Skip to Main Content
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More

How to cite using APA in the Health Sciences

Cochrane Review

Elements for a Cochrane Review

Author(s). (Year). Title of review. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. DOI

Example

Lane, D. A., & Lip, G. Y. H. (2013). Treatment of hypertension in peripheral arterial disease. Cochrane Database of Systematic

Reviews. https://doi.org/10.1002/14651858.CD003075.pub3

Formatting Tips

  • Cochrane reviews follow the format of a journal article in proprietary database
  • Author: Use the author(s) of the review, listed in the order they appear in the publication information if there is more than one.
  • Date: Use the publication date of the review.
  • Title: Provide the title of the review in sentence case and italicized. Make sure to include the subtitle if there is one.
  • Source: Include the name of the database (Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews), italicized and in title case.
  • Include the DOI after the name of the database. Do not add a period at the end.
  • Cite what you see: different versions of Cochrane reviews include different information, which means the reference might vary. 
    • Full-text versions of Cochrane reviews do not include volume numbers, issue numbers, or article numbers. The full-text version displays when you visit the DOI of the article.
    • However, the article PDFs show the year as the volume number, an issue number, and an article number.
    • It is fine to omit the volume, issue, and article number from the Cochrane review reference if the information is missing from your version of the article, but if you do see this information, include it just as you would for any journal article.

Sentence Case and Title Case

What is the difference between sentence and title case? Find out in Formatting Tips.

Missing Information?

Don't leave it blank! Find out how to properly indicate that information is missing from one of your reference elements by reading more about missing information.

Acknowledgement

Information on this page was adapted from "Chapter 10: Reference List", in the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.), as well as the APA webpage, "Reference Lists".