public Health Officer Position Statement on Health Equity [PDF]

Indigenous Health

• Native Health Database
• Arctic Health Publications
• Our Children, Our Future: The Health and Well-being of First Nations Children in Manitoba (2021)
• Introduction to Indigenous Health and Healthcare in Canada : Bridging Health and Healing (2022,2e)
• Indigenous Ways of Knowing in Counseling : Theory, Research, and Practice (2020)
• Fighting for a Hand to Hold: Confronting Medical Colonialism against Indigenous (2020)
• International Journal of Indigenous Health journal
• Indigenous Dementia Factsheets
• Indigenous Knowledge Portal
• Indigenous Studies Portal
• LivingMyCulture.ca
• National Collaborating Centre for Indigenous Health

LGBTQ+ Health

• Fast Facts about LGBTQ+ Care for Nurses: How to Deliver Culturally Competent and Inclusive Care (2021)
• Clinician's Guide to LGBTQIA+ Care (2022)
• Comprehensive Care of the Transgender Patient (2020)
• Pediatric Collections: LGBTQ+: Support and Care Part 1: Combatting Stigma and Discrimination (2021)
• Pediatric Collections: LGBTQ+: Support and Care Part 2: Health Concerns and Disparities (2021)
• Pediatric Collections: LGBTQ+: Support and Care Part 3: Caring for Transgender Children (2021)
• Transgender Health journal
• National LGBT Health Education Centre
• Canadian Professional Association for Transgender Health
• Center of Excellence for Transgender Health: Guides and Reports
• Gay and Lesbian Medical Association
• Facilitators and barriers to health care for lesbian, gay and bisexual (LGB) people [PDF]
• Two-Spirit Health
• Rainbow Resource Centre

Oral Health

• Evidence-Based Dentistry database
• Advances in Periodontal Surgery (2020)
• The Pocket Guide to Mouth and Dental Hygiene in Dementia Care : Guidance for Maintaining Good Oral Health (2020)
• Journal of the American Dental Association journal
• Journal of the Canadian Dental Association journal
• Journal of Dental Hygiene journal
• Journal of Dentistry journal
• Pediatric Dental Journal journal

Research Methods

• Literature Review and Synthesis : A Guide for Nurses and Other Healthcare Professionals (2023)
• Introducing Research and Evidence-Based Practice for Nursing and Healthcare Professionals (2020.3e)
• Data for Nurses: Understanding and Using Data to Optimize Care Delivery in Hospitals (2020)
• Handbook of Theory and Methods in Applied Health Research: Questions, Methods and Choices (2020)
• Introduction to Health Research Methods: A Practical Guide (2021,3e)
• Introduction to Nursing Research: Incorporating Evidence-Based Practice (2020,5e)
• Foundations of Clinical Research: Applications to Evidence-Based Practice (2020,4e)
• Qualitative Research in Health Care (2020,4e)
• Essentials of Public Health Research Methods (2021)
• Conducting and Reading Research in Kinesiology (2021,6e)
• Clinical Trials (2020,2e)
• Indigenous Methodologies : Characteristics, Conversations and Contexts (2021,2e)

Statistics

• Canadian Public Health Infobase
• CIHI
• OECD
• Google Dataset Search
• Institute of Health Economics
• Statistics for Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing (2020,3e)
• Fast Facts in Health Informatics for Nurses (2020)
• Finding and using health statistics
• Health Statistics Guide (U of M)

Substance Abuse

• Counseling individuals with co-occurring addictive and mental disorders : a comprehensive approach (2024)
• The ASAM Essentials of Addiction Medicine (2020.3e)
• The American Psychiatric Association Publishing textbook of substance use disorder treatment (2021)
• Canadian Journal of Addiction journal
• Addiction Biology journal
• Addictive Behaviors journal
• Journal of Substance Abuse Treatment journal
• Substance Abuse: research and treatment journal
• SAMHSA/CSAT Treatment Improvement Protocols (HSTAT)
• Centre for Addiction and Mental Health (Canada)
• Canadian Centre on Substance Use and Addiction
• National Institute on Drug Abuse
• WRHA Position Statement on Harm Reduction [PDF]
• Caring for People Who Use Drugs (WRHA)
• Alcohol Addiction Centre Blood Alcohol Calculator