LibGuides: WRHA Virtual Library: Apps and Tools

UpToDate: a clinical decision support tool. Learn more about accessing UpToDate.
ClinicalKey: full-text access to books, articles, and patient education materials, as well as images, procedure videos, and medical calculators. Learn more about accessing ClinicalKey.
AccessMedicine: includes textbooks, multimedia, case studies, and study tools.
Medscape: free app offering drug information, reference articles and clinical tools.
Canopy Speak: medical translation app available via App Store and Google Play.

LexidrugMobile: collection of clinical databases and tools, including drug identification and dosage calculation.Learn more about accessing Lexidrug.
CPS Mobile: Canadian Pharmacists Association app for patient-centred clinical decision support tools.

UpToDate and ClinicalKey both include CME features.
JN Listen: audio CME from JAMA.
Kanopy (available through Winnipeg Public Library): extensive collection of health-related videos, including mental health, midwifery, and nursing.
edX and other MOOC sites offer courses relevant to professional development. Contact us for help locating materials of interest to you.

BrowZine: find, monitor and read scholarly journals available through the WRHA Virtual Library. Check out our tutorial video.
Read by QxMD: web-based or app collection of curated articles that can be annotated, organized and shared. Learn more about accessing Read by QxMD.
PubMed is available via mobile-friendly site, the App Store, and Google Play.
CDC Mobile: content from the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
MDPhD: paid app that uses AI to summarize and visualize the literature.
We can also help you set up search alerts in our databases to receive the latest research by email.

Examples of paid apps offering reference information on tests and laboratory values include:

Zotero: free reference management tool. Check out our webinar on getting started with Zotero.
Mendeley: an alternative free reference manager.
Evernote: free organizational app to create and share notes and other files, via App Store or Google Play

LibKey: search tool that allows you to get instant access to full texts of articles through the WRHA Virtual Library by searching a DOI or PMID
Lean Library: browser extension to find subscription and open-access versions of resources. Learn more about installing Lean Library.
LibKey Nomad: browser extension that adds a button to instantly download PDF to publisher websites and PubMed. Learn more about installing LibKey Nomad.
Open Access Helper: app and browser extension to find open-access versions of articles. Check out our tutorial video.
Google Scholar Library Links allows you to access WRHA Virtual Library resources via a Google Scholar search. Check out our tutorial video to learn how to enable this feature.
Open Access Button: enter a URL, citation, or article identifier to find open-access versions.

A number of the WRHA Virtual Library's subscription resources have calculator features, including Lexidrug, UpToDate, and ClinicalKey.
Qx Calculate: free app offering 200 calculators across a range of specialties, via App Store or Google Play
MediMath: paid iOS app
EBMcalc: paid app via App Store or Google Play

App reviews help you locate and assess potential apps.

iMedicalApps: online publication written by physicians and medical students who provide reviews of mobile health technology and apps.
You can also check out our webinar on finding and evaluating apps.

Search Our Collection