How to cite using APA in the Health Sciences

Elements for a Dissertation or Thesis (Published)

Author(s). (Year). Title (Publication No. #######, if supplied) [Doctoral dissertation OR Master's thesis, Name of the institution].

Database, repository, or archive. URL (if public has access)

Example 

Dissertation (With Public Access)

Zambrano-Vazquez, L. (2016). The interaction of state and trait worry on response monitoring in those with worry and obsessive-

compulsive symptoms [Doctoral dissertation, University of Arizona]. UA Campus Repository.

https://repository.arizona.edu/handle/10150/620615

Thesis (Without Public Access)

Vega, M. T. (2023). Exploring the relationship between sleep quality and medication adherence in heart failure patients (Publication

No. 12345678) [Master's thesis, University of Manitoba]. ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global.

Elements for a Dissertation or Thesis (Unpublished)

Author(s). (Year). Title [Unpublished doctoral dissertation/master's thesis]. Name of institution.

Example

Kharkova, L. (2014). Mindfulness practice and chronic pain management [Unpublished doctoral dissertation]. University of Toronto.

Formatting Tips for a Dissertation or Thesis (Published)

• A dissertation or thesis is considered published when it is available from a dissertation or thesis database, an institutional repository, or an archive.
• Author: Provide the last name and initials of the author.
• Date: Use the date provided.
• Title: The title should be in sentence case and italicized. Make sure to include the subtitle if there is one.
• If the database assigns publication numbers, include them in parentheses after the title of the dissertation or thesis without italics.
• After the title and publication number, include the description “Doctoral dissertation” or “Master’s thesis” followed by a comma and the name of the institution that awarded the degree. Place information into square brackets and add a period after.
• Source: Provide the name of the database, repository, or archive, and follow it with a period.
• Include a URL only if the URL will work for all readers (i.e. if no log-in is required to view the document. Do not follow with a period.
• If the URL will not work for all readers, end the reference with the database name.

Formatting Tips for a Dissertation or Thesis (Unpublished)

• Formatting for an unpublished dissertation or thesis is similar to published documents, with a few adjustments.
• When a dissertation or thesis is unpublished, include the description “[Unpublished doctoral dissertation]” or “[Unpublished master’s thesis]” in square brackets after the title.
• In the source element of the reference, provide the name of the institution that awarded the degree.
• If you find the dissertation or thesis in a database or in a repository or archive, follow the published dissertation or thesis reference examples.

What is the difference between sentence and title case? Find out in Formatting Tips.

Don't leave it blank! Find out how to properly indicate that information is missing from one of your reference elements by reading more about missing information.

Information on this page was adapted from "Chapter 10: Reference List", in the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.), as well as the APA webpage, "Reference Lists".