Skip to main content
WRHA Virtual Library Logo

WRHA Virtual Library: Online Resources

Search All Resources

Search PubMed

Search UpToDate

Conditions of Use

Remote electronic access to the University of Manitoba collections is available for university faculty (including nil appointees), staff, and students. If you are in these groups, visit the Health Sciences Libraries homepage to learn about the resources available to you.

WRHA Virtual Library Resources A to Z

Select a database from this list to search, or use the Search All Resources button to the left to search all of the WRHA Virtual Library's collections.

Resources Starting With:

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

A

ABLEDATA 

AbleData contains impartial, comprehensive information on assistive technology products and resources to assist those living with a disability, their family members, organizations, professionals and caregivers.

Academic Search Elite

Academic Search Elite contains full text for more than 2,100 journals. Nearly 150 journals have PDF images dating back to 1985.

AccessMedicine

AccessMedicine provides instant answers to clinical questions from the most trusted sources. It includes textbooks, quick reference resources, multimedia, drug monographs, case studies, and study tools. You may display, download, or print PowerPoint slides and images for personal and educational use only. Educational use refers to classroom teaching, lectures, presentations, rounds, and other instructional activities, such as displaying, linking to, downloading, printing and distributing multiple copies in both print and electronic format. You may only display, distribute, or otherwise make these images and slides available to students or other persons attending in-person presentations, lectures, rounds or other similar instructional activities presented or given by you. You may modify the content of downloaded PowerPoint slides only for educational use; the source and attribution may not be modified.

ACP Journal Club

Access is limited to 2 simultaneous users

The editors of ACP Journal Club screen the top clinical journals on a regular basis and identify studies that are both methodologically sound and clinically relevant. Enhanced abstracts of the chosen articles are then written, including commentaries on the applicability of these studies to clinical practice.

AHRQ National Guideline Clearing House

Containing guidelines from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, the National Guideline Clearing House can be searched and browsed by clinical specialty.

AIDS Info Clinical Trials

This resource lists United States AIDS clinical trial information for adults, adolescents and children.

American Medical Association Journals

WRHA users have access to the following journals published by the American Medical Association: JAMA; JAMA Dermatology; JAMA Facial Plastic Surgery; JAMA Internal Medicine; JAMA Neurology: JAMA Ophthalmology; JAMA Otolaryngology-Head & Neck Surgery; JAMA Pediatrics; JAMA Psychiatry; JAMA Surgery.

Arctic Health Publications Database

This database contains references to a vast amount of literature on Northern health. Records are linked to the papers for many of the earlier gatherings of the International Congress on Circumpolar Health (ICCH).

Atlas of Genetics and Cytogenetics in Oncology and Haematology

This database is devoted to genes, cytogenetics, and clinical entities in cancer, and cancer-prone diseases. It presents concise and updated reviews (cards) or longer texts (deep insights), a huge portal towards genetics and/or cancer databases and journals, teaching items in Genetics for students, and a case report section.

B

BestBETs

Best Evidence Topics (BETs) and Critical Appraisals on research articles are presented by the Emergency Department of Manchester Royal Infirmary.

BioMed Central Open Access

BioMed Central (BMC) is an independent publishing house committed to providing immediate open access to peer-reviewed biomedical research. BMC provides free access to most of its portfolio of journals covering both general and specialized areas of biomedical research.

British Medical Journal (BMJ.com)

BMJ is an international peer reviewed medical journal.

C

Canadian Clinical Trials Asset Map

The Canadian Clinical Trials Asset Map is a searchable, web-based database designed to communicate Canada's clinical research strengths.

Cancer.gov Search for Clinical Trials

Cancer.gov presents current clinical cancer information including treatment statements and clinical trial information for physicians and patients, supportive care statements, screening/prevention statements, drug information statements.

CDC WONDER

WONDER provides a single point of access to a variety of Centers for Disease Control reports, guidelines, and numeric public health data.

Center for Evidence-Based Dentistry (ADA)

This resource includes a database of systematic reviews, clinical recommendation tools and background information about evidence-based dentistry.

ChemIDPlus

A chemical dictionary file for over 339,000 compounds of biomedical and regulatory interest, ChemIDPlus records include CAS Registry Numbers and other identifying numbers, molecular formulae, generic names, trivial names, other synonyms, MeSH headings, etc.

Child Welfare Information Gateway

The Child Welfare Information Gateway is for researchers, practitioners, policy makers, and administrators working to prevent and treat child abuse and neglect, and to provide out-of-home placement and permanency planning services. Citations and abstracts are to books, journal articles, final reports from federally-funded grants, conference papers, unpublished papers, reports on completed or continuing research,  descriptions of service programs and more.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text

CINAHL Plus® with Full Text is a collection of nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL. CINAHL Plus® with Full Text is the core research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature. Full text coverage dates back to 1937.

Circumpolar Health Bibliographic Database

This database provides references to materials on Northern health that cannot be found in PubMed or other databases. Includes articles from The International Journal of Circumpolar Health and papers from the International Congress on Circumpolar Health (ICCH) (12th and 13th congresses). Provides links to the complete articles or reports for many of the items.

CIRRIE

A database of rehabilitation research of over 10,000 citations published between 1992 and the present, CIRRIE includes only published materials that concern research conducted outside of the United States.

CMA Infobase: Clinical Practice Guidelines

Hosted by the Canadian Medical Association, Infobase contains guidelines produced or endorsed in Canada by a national, provincial or territorial medical or health organization, professional society, government agency or expert panel.

Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials

Access is limited to 2 simultaneous users

This bibliographic database of controlled trials was created as part of an international effort to create an unbiased source of data for systematic reviews. It consists of over 350,000 bibliographic references to controlled trials in health care and imposes quality control standards on included references to ensure that only reports of definite randomized controlled trials or controlled clinical trials are included.

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews

Access is limited to 2 simultaneous users

The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (COCH) is part of Ovid's Evidence Based Medicine Reviews collection, and includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration.

Cochrane Methodology Register

Access is limited to 2 simultaneous users

Produced by the Cochrane group, CMR is a bibliography of more than 9,000 references to controlled trials in journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings and reports, and other publications of methodologies used in health studies. Content is constantly being expanded upon via an extensive hand-searching program and the development of a series of search strategies in MEDLINE and EMBASE.

D

Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE)

Access is limited to 2 simultaneous users

DARE provides access to selected systematic reviews on the effectiveness of clinical interventions and policies from databases such as MEDLINE and through manual review of the primary literature.

Directory of Open Access Journals

The Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) provides access to full text scholarly and scientific journals whose mandate is to publish research or review articles. All major subject areas are covered. Journal contributors include the academic, government, non-profit, and commercial sectors. The journals in DOAJ incorporate a funding model which does not charge users or institutions for access.

Drug Products Database

Containing product-specific information on drugs approved for use in Canada, the database is managed by the Therapeutic Products Programme and includes human, veterinary and disinfectant products. Information available in the database includes Brand Name, DIN, Company, Ingredient(s), Route of Administration, Pharmaceutical Form, Package Sizes, Therapeutic Classification, Pharmaceutical Standard and Veterinary Species. TPP recently completed an enhancement to the Drug Product Database which provides for the grouping of products based on active ingredients.                     

E

Elsevier Science Direct Open Access Journals

Please Note: Open Access varies by publication. Some articles are freely available to everyone, while others may not be accessible without a subscription.

Elsevier publishes a collection of over 600 open access journals.  All articles in open access journals which are published by Elsevier have undergone peer review and upon acceptance are immediately and permanently free for everyone to read and download.

Emcare

Emcare, produced by Elsevier, covers all nursing specialties and nursing-related healthcare professions. Emcare includes international coverage of allied health, education and training, development and management, midwifery, health and healthcare economics, clinical medical and healthcare social work, psychiatry and mental health, and traumatology, emergency and critical-care medicine.

Evidence Based Medicine Reviews

Access is limited to 2 simultaneous users

This multifile database allows you to search simultaneously seven Evidence Based Medicine Reviews databases.  See individual entries on the WRHA Virtual Library list if you would like to conduct a search in these databases individually.

  • Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
  • Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE)
  • ACP Journal Club (full-text)
  • Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
  • Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR)
  • Health Technology Assessments (HTA)
  • NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHSEED)

F

First Nations Periodical Index

This resource provides an index of twenty journals of primarily relevant to Canadian Indigenous peoples.

G

Gene (NCBI)

Gene integrates information from a wide range of species. A record may include nomenclature, Reference Sequences (RefSeqs), maps, pathways, variations, phenotypes, and links to genome-, phenotype-, and locus-specific resources worldwide.

GENE-TOX

This website includes peer-reviewed mutagenicity test data from the EPA.

GeneCards

A database of human genes, their products and their involvement in diseases, GeneCards contains information about the functions of all human genes that have an approved symbol, as well as selected others.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar searches for scholarly literature such as journal articles, theses, and reports from a subset of publishers, universities, and societies. Google Scholar does not permit unrestricted access to licensed, copyrighted material. You can find citations, but you may not be able to read the articles. Ask your librarians about options for improving your access to full text via Google Scholar.

H

Health Business Elite

Health Business Elite provides comprehensive journal content detailing all aspects of health care administration and other non-clinical aspects of health care institution management. Topics covered include hospital management, hospital administration, marketing, human resources, computer technology, facilities management and insurance. Health Business Elite contains full text content for more than 570 journals such as H&HN: Hospitals & Health Networks, Harvard Business Review (available back to 1922), Health Facilities Management, Health Management Technology, Healthcare Financial Management, Marketing Health Services, Modern Healthcare, and many more.

Health Technology Assessment

Access is limited to 2 simultaneous users

Also produced by the CRD, in collaboration with Sweden’s INAHTA Secretariat, HTA brings together details on ongoing studies of the medical, social, ethical and economic implications of healthcare interventions

HealthSTAR

Ovid HealthSTAR comprises data from the National Library of Medicine’s (NLM) MEDLINE. It contains citations to the published literature on health services, technology, administration, and research. It focuses on both the clinical and non-clinical aspects of health care delivery. The following topics are included: evaluation of patient outcomes; effectiveness of procedures, programs, products, services and processes; administration and planning of health facilities, services and manpower; health insurance; health policy; health services research; health economics and financial management; laws and regulation; personnel administration; quality assurance; licensure; and accreditation.

Highwire Press Journals

This is an archive collection of over 300 journals. 

Hindawi Open Access Journals

Hindawi is an academic publisher of peer-reviewed open access journals covering a wide range of academic disciplines.

HSTAT

HSTAT includes: clinical practice guidelines, reference guides, patient education brochures,  technology assessment reports, research protocols, treatment improvement protocols, and evidence reports.

I

International Guideline Library

The Guidelines International Network (G-I-N) seeks to improve the quality of health care by promoting systematic development of clinical practice guidelines and their application into practice, through supporting international collaboration. G-I-N has the world's largest international guideline library containing regularly-updated information and guidelines of the G-I-N membership.

International Pharmaceutical Abstracts

Produced by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP), International Pharmaceutical Abstracts covers over 750 journals published worldwide. Coverage includes clinical and technical drug information, pharmacy practice, pharmaceutical education, and legal aspects of pharmacy and drugs. Letters, editorials, comments and other items that feature significant pharmaceutical information are also included.

International Prospective Register of Systematic Reviews

An international database of prospectively registered systematic reviews in health and social care, welfare, public health, education, crime, justice, and international development, where there is a health related outcome. Key features from the review protocol are recorded and maintained as a permanent record. PROSPERO aims to provide a comprehensive listing of systematic reviews registered at inception to help avoid duplication and reduce opportunity for reporting bias by enabling comparison completed review with what was planned in the protocol.

J

JAMAevidence

JAMAevidence is a collection of resources to help "identify the best available evidence with guides to the systematic consideration of the validity, importance, and applicability of claims about the assessment of health problems and the outcomes of health care". Includes texts: Users' Guides to the Medical Literature; The Rational Clinical Examination; Care at the Close of Life; and a variety of calculators, worksheets, appraisal forms and other tools.

Joanna Briggs

The Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database allows you to search simultaneously a wide range of summarized and appraised evidence to inform your practice. This comprehensive range of resources includes over 3,000 records across seven publication types: Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information Sheets, Systematic Review Protocols, and Technical Reports.

L

Lippincott Williams & Wilkins

Lippincott Williams & Wilkins (LWW) is an online collection of more than 260 journals in clinical medicine and nursing published by LWW and hosted on the OVID search platform. Full text access varies but generally starts about 1996. Browse the collection by subject grouping, or drill down by title through the table of contents of each volume and issue. You can also search the complete LWW collection by journal name, author, title or key words. You may pull figures, images, and tables for use in the creation of presentations and for training purposes provided that the usage is academic, internal, and non-commercial. Do not remove any copyright information that comes with the images.

M

MEDLINE with Full Text

MEDLINE with Full Text provides the authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences. It includes full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE.

Medscape

Medscape provides free access to reference articles and medical texts. Please note that access to images and multimedia materials requires registration and payment.

Merck Manual (Professional Version)

Find information on medical topics, symptoms, drugs, procedures, news and more.  

N

Native Health Database

The Native Health Databases contain bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. The databases provide information for the benefit, use, and education of organizations and individuals with an interest in health-related issues, programs, and initiatives regarding North American indigenous peoples.

NCBI

The National Center for Biotechnology Information includes the molecular databases BankIT, BLAST, Structure, and Taxonomy. Also includes the genetic databases GenBank, OMIM (Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man) and Genome.

New England Journal of Medicine 

NEJM is a weekly general medical journal that publishes new medical research and review articles, and editorial opinion on a wide variety of topics of importance to biomedical science and clinical practice.

NHS Economic Evaluation Database

Access is limited to 2 simultaneous users

Produced by the CRD, this database provides cost-benefit analyses about healthcare interventions, with more than 6000 abstracts of quality assessed economic evaluations. The database aims to assist decision-makers by systematically identifying and describing economic evaluations, appraising their quality and highlighting their relative strengths and weaknesses.

O

OECD Health Data

OECD Health Data offers the most comprehensive source of comparable statistics on health and health systems across OECD countries.
It is an essential tool for health researchers and policy advisors in governments, the private sector and the academic community, to carry out comparative analyses and draw lessons from international comparisons of diverse health care systems.

OTseeker

OTseeker is a database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials and other resources relevant to occupational therapy interventions. Most trials have been critically appraised for their validity and interpretability.

P

PEDro: The Physiotherapy Evidence Database

PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database, a free database of randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.

PEN: Practice-based Evidence in Nutrition

Simultaneous user limit: 5

PEN is a knowledge translation subscription service developed by Dietitians of Canada with input from leaders in dietetic practice, knowledge translation and technology. Its search tools and “Knowledge Pathway” format deliver evidence-based guidance to your nutrition practice questions easily and efficiently.

Physiopedia

Physiopedia is a wiki on physiotherapy. It is created through group authoring and can be edited by anyone with credentials in the physiotherapy community.

POPLINE

POPLINE offers coverage of population, family planning, and related health issues, including family planning technology and programs, fertility, and population law and policy, from the Johns Hopkins Center for Communication.

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection

The Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.

PsycINFO

PsycINFO is an electronic bibliographic database providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.  The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. Updated weekly, PsycINFO provides access to journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations.

PubMed

PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 11 million citations from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. It includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.

R

RAND Publications

This resource is a topical listing of online publications by RAND, a nonprofit research organization. It contains the full text of many of their publications in the following areas: The Arts, Child Policy, Civil Justice, Education, Energy and Environment, Health and Health Care, International Affairs, Latin America, Methodology, National Security, Population and Aging, Public Safety, Science and Technology, Terrorism and Homeland Security.

REHABDATA

REHABDATA is a literature database with coverage of disability and rehabilitation research dating back to 1956. Documents featured include reports, studies, and papers submitted by NIDILRR projects, and articles published in rehabilitation-related periodicals.

RxTx2

RxTx is an online resource compiled by the Canadian Pharmacists Association, integrating content from CPA's drug and therapeutic publications. It is an authoritative source for prescribing and managing drug therapy at the point of care, providing access to evidence-based, reliable Canadian drug and therapeutic information.

S

Scientific Research Publishing

Scientific Research Publishing (SCIRP) is an academic publisher of open access journals.  SCIRP currently has more than 200 open access journals in the areas of science, technology and medicine.

T

Trip Database

Trip is a freely available search engine for answering clinical questions. It directs users to journal articles, practice guidelines, and other research to support evidence-based medical practice.

U

UpToDate

UpToDate only supports current browsers: Internet Explorer (IE) versions 7-10 and the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Opera, and Safari.

UpToDate is a full-text information resource supporting clinical decision making in the fields of internal medicine and its subspecialties. It provides options for diagnosis and management based on the most current evidence, including the efficacy, doses, and interactions of individual drugs. It includes a section of information written for patients. Content is peer-reviewed and updated every four months. Learn more about WRHA access to UpToDate.